We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FUN TIME FOR ALL” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Original Salsa and Salsa

The Original Salsa and Salsa
Carretera Costera km 1.7 | Hotel Cozumel and Resort, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
+52 987 112 6182
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 260 Activities in Cozumel
Attraction details
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“FUN TIME FOR ALL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our group of five adults had a great time on our Cozumel excursion to Salsa and Salsa. The margaritas were served as we walked in the door! I enjoyed making and eating the salsa, especially the desert salsa served on Mexican vanilla ice cream. All ingredients were fresh and the staff was very helpful and attentive. The salsa dance lessons were fun too. Transportation from the port was timely.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoinette7, Manager at The Original Salsa and Salsa, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Greetings to Alabama! What a fun adventure you had at Salsa and Salsa. The Dancing Chefs show you all the ins and outs of Salsa making and Salsa dancing. We hope you will recreate your Salsa memories with the free recipe sheet you received. Greetings from the Dancing Chefs.... Olé!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,017
    40
    10
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a great time making margaritas and salsas. We were only a small group - but I think this made it much more personal. The dancing chefs were really great and friendly and knew their stuff well.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoinette7, Manager at The Original Salsa and Salsa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hi Anne! Thank you for sharing your experience at Salsa and Salsa. The Dancing Chefs make sure to catch everybody in the act from the moment you walk in. You eat, drink, dance a lot and above all: you will laugh a lot! What else do you want on your holidays in Mexico? We hope you will visit us again in Cozumel, Cabo San Lucas or Mazatlan.....Olé!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler Az, United States
1 review
“Hot Times @ Salsa-Salsa!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The folks we were with were lively and fun and the chefs were entertaining and quick with the humorous one-liners! Great margaritas (some as strong as jet fuel), really tasty salsa that we made, and then the salsa dancing lesson.......what a great & fun time :-). Nice job ladies, keep up the good work!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoinette7, Manager at The Original Salsa and Salsa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hi Gina! What a pleasure it was to read your review. Looks like you enjoyed the margaritas and Salsas made by the best chef (YOU!). During the tour you can make it as spicy as you want, because you work your own cooking tools. We hope you will keep up the Salsa spirit at home and recreate all the recipes with the free recipe sheet. Greetings from the Dancing Chefs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moore, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
“One of my FAVORITE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was our 8th cruise with 2-3 ports of call on each cruise. I absolutely LOVED Salsa and Salsa. Not being a big "kitchen" guru I was at first skeptical of this excursion. I quickly realized that this was so much more than cooking. This was FUN!! and action packed. I had 2 teenagers and a mom-in-law with me as well and we all enjoyed Salsa and Salsa immensely. I highly reccommend this to anyone and everyone regardless of age or gender!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoinette7, Manager at The Original Salsa and Salsa, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Greetings to Oklahoma! Thank you for sharing your experience at Salsa and Salsa. Looks like all ages had a blast at the tour. We serve free-flowing margaritas (with or without alcohol) that you sip on while making the best Salsas. We hope you will visit the Dancing Chefs again in Cozumel, Cabo San Lucas or Mazatlan.... Olé!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Weak margarita, over priced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

I'd read a lot of positive reviews and had high expectation. In short, dont waste your money.

This excursion relies on audience participation. We had a small group with mostly stiff people, not ideal for this activity. The chefs did their best to make it fun. The salsa preparation and dance was fine and fun at times.

I'm most disappointed with the weak or virgin margarita. You basically get one real margarita - the one that you made it yourself at the very beginning. For $80/person, I'd expect some alcohol in the refills, but none. Way over priced for a simple cooking and dance class in the heat. Disappointing!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoinette7, Owner at The Original Salsa and Salsa, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Greetings,

It sounds like the bartender himself may have had a hangover on this particular day. At Salsa and Salsa we pride ourselves on giving passengers the very best service and value for their money.
We do invite all the guests to participate if possible and certainly a small summer crowd with as you say,stiff people isn't going to raise the fun barometer.
We pour tasty margaritas throughout the show and it sounds like you may have been given a virgin drink instead.
Thank you very much for joining the group and for your review. We appreciate every chance we get to improve and provide excellent service.
OLE!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Salsa and Salsa also viewed

 

Been to The Original Salsa and Salsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Original Salsa and Salsa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.