We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great diver hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scuba Club Cozumel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cozumel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Scuba Club Cozumel
Save Saved
You added Scuba Club Cozumel to your Saves list
Av R Melgar Prol S, Km 1.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Quick Get Away!
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Kearney, Nebraska
1 review
“great diver hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

great place for divers
the hotel staff bends over backwards to please u . the dive shop and boat crews are great and take the time to know u by name and do everything u need for a great dive.
not a place for young children but its quiet and a perfect get away.
three blocks from the main tourist area so everything is an easy walk or a quick cab ride.
the

Room Tip: room 59,60 and 61 are on the third floor no elevator so if ur older its a bit of a climb but great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    113
    15
    9
    3
See reviews for
47
107
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Never been to Mexico before but it most definately won't be our last visit. Our room was right at the top with fantastic views of the sea. We had booked 10 days diving as part of a package and normally that would be too much for me. But, for one of the first times, I would have done more. Clear warm water, spectacular swim throughs, turtles on every dive, what's not to like. Not too much in the fish department but Crustaceans everywhere. Nice to dive somewhere where your fellow divers are experienced, well equiped and friendly. The boat crews were excellent and always helpful, ready when you needed them! The hotel itself was comfortable and well laid out. The food in the on site restaurant was impressive and staff were always on hand to explain the menu. I can't recommend this place highly enough. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Rooms in the low 70's have nice views. But nice views = more steps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have gone to Scuba Club for the past 8 years. Each time has been flawless. Great dives, and dive operation. Food is very good and overall service is excellent . The rooms are comfortable and quiet . The over all package price is great for hotel and diving. Perfect for experienced and novice divers. This place has become more like an old friends club because they have so many repeat customers. What is nice about diving at scuba club is by the time your morning dives are over and you have had lunch and nap, all the obnoxious, drunken, fat cruise ship passengers (Land Manatees) are being herded back into boats so they can eat some more, and they leave downtown San Miguel in relative peace so we can take an nice evening stroll.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I had a hard time deciding if I should give SCC 3 or 4 stars. In the end I went for 4 because overall, what matters most to me in a scuba vacation was done right. Let's break up things into different categories:

1. Room: Although we asked for a quiet room (I am a light sleeper) we received a room that had the back facing the main road. As you can imagine, this was quite loud. At first 'no rooms were available.' Switching to Spanish and adding some grumpiness to the request got us a nice room with ocean view (which we had booked). Avoid the main building. The 'ocean view' is a roof of restaurant view with loads of noise from the street and venting units from the kitchen. Our room was 38, right by the restaurant and close to pier and dive ops. Excellent location. The rooms are simple but functional. Some aspects are braindead: too much furniture, no window in the bathroom. Yes, it was steamy all the time. Yes, I stank up the room and the wife complained. The AC is from 1973 and extremely loud. Scuba Club: Either get modern *silent* AC units or add screens to the windows so that one can sleep in peace!

2. Food: The food is excellent. Yes, it is rich, but if you do 2+ dives a day you will have burned at least 800 kcal and be ready for it. It is mostly Mexican food. Unfortunately, after a week here, no seafood at all! Come on, we are by the ocean. I got chicken, pork, and beef at home! The wait staff are helpful and cordial. SCC will cater to all dietary needs and weird wishes (and I have a few). Thank you!

One thing that hurt: Why use disposable cups? I feel this was a huge waste of resources.

3. Dive operations: The dive masters are excellent (especially Brian and Geyser). Dives are 60 minutes long or until you run out of air. I loved that aspect. Things that must be improved: The intro to the dive ops was very brief. Too brief. Groups on boats are mixed (we are advanced divers and were paired with a couple certified the day before! Not cool!) and sometimes too large (7). However, dive masters give more advanced divers enough leeway to enjoy the dive. Snacks between the dives = fruit juice. Not only does that make you pee when you are underwater in the second dive, it is plain lame. Come one, get at least some cookies or canapés! Finally, guests haul their own gear around. In such case, it would make more sense to keep the lead on the boat...

4. General comments:

a) WiFi sucks big time. If you want some kind of connection, get up at 5:45AM... The bandwidth is just pathetic.

b) The resort is geared towards the more 'mature' divers. For me, excellent, because I do not like drunk party people you otherwise find in the average Cozumel resort.

c) Perfect distance from town if you like to walk. Get half pension and eat out in town. Loads of good food.

Room Tip: ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, wi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This was our first stay at Scuba Club Cozumel. We booked a week long stay with 5 days of diving. The price was on the better side of other places we looked at and our experience was quite good. The staff at the hotel was good and the diving folks were great as well.
Lots of other guests we dove with have been here many times and say they wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Meals:
They offer a three meal package, but we elected to just go with two (breakfast and lunch) to give us some more variety eating out in Cozumel. We were very happy with this choice. Breakfast and lunch at the resort was convenient with the morning boat dives and the food was quite good. Service at the hotel was great and the staff was very friendly.

Diving:
Our package included 5 days of 2-tank boat dives. The dive shop staff was professional and courteous as was the boat crew. The rental gear was in good shape. The dive master we had for our group was quite experienced and treated us as experienced divers, not kids. Our group size for one dive master varied throughout the week from 8 people down to just the two of us and him.
The boat leaves at 8:30 and returns around 1:00 for morning dives. They offered additional boat dives for a fee. A night dive - 2 tanks $77, One at twilight and the 2nd right after the sun went down. And a wreck dive - 1 tank $45.

Rooms:
The rooms are fairly basic. Ours had a queen size bed, a small table with chairs, fridge and a small balcony. Rooms are air conditioned (a must in the heat). Bathrooms are clean and they have nice towels - they have a vent window, not air conditioned like the main room. The pool is fairly small - it wasn't to busy when we were here so it wasn't a problem but if the hotel was full, I could see pool space being an issue. It would be nicer if the balconies were a tad larger as well. We hung our wet suits and swim suits out to dry and were a tad bit crunched when we wanted to sit out and have a drink.

Overall - we had a really good experience with Scuba Club for our first visit to Cozumel. We would recommend staying here to a friend that has similar needs to the two of us.

Room Tip: Room 55 is a great choice - no neighbors and a great view on the top floor. Only down side is it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Just spent a week here. Went diving for 6 days. We dove on the Reef Star for the 6 days and its a great dive boat. Lots of room for everyone and your gear to keep dry. Several places to sit up top and still be out of the sun. The boat crew were very attentive to everyone's needs, anticipating what we need before we ask. Our room had a nice view of the ocean, and a small fridg in the room. Also a place on the deck to hang our wet suits. Lockers by the boat to store our gear after every dive was very convenient. We had the breakfast and lunch package. We like to go into town for dinner at night, that way we get a nice walk in. Will be back here soon!.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We've been back for a week and are already planning our return. The owners and staff run a tight ship at Scuba Club. The service is excellent, from the dining room to the dive boats. They somehow manage to predict your next need before you know it. The rooms are clean and spacious; good AC and small fridge. The dive operation is well organized and the boat crews and dive masters are fantastic. There are lockers that you can put your things in, so be sure to bring a lock (or buy one at the mega mart down the street). This was very convenient; the only thing we brought back to our room was our wet suits. There are rods outside every room, so you can hang items to dry. The food is amazing! Three meals a day of traditional Mexican and American dishes. The grounds are set up for lounging and shore diving and are perfect for adults (not so much for kids). The diving in Cozumel is the best in the Caribbean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scuba Club Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scuba Club Cozumel

Address: Av R Melgar Prol S, Km 1.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scuba Club Cozumel is one of the few dedicated dive resorts in Cozumel. With 60 air-conditioned ocean front rooms, each with its own private balcony. Every detail has been made to make a divers vacation as easy as possible with all the services you need in one convenient location. Resort amenities include a private beach, fresh water swimming pool, 2 Restaurants and bar, small work out room, FREE WiFi and a 5 Star Dive center. The rooms are just a few feet from our private dock where our 7 custom dive boats will pick you up. Store your gear mere feet away from the unlimited beach diving day or night that is included in our dive packages. Never be rushed to make a dive as our restaurant and dive schedule are coordinated to make sure you can relax and enjoy your vacation. We have given the "DIVE, EAT, SLEEP" another dimension with superb food, quality service and a first class dive operation. Located 1 mile south of downtown Cozumel, it's an easy walk to check out the town. Our on-site 5 Star dive operator offers instruction from beginner to Divemaster with a host of specialties. Daily dive trips along with additional excursions such as Night Dives, Twilight Dives and Wreck dives are also available. There are a lot of activities available after the dives that can be reserved by the front desk or just hang out on our oceanside hammocks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Scuba Club Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Scuba Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Scuba Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scuba Club Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.