We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Scuba Hotel!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scuba Club Cozumel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cozumel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Scuba Club Cozumel
Save
You added Scuba Club Cozumel to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av R Melgar Prol S, Km 1.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Deal for Summer!
Ranked #13 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lakewood, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Scuba Hotel!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed here in July for a week and loved this hotel. I was worried about the all inclusive meal plan because usually they are terrible at other hotels I've stayed at but the food was really good. The room I had was so clean and beautiful. I really like the old Hacienda style of the place. The dive shop and dive masters were top shelf! Very professional, skilled and just a bunch a nice guys. The dive boat was fast and comfortable. No snacks between dives so take something with you to eat. The Wifi was strong in my room and on the porch. I like that there are not any TVs or phones in the room. Walking to downtown takes 10 minutes. There is small refrigerator in the room so I went to Chandrau and bought beer and kept it in my room. The hotel staff is superb.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    131
    17
    12
    6
See reviews for
54
131
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Windsor, CT
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

You know you've hit a winner when you vacation somewhere and during your stay immediately start planning a return trip. We stayed at Scuba Cozumel in the fall of 2012 and did just that. Our return trip in July of 2013 was an even better experience as we were familiar with the routines and were able to better get to know the other offerings of the island. Since we arrived mid-week, we were assigned a very nice room, although not the one we had originally requested. As the requested room was being vacated that weekend, the staff very kindly moved us to the requested room for the remainder of our stay, no questions asked, no debating, no problem. This is truly a worry-free vacation - great food, wonderful dive crew and dive masters, clean and comfortable rooms. Everything you could ask for - total relaxation and fantastic diving!

Room Tip: Staff will try to accomodate room requests, as they did for us, upon availability. From what we cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We spent five days at Scuba Club Cozumel last week. It was great. We went to Cozumel to scuba dive and this was the perfect setup. The onsite dive shop was wonderful. The food was better than some 5 star resorts that we have stayed in.
The staff are part of the reason that this place is so good. They were all professional, friendly and helpful.
We have been to Cozumel many times and this was our first time to stay at Scuba Club but it want be our last.

Room Tip: They do not have elevators so if you have a problem walking up stairs, you may want to request a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearney, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

great place for divers
the hotel staff bends over backwards to please u . the dive shop and boat crews are great and take the time to know u by name and do everything u need for a great dive.
not a place for young children but its quiet and a perfect get away.
three blocks from the main tourist area so everything is an easy walk or a quick cab ride.
the

Room Tip: room 59,60 and 61 are on the third floor no elevator so if ur older its a bit of a climb but great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Never been to Mexico before but it most definately won't be our last visit. Our room was right at the top with fantastic views of the sea. We had booked 10 days diving as part of a package and normally that would be too much for me. But, for one of the first times, I would have done more. Clear warm water, spectacular swim throughs, turtles on every dive, what's not to like. Not too much in the fish department but Crustaceans everywhere. Nice to dive somewhere where your fellow divers are experienced, well equiped and friendly. The boat crews were excellent and always helpful, ready when you needed them! The hotel itself was comfortable and well laid out. The food in the on site restaurant was impressive and staff were always on hand to explain the menu. I can't recommend this place highly enough. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Rooms in the low 70's have nice views. But nice views = more steps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have gone to Scuba Club for the past 8 years. Each time has been flawless. Great dives, and dive operation. Food is very good and overall service is excellent . The rooms are comfortable and quiet . The over all package price is great for hotel and diving. Perfect for experienced and novice divers. This place has become more like an old friends club because they have so many repeat customers. What is nice about diving at scuba club is by the time your morning dives are over and you have had lunch and nap, all the obnoxious, drunken, fat cruise ship passengers (Land Manatees) are being herded back into boats so they can eat some more, and they leave downtown San Miguel in relative peace so we can take an nice evening stroll.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I had a hard time deciding if I should give SCC 3 or 4 stars. In the end I went for 4 because overall, what matters most to me in a scuba vacation was done right. Let's break up things into different categories:

1. Room: Although we asked for a quiet room (I am a light sleeper) we received a room that had the back facing the main road. As you can imagine, this was quite loud. At first 'no rooms were available.' Switching to Spanish and adding some grumpiness to the request got us a nice room with ocean view (which we had booked). Avoid the main building. The 'ocean view' is a roof of restaurant view with loads of noise from the street and venting units from the kitchen. Our room was 38, right by the restaurant and close to pier and dive ops. Excellent location. The rooms are simple but functional. Some aspects are braindead: too much furniture, no window in the bathroom. Yes, it was steamy all the time. Yes, I stank up the room and the wife complained. The AC is from 1973 and extremely loud. Scuba Club: Either get modern *silent* AC units or add screens to the windows so that one can sleep in peace!

2. Food: The food is excellent. Yes, it is rich, but if you do 2+ dives a day you will have burned at least 800 kcal and be ready for it. It is mostly Mexican food. Unfortunately, after a week here, no seafood at all! Come on, we are by the ocean. I got chicken, pork, and beef at home! The wait staff are helpful and cordial. SCC will cater to all dietary needs and weird wishes (and I have a few). Thank you!

One thing that hurt: Why use disposable cups? I feel this was a huge waste of resources.

3. Dive operations: The dive masters are excellent (especially Brian and Geyser). Dives are 60 minutes long or until you run out of air. I loved that aspect. Things that must be improved: The intro to the dive ops was very brief. Too brief. Groups on boats are mixed (we are advanced divers and were paired with a couple certified the day before! Not cool!) and sometimes too large (7). However, dive masters give more advanced divers enough leeway to enjoy the dive. Snacks between the dives = fruit juice. Not only does that make you pee when you are underwater in the second dive, it is plain lame. Come one, get at least some cookies or canapés! Finally, guests haul their own gear around. In such case, it would make more sense to keep the lead on the boat...

4. General comments:

a) WiFi sucks big time. If you want some kind of connection, get up at 5:45AM... The bandwidth is just pathetic.

b) The resort is geared towards the more 'mature' divers. For me, excellent, because I do not like drunk party people you otherwise find in the average Cozumel resort.

c) Perfect distance from town if you like to walk. Get half pension and eat out in town. Loads of good food.

Room Tip: ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scuba Club Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scuba Club Cozumel

Address: Av R Melgar Prol S, Km 1.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Scuba Club Cozumel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scuba Club Cozumel is one of the few dedicated dive resorts in Cozumel. With 60 air-conditioned ocean front rooms, each with its own private balcony. Every detail has been made to make a divers vacation as easy as possible with all the services you need in one convenient location. Resort amenities include a private beach, fresh water swimming pool, 2 Restaurants and bar, small work out room, FREE WiFi and a 5 Star Dive center. The rooms are just a few feet from our private dock where our 7 custom dive boats will pick you up. Store your gear mere feet away from the unlimited beach diving day or night that is included in our dive packages. Never be rushed to make a dive as our restaurant and dive schedule are coordinated to make sure you can relax and enjoy your vacation. We have given the "DIVE, EAT, SLEEP" another dimension with superb food, quality service and a first class dive operation. Located 1 mile south of downtown Cozumel, it's an easy walk to check out the town. Our on-site 5 Star dive operator offers instruction from beginner to Divemaster with a host of specialties. Daily dive trips along with additional excursions such as Night Dives, Twilight Dives and Wreck dives are also available. There are a lot of activities available after the dives that can be reserved by the front desk or just hang out on our oceanside hammocks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Scuba Club Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Scuba Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Scuba Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scuba Club Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.