We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scuba Club Cozumel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cozumel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Scuba Club Cozumel
Save
You added Scuba Club Cozumel to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av R Melgar Prol S, Km 1.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Deal for Summer!
Ranked #13 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
slaton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Totally Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We spent 8 nights and 7 days at Scuba Club in March of 2014. This was our 5th ocean dive trip and our first trip on our "own". We started diving in 2012 and have always gone on trips with our dive club from Lubbock, Texas. We found a great deal and booked a trip at Scuba Club - this is the place that our club goes to when they go to Cozumel so we knew it would be great. We can hardly wait to go back! We did 2 dives a day and had 3 meals a day. The weather was great and we met so many fellow divers from all over the US and a few from Europe. We were on Dive Cat and everything was just great - the dive masters, the boat and crew and dive sites. The first thing I noticed when we arrived was the rich aqua color of the water. This was our first experience with drift diving and it was a little scary for me the first two or three dives, but then I learned how to go "with the flow" and had an amazing time - every dive was complete with an abundance of sea creatures and coral reef. We were somewhat lost without a TV in our room the first day but we relished the time to just relax and enjoy and not even worry about what was going on in the world. We actually could have gotten by with only two meals a day but our favorite time of the day (second to diving of course) was supper. The dining facilities had two levels and at night we ate upstairs and it was so enjoyable. We sat by the window and could gaze out at the ocean as the sun set - there were the cruise ships coming and going and other various boats always on the move. It was so great to not have to make any decisions about where or when to eat - just choice or what to order and as we quickly found out - there were no bad choices! And my very favorite - ice cream after every meal!!!

Another special opportunity afforded us was the fact that we could invite another couple to dine with us and just add their meal price to our "tab". There was another couple from our dive club back home that was in Cozumel the same time - they were diving and staying at another facility but we got to spend time out of the water with them and they came and ate with us one evening and then we ate with them in town another.

The whole trip was so great that we really didn't want to go home.

Room Tip: rooms facing the ocean, of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    131
    17
    12
    6
See reviews for
54
131
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We just got back last night from a week at SCC and it was incredible. We dove everyday with Geiser as our DM. He has been working at SCC for 17 years and yet had the enthusiasm of a newbie. Great dives every day, The devil's throat was the best ever. Tomas and the restaurant/bar staff will treat you like royalty, just don't be mad at them for the weight that you will most assuredly gain. Rooms are clean and simple, no t.v. or phone and that makes them even better. We stayed in #2 in the court yard and had pretty good Wi-Fi service. I am already looking into dates for next years trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

This is a great dive location, the boats come every morning right to the dock and pick everyone up. The system this facility has is organized and easy to use, sign up for a dive the night before, your name is on a list designating your boat the next day.
I brought my 16 year old daughter with me for her open water certification and the staff did a fantastic job with supplying the right size equipment and ensuring she understands the expectations of certification.
There are extra dives to wrecks along with night dives that are easily accessible. Shore diving is unlimited right from an easy entry set of stairs and/or a nearby ladder.
The food each day was prepared on location and exceeded our expectations, we chose the all inclusive plan. Downtown Cozumel was within a short walk which made purchasing supplies and evening entertainment a snap.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We spent three nights at Scuba Club. The diving, food, boats and site facilities were all great. There was a strong emphasis on safe diving, which is sorely lacking in Cozumel. We'll be making this a regular destination.

We'd particularly highlight Brian as a first class dive leader who exposed us to some great moments while diving.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed at Scuba Club Cozumel for the first time as my son wanted to take his Padi. He took it with William, who was a great teacher! The atmosphere was very relaxing, we felt very welcomed. The food was good and the staff were very friendly. Thank you to Sofia for arranging everything. the location was great, it seemed that most of the rooms had a bit of view of the ocean, were very spacious and clean. The smaller guest bed was a bit hard but all in all we really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Anyone looking for pure luxury is going to be a little bit disappointed with this dive resort. That does not mean that scuba club Cozumel is not a great resort. Common areas and private rooms are kept very clean, the staff is exceptionally friendly. The property and amenities are tailored perfectly to divers of all ages. Unfortunately, we did not get to the tipping guide at the beginning when we check in. So we started tipping individual waiters in the restaurant until realizing that tipping was to be done at the end in a discrete envelope, that allows you to write down how much of the tip to allocate to who. Note that tipping at the end is for both, restaurants, Hotel Maid and Dive Services including the dive master and boat crew.

If you have purchased the all inclusive package, food had good variety. For breakfast, you will be served from a type of buffet with 12+ different breakfast items. You will also have fresh-cut fruits to choose from for every meal. For lunch you will have different types of salads and raw vegetables, along with your choice of the daily diver special meal (typically a Mexican dish) or ordering off the menu. For dinner, you generally can pick between soup or salad then one of three entrées such as meat fish or vegetarian and then one of two desserts.

Tip: either come early or late during the breakfast lunch or dinner hours to secure an ocean side table outside to enjoy the nice climates and view.

If I had things to improve, they would be limited to changing the mattress to a more comfortable one, a better overview of the property and services, especially if you have purchased the all-inclusive package, by the front desk upon check in.

The only really negative that stood out, was that the dive shop across the street was extremely overpriced. I have been to dive shops in all four corners of the world, including other places in the Caribbean, Hawaii, Virgin islands, Asia, Europe, but never seen such an overpriced dive shop. All other charges are mostly reasonable. We had our own equipment so only needed to rent lights for a night dive that we did and Nitrox for the tanks, which was at $10 per tank a little above average. Typically, with other dive operators I have had packages where it was $12 for a two tank nitrox dive. The extra excursions, such as a wreck dive or night dive were only $40 per person for a single tank dive.

Bottom line, if I am looking for a no-frills, clean, efficient and tailored to divers resort, this would be my place to go again. With a really friendly and exceptional staff, and a resort packed and other, like-minded Divers, you cannot get a better crowd or place to stay at if you are a diving enthusiast.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Booked the 5/4 night package. We absolutely enjoyed our stay here. The hotel and dive staff were amazing. The Diving was great and the overall dive operation was beyond what we expected. We will be coming back to dive again. An excellent destination for a quick dive trip to the Caribbean.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scuba Club Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scuba Club Cozumel

Address: Av R Melgar Prol S, Km 1.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Scuba Club Cozumel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scuba Club Cozumel is one of the few dedicated dive resorts in Cozumel. With 60 air-conditioned ocean front rooms, each with its own private balcony. Every detail has been made to make a divers vacation as easy as possible with all the services you need in one convenient location. Resort amenities include a private beach, fresh water swimming pool, 2 Restaurants and bar, small work out room, FREE WiFi and a 5 Star Dive center. The rooms are just a few feet from our private dock where our 7 custom dive boats will pick you up. Store your gear mere feet away from the unlimited beach diving day or night that is included in our dive packages. Never be rushed to make a dive as our restaurant and dive schedule are coordinated to make sure you can relax and enjoy your vacation. We have given the "DIVE, EAT, SLEEP" another dimension with superb food, quality service and a first class dive operation. Located 1 mile south of downtown Cozumel, it's an easy walk to check out the town. Our on-site 5 Star dive operator offers instruction from beginner to Divemaster with a host of specialties. Daily dive trips along with additional excursions such as Night Dives, Twilight Dives and Wreck dives are also available. There are a lot of activities available after the dives that can be reserved by the front desk or just hang out on our oceanside hammocks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Scuba Club Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Scuba Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Scuba Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scuba Club Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.