We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Keeps Getting Better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Cozumel

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Cozumel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Iberostar Cozumel
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Costera Sur, km. 17,785, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 57 hotels in Cozumel
Poplar Grove, IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just Keeps Getting Better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

This Hotel is without a doubt the friendliest and overall nicest resort on the island. Pilar and the staff at the front desk are cheerful and will do anything at all they can to make your stay comfortable. The food was even better this year. we've stayed at other resorts on the island and Iberostar's buffet is better than any of the others. there was always selection and the chef's would come out to talk to people and would actually listen to find out how they could improve even more.
Then there is the awesome Star Friends group led by Rafael and his team. They were tireless and always engaging guests to join in ... never to the point of being annoying .. just in a positive way. We were so in awe of this group ... always smiling .. so energetic ..
I was never a water aerobics person ... but watch Rafael in action teaching a class .. no wonder the pool was full at class time ... No Mercy!! But it sure kept you laughing! And the pool games were hilarious even for those of us who chose to sit and watch ..!

The grounds were kept and are so beautiful! And everyone .. literally everyone working at this resort had a positive attitude. If something's not right for you, they will make it right .. What more could you ask for on vacation?

Thanks Iberostar Cozumel!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,678 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,136
    943
    369
    153
    77
See reviews for
682
930
36
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

We arrived to Cozumel an it was a nice small quaint airport. Beware of the Solicitors that jump you as soon as you walk out the gates to catch your shuttle to the Hotel. They tell you they are from Iberostar and then bombard you with time shares and tour packages.

The drive from the airport to the Hotel is about 15 min. and comfortable enough.

When you arrive through the Iberostar Gates, the grounds are kept lovely. The front lobby is very nice and tropical. The service on check-in is good and the staff are very welcoming. We had some issues with our room"s" as we had to change three times because of the odour. They try and tell you it's a tropical smell and it is normal...and it most likely is, in the majority of the rooms. The Odour we experienced was that of suage ventilating up through the drains in the shower and sink. Try to get a room on the top floor as opposed to the ground units and cover your drains with a damp towel. It Works! It is really not thier fault, in fact it is a problem on the island as a whole, due to thier systems. However; that being said...the staff where VERY nice and accomodating in finding us an alternate room. All the rooms where spotless! The grounds are beautiful with lush tropical foilage everywhere. Although the resort has many rooms....you always feel relaxed and like you are almost alone in you own tropical paradise. The pool was clean, but very cool. The food was good, lots of variety to choose from and well presented. The staff are FANTASTIC! Always smiling, polite and eager to answer any question you may have. The evening shows are not Vegas Quality, nor would one expect them to be...but they areentertaining FUN!, and interactive. My Husband was crowned Mister Iberostar 2010!!!!

While on the Island....DON'T bother with the tours, very expensive! Go on your own...the Island is very safe and only one road that goes around the entire island. We rented a jeep for the day and had a wonderful time visiting all the beaches and the ruins. What it would have cost for one person to take a tour, covered our jeep rental for the day and the admissions for several attractions plus Lunch, Dinner and Mojitos all over the island. Most people in Cozumel speak English, so don't get worried about asking for directions. The village of Cozumel is nice, but a real aggrivation to shop in or just walk about. There is'nt a moment that someone is'nt harrassing you to buy something. Not relaxing at all.

Overall...we loved the resort and the service. We found it to be a very relaxing environment. If you love to read and not move around too much...this is the spot for you. If you are a diver...this again is the spot for you. If you are looking to be culturally enriched, don't bother. I think I heard some Mexican Music Once in the seven Days we were there.

So would we go back? We are both "On The Fence". A VERY nice place with EXTRODINARY staff...we don't regret the trip and are happy we experienced it, but I think one time to Cozumel is enough.

However...we would stay at an Iberostar Resort Again!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

A very neat layout. A little confusing at first, but you feel you have your own little house to enjoy your vacation. It was great gathering for dinner each night. All the people meet for drinks in the large open air lobby prior to dinner. Lots of fun meeting new people, everyone was having a great time.

Plenty of entertainment. We never even went to the pool, rather, we rented a car and travelled the island. We used Dressel divers on the property and they were great. Small groups and very knowledgeable dive masters.

This would be a great place for kids. The water is shallow out front. Lots of fish. Even saw a couple of sting rays. The beach is rocky, but almost all beaches on the western side are. If you want sand, go to Cancun. This Island is for diving.

This is a very good hotel for the money. It was very nice and it was exactly as we expected. A good 3 1/2 to 4 star property.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

I agree with everything in "Beauty is in the eye of the Beholder". If hard beds are a problem, ask for a foam topper. All the dive staff are great: Matti, Jake, Sophie, Octavio (from Playa), Che, Kate, Antonella, Isobella, Nats, and Jeremy. They will work with you to make your dive experience unforgettable. It was my fourth visit and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

We just returned from a week's stay at the Iberostar and couldn't have asked for a better vacation. The resort grounds are beautiful & well maintained. Don't be surprised if you go out on your deck one morning and find "a friend" has come to visit as there are iguanas everywhere. The rooms are a little small but comfortable, they should consider having a few more TV channels in English for the non Spanish speaking guests when you just want to chill out in your room. There is NO internet access unless you want to go sit in the lobby and pay a small fortune. In my opinion it is not worth the price or the time. Do not buy the International calling card because they charge you for each 800 number you call and the calls are $1.00 per minute. Get an international calling plan on your cell to keep in touch with family/friends.
The food was good but got a little repetitive, a little change everyday would be nice. Don't get me wrong it wasn't bad for all inclusive.
My 19 year old daughter had a great time but for my 13 year old son there really wasn't a lot for him to do and he seemed to get bored but he also only wanted to do a couple of the activities. I can't say enough about the staff, especially the Star Friends. They are all very friendly and entertaining but Luis & Rafael stand out to me the most . They will get you involved in several activities & shows if that is what you want to. If you choose not to participate it is still fun to watch. They also put on a good show every night for your entertainment but it starts a bit late at 9:45. The Disco also opens a little late from 11pm-2am and it was never very crowded.
The beachfront is very rocky so it's definitely best to go down the ladder at the end of the pier if you want to swim or snorkel. Also bring a pair of water shoes. Dressel divers has a 1st class dive shop right on the resort, we dove with Kate who is absolutely amazing. She takes her time & points out everything while on your dive trip. She also took extra care to watch over our 13 year old and made sure he was always doing ok. Definitely book your dive trips early online for a discount. The boats were never over crowded and there were 8 or less people to a group.
If you want to leave the resort for talk to Carlos at Traffic tours (right on the property), he is very informative and the pricing was better than you could find online even booking early. We also rented a Jeep from Thrifty on the hotel property, very convenient and a fun day out. We will definitely be going back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

My fiance and I just got back from 9 days of perfect fun in the sun at the Iberostar Cozumel. The grounds were clean, our rooms were well maintained and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was very good but would have liked to see a little more variety throughout the week instead of the same thing every day. The shows were excellent and of professional quality. It was very relaxing and enjoyable.
I would definitely consider returning to this resort in the future and recommend it to anyone going to Cozumel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wonder Lake, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

I believe in order to really enjoy any trip you go on you have to find a place that's right for you. The Iberostar Cozumel, in my opinion, is geared to a specific type of vacation goer. This was our second trip to Iberostar Cozumel, we being my wife and I, and we absolutely love this place. Let me start by informing you of what this resort is "NOT". This resort is not the over luxurious, your every whim at your fingertips kind of resort. It does not boast 5 star, world famous cuisine fit for kings and queens. The rooms are not set in a way that would make Big Donny Trummp green with envy. In fact the beds are rock hard and you do get the occasional Gecko lizard on the wall in your room. Doesn't bother us any but I see where some might freak. The beach is not one where they will be filming the next Revlon commercial. With a love struck couple running head long into the water and diving in to prove that their mascara won't run. Other negative posts about this resort do a pretty good job of highlighting these facts. Now, I will give my opinion of what I feel this resort "IS". This resort is aimed at the average joe. People that want to get away from people. When you stay here, you don't feel like you’re in a resort at all. You feel like Gilligan. Stranded on your own little piece of paradise island. The walk ways and bungalows are set amongst a thick, lush, "jungle" type environment. There is so much wildlife around you, you just can't believe it. Flamingos, Iguana's, Birds, Peacocks and frogs are just some of what you will see here every day. We had an iguana, we named him Pedro, outside our door waiting for his morning banana for the first three days of our stay. I have never had a staff member so much as look cross at me. Every single one, including the grounds keepers pool cleaners, has been nothing but courteous, professional and friendly. The rooms, I must admit, are kind of subpar. They are tiny. They are musty and you have very few extras in them. But people, did you travel thousands of miles to sit in your room and admire its beauty or did you come here to enjoy everything outside the room? I sleep, shower, change and occasionally enjoy the adult pleasures of marital bliss in a room and that's it. What else do you need? The onsite dive center is the best I have ever had the pleasure to deal with. The Dressel Dive employee's were all exceptional. I would like to give a special thank you and shout to Chey, our dive instructor. If you want to go scuba diving, ask for Chey. He is a 120lb, black, British guy with blonde mini-dread locks and his full name is Chey White. Comedy and friendliness are built in with this guy. He is also one of the nicest and most genuine people I have ever met. On land he will put you at ease with his humor and quick wit. On the water and under it, he will put you at ease with his professionalism, knowledge of the sport and his genuine concern for your safety and the fact you’re enjoying the dive you’re taking with him. If you want your dive filmed, ask for Sandy. She is a little French firecracker with a high spirit and warm personality. She is also extremely talented with a camera and truly knows how to get the best shots possible. The food, well the food is pretty good. Again, not something you will see on top ten menu's around the world but very good. The main restaurant by the lobby does breakfast and dinner and the other buffet is by the pool. That one does lunch. I thought both had excellent choices of menu and good quality taste. There are three other restaurants that you need reservations for. Book them early. The Steak house, the Star Rock, and the Mexican restaurant. We ate at all three the first time we went but not this time. All were good but we just found other things to do this trip. The beach, yeah it's pretty rocky in the water. The sand on the beach itself is pristine. Once you go into the water the first 10 to 15 feet in is a lot of corral and rocks. Bring aqua shoes people. Not a big deal. Past the first 15 feet or so the rest is a beautiful sand bottom and excellent snorkeling. Tons of fish and a pretty cool Barracuda to look at. The beach does have sand fleas. Once the sun starts to set you have to use bug spray. I got mauled pretty good, while my wife never got a bite. The resort does what it can but there is only so much they can do. The back side of the island is something that no one seems to mention, yet to us is the best part of the whole trip. I strongly recommend that you rent a jeep from the hotel and drive to the back side of the island. Remote, beautiful and relaxing is all I can say. Visit Coconuts as well. Best fajita's we ever had. Careful though. It is a place where the ladies tops sometimes seem to fall off for the cameras. (All voluntarily) They have multiple photo albums to prove it. Great place though. It sits on the edge of a cliff with a panoramic view of the ocean and the food is excellent. All in all, we love this place. We have been to Cozumel, Puerto Vallarta and Jamaica and without a doubt this is the best of the three. You just have to know that the Iberostar Cozumel is not about lavishness and luxury. It's about a quality stay at an affordable price. It's about submerging the guest in a tropical, isolated environment. Temper your expectations away from the glitz of the Hilton and you will fall in love with this place as we have. We just got back November 8 and already are booking our next trip there.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iberostar Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Cozumel

Also Known As:
Iberostar Cozumel Hotel
Iberostar Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Iberostar
Iberostar Cozumel Mexico
Address: Costera Sur, km. 17,785, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cozumel
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Cozumel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach, in a rocky, coral–filled cove with unspoilt waters. A paradise for diving and snorkelling. Sub-tropical mangrove forest. Bungalows in typical local style. Second-largest reef in the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, Amex, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Iberostar Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.