We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel quite disappointed comparing with IBEROSTAR Paraíso Lindo” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Cozumel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Cozumel to your Saves list
Iberostar Cozumel
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Costera Sur, km. 17,785, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Dallas, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Feel quite disappointed comparing with IBEROSTAR Paraíso Lindo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

All my comment here are based upon comparison with IBEROSTAR Paraíso Lindo (not far from Cancun), If you have been to other Iberostar branches, please keep your expectation lower so that you would not feel too surprised. And If IBEROSTAR Paraíso Lindo ranks 5 stars, IBEROSTAR Cozumel is only worth <= 4 stars.

We just came back from Iberostar Cozumel 12/24. We stayed there for 5 nights and felt enough. The reason why I picked this hotel was because we had good time in IBEROSTAR Paraíso Lindo . The most disappointing thing is the lack of choices for food. It only has 3 restaurants for reservations (in contrast, IBEROSTAR Paraíso Lindo has 7 - 8). And the food are repetitive almost everyday. My family started to lose appetite from 3rd day. One more complain we can't find asian food.

Additionally, the shows are boring. We only watched 20 min for one night and that is all. The evening is quite boring unless you have family\friends together to kill time.

They don't provide free internet access spot like IBEROSTAR Paraíso Lindo. And you have to buy internet per device. So if you have iphone and ipad, be ready to pay twice.

We rented a car for a day to see the island. Really not much to see. As tourists just try always be ready to pay extra. Oh one thing, keep in mind you will be required to buy auto insurance when renting car, they claim U.S. insurance won't work.

Room is smaller, noisy and we can hear music in late night.

some good things: Drinks are good. People are friendly, beautiful tropical scenes, trees, and animals.

Jeff Wang

Room Tip: try 2nd floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Iberostar Cozumel for your recent vacation and also for sharing your complete review to us trough trip advisor.

It was a pleasure to have the honor of serving you and your family for the first time in Cozumel and we are thankful for your comments on our coworkers as they are a very important part of the hotel, as well as the settings and surroundings.

We are glad to read that you had an amazing time in the past at the Iberostar Paraiso lindo as you mentioned in your review we are a different category of hotels. We are sorry to read that you found lack of variety of food, we have shared your comments to our new head chef in order to keep working on this. We would also we like to let you know that every Wednesday in our main buffet we had the oriental theme night.

We look forward to serving you again at any of our Iberostars.

Best Regards
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,272
    1,117
    433
    170
    92
See reviews for
811
1,069
53
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

You are paying for the "Name Brand" on this resort. The beds are like sleeping on a piece of plywood. I have never had such uncomfortable sleeping in my life! Don't waste your time making reservations to the specialty restaurants. The food is served cold and the quality is poor, stick with the buffet. The American Grill smells for mold and mildew the minute you walk through the door and we were served "grilled" sandwiches and fries ice cold. The waiter tried to tell us that food is different there. Really?? Ice cold french fries! We walked out and went to the buffet. Cats are wondering around freely through the restaurants, jumping on tables eating left over food. Gross! Peacocks down by the pool buffet, same thing, but they defecate all over the sidewalks, walk in it, then jump on the tables and chairs to get your left over food! Consider another resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Customer

We would like to thank you for your recent stay with us.

In reference to your comment about our beds we would like to explain that even though the firmness of our mattresses comply with a standard, the hotel has foam mattress for those guests that like softer beds. Our apologies if you did not have this information.

In regard to your comment about the food we are sharing all your comments to our new head chef. Concerning the Grill, we apologize if the waiter tried to excuse the cold French fries as this is not acceptable and will check more closely the restaurants service with our food and beverage manager to avoid these inconveniences. Once more we deeply regret the impression our cuisine caused you and trust us when we say we are working hard to improve many areas.

Regarding our cats, our resort is very well integrated into nature, and we are a Green Globe Certified facility, that is also why you can see so many animals in the property, such as flamingos, iguanas, peacocks, cats and parrots among others. Iberostar Cozumel is also part of the “Cat Café Program”, whereby we take also care of the cats in house, to have them under control, sterilized and vaccinated to keep an save environment, for them and for our guests. They can also be adopted by our guests. We do try to keep them away from the restaurants by putting nets; we will be looking into this with our Management. Our apologies about the situations you mentioned.

We hope you can give us another chance to show you our improvements in the future.

Kind Regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Great for diving if you don't care about the food. Have our kids with us. No beach access to the water unless you go down the pier. The place is beautiful but trying to eat without reservations is a joke. Food is not good!! Be nice to come to Mexico and have some local food. Stayed on this island a few times. This is bad and stuck here for 4 more days. Trying to change now!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest

On behalf of the hotel management we would like to thank you for choosing our property for your recent vacation.

We are happy to read that you have really enjoy the reefs in the Cozumel island and that you really liked the settings and surroundings at the hotel.

In regard to your comment about the food we are sorry that we did not meet you expectations and we have shared all your comments to our head chef in order to keep working on it.

We have 3 specialty restaurants on site (mexican, steak house and international) that require reservations and our guest can make them with our public relations desk at 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. for the same evening or between 3 to 6 p.m. for the following days.

In regard to your comment about the beach it is true that to get in to the ocean it is a little bit rocky as we are located inside the marine park and near the most beautiful reefs in the Cozumel island for that reason the hotel cannot change in anyway the entrance to the sea but we offer a ladder in our pier to make more accessible the entrance to our clients.

We apologize for all the inconveniences you encountered during your stay especially the food and we really hope you can give us another opportunity to show you our improvements in the future.

Best Regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is great - well manicured and maintained grounds with a quiet location out of town. The rooms are located in casitas that are clean, well apportioned and private with a comfortable bed and a mini-bar that's stocked daily.

The pool is large and has a swim-up bar as well as an area for water volleyball and basketball. There is also a kids pool and plenty of lounge chairs in both shaded and unshaded areas. The beach is manicured nightly with a bar and, again, plenty of shaded and unshaded lounge chairs. Dressel Divers, the in-house scuba operator, is a professional and well-run outfit.

The tourism desk in the lobby was quite helpful in securing rental scooters to roam about the island and had them delivered to us in about 20 minutes. Staff everywhere was friendly and welcoming.

There really is only one negative - the food is awful. Even by all-inclusive standards it's just terrible, and the secluded location makes eating out elsewhere impractical. For this reason alone I won't go back, it's that bad.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Client

On behalf of the staff and the management at the Iberostar Cozumel we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us of our property.

It is gratifying to read that you liked the settings and surroundings as well the different services the hotel has to offer. We feel honored to read you had a fantastic time with our coworkers, we are passing your comments on to all of them and congratulate them for the great job they do.

In reference to the comments about the food, we are sharing your comments with our new head chef in order to keep working on this.

We apologize for this inconvenience and really hope you can trust in us once more to host you in the future

Warm Regards
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We loved this resort.. the room was awesome and so clean the king bed was great and the bathroom was big and roomy the shower had tons of pressure and hot water.The Italian and Mexican resterants were good and worth going to. they have high chairs they do not allow men in to the dinning room for dinner in a muscle shirt every they will ask men to change they insist all body hair is covered. they have a kids area and a kids shallow pool.
The food was terrific and tasty .. the varity was good and plentifull. their ice cream was good and there are snacks around all the time. the staff were great and so polite they were all friendly and helpful. we enjoyed the entertainment and the Star friends.. they have cats around that are healthy and well kept they have had their shots and are well taken care of regular visits to the vets they like to be petted. the peacocks wander all over the place and will come up to you if you want to feed them,, the aguanas wander around and so do the turtles they are all safe.. we really enjoyed this resort and recommend it. you can buy bucket and sand toys there and water wings.

Room Tip: We had room 8813 an upper room it was great we were near the pool but not to close and we were not d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Unless all you want to do is dive, I would not recommend this resort for any other reasons. First of all it is the furthest hotel on the entire island from the ferry/downtown area and a taxi each way is a 15 minute drive and $20 a pop so beware of this fact. My second issue is with all the pictures on the website. They make this resort appear wide open when in fact you are literally in a jungle with no view of anything but trees and winding paths which you walk on to find your "hut". Almost every person I talked to complained about how hard it is to find your room even sober god help you if your drunk! Another issue some people may have which I actually found amusing was there are cats everywhere and I mean EVERYWHERE. If you get dressed up and eat in the steakhouse held together by chicken wire at night don't be alarmed when cats surround you waiting for table scraps. Last but not least if you like to party there is only 1 bar at this resort I repeat 1 bar besides the swim up bar and it's in the lobby. Depressing 80's love songs are played in lobby bar 24 hours and it made me want to go scuba diving without an air tank. The only positive is the very nice/talented staff and decent shows at night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear guest

On behalf of all the staff and particularly the general manager we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us for your recent holidays in Cozumel.

Thank you for the time you invested in sending us all your comments , as you mentioned the hotel is located in the far southern part of the hotel zone and we are located in an area with a lot of vegetation and animals around the property such as flamingos, iguanas, turtles, cats and peacocks among others. We are also inside a protected National Park and close to the 2nd biggest reef in the world, so this location is quite strategic for those that love this. We are very sorry about your disappointment.

In regards about the cats let us assure you that all our cats are vaccinated as we are part of the cat cafe program with the human society of Cozumel. They come in every month to check and control the health of the animals and also we provide the cats with food and water every day in a palapa behind the towel station. Our guests can also adopt them and take them home. The net that we have in all the outdoor restaurants such the steak house, is with the aim of keeping them outside the restaurants. We worry that you felt so uncomfortable with this, and will review it with our Management team.

In our property we offer our guests a swim up bar, the beach bar, theater bar, lobby bar and the discotheque. We are sorry to hear this misunderstanding.

Once again, we are very sorry that you did not have a general good experience in our resort, we will keep working on each point to achieve your full satisfaction.

Kind regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Ludlow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed 2 weeks at iberostar in Cozumel in December. We have been to Cozumel about 6 or so times now over about 25 years and decided to stay out at Iberostar this time as it was closer to the reefs and shorter boat rides.




For the most part we enjoyed the hotel and have a mostly positive experience to take home with us.

We enjoyed the cats, flamingos, peacocks, Iguanas and turtles wondering around the hotel. They all seemed to be healthy and well fed.




The staff is all friendly and as helpful as they can be. Some not understanding english, just smile and nod, but you know, we are in their country.




There does seem to be a lot of on going repairs and maintenance going on... non noisy. Which you have to as the up keep would be tremendous. Rooms do tend to show some wear and tear. The first room we had seemed to be more run down then the second one we had. The second one just had the railing and some deck boards replaced the day before we moved into it. We were a little disappointed at first that we had the 2 double beds, but then we got so used to stacking stuff on the one bed and sleeping in the other we were glad we didn’t have just the one as I think it would have seemed like a smaller room. As it was it seemed like a good size room and a nice size bathroom and a shower big enough for the both of us.

We had some issues with the first room so Martin and Marcella really worked with us to make our stay more enjoyable. Moving us to the other room eased our concerns and the rest of the trip went well except for when we went to get our final charges for our room and they had some charges on that we had paid cash for at the time. They were eventually taken off, so we recommend saving all your receipts when you pay cash or charge to your room and then check your charges the day before you check out so that things run more smoothly when you are trying to catch your flight.




The maid was in the room daily as long as we allowed her time to get into it. Sometimes our schedule kind of made it real hard for her, so there was a couple days she missed, but she left a couple of big bottles of water every day on the counter and replenished the frig with beer and water and we always had clean towels so we were fine.




We never had a problem finding something to eat in the buffet to eat breakfast,lunch or dinner, sometimes it might have been not that hot, but then with fans blowing and by the time we made the rounds around the food and back to our table... who knows if it was their fault or ours? Food cools off so fast at home too. Some days you had to time when you ate because if you showed up about the same time as the divers came back in for lunch it was hard to find a table for lunch and something left to eat. Then the same thing for dinner. Some nights it would be real crowded and if you were in the first wave most of the meat would be gone and you would have to wait awhile for the food to be replaced, but other nights there was no problem because everyone would be more into partying and wouldn’t even think about eating so you could easily find a table and there was more than ample food.

They had one kind of beer at the bar and 2 in your room, but no bottle opener and they weren’t twist off. Liquor was real cheap kind, like most other hotels on island with a couple of better brands hidden behind that you have to ask for like Absolute or Cuervo gold and only at the bar in the lobby.




We ate at the steak house once and had the tenderloin... it was so tender and good! Had dinner at their Mexican food restaurant 3 times and never had a bad meal.




The star staff try and get everyone up and involved in all the fun and games, but they get to know who wants to join and who doesn’t after a few days.




Sometimes the music around the pool gets a little loud sometimes you can hear it all around the pool, even down on the beach. They could tone that done a little so you can relax some. The music is always the same each day over and over.

Maybe that is why the pool was rarely crowded.




taxi ride to town is $20 PP round trip! OUCH! then tip on top!




We have seen the dive operations that crowd the divers on and have never been fans of wanting to be fitted like sardines on a boat, nor have to be on a reef with so many divers at one time so we were recommended by a friend to try a smaller boat, not with the hotel. Be forewarned that if you do decide not to dive with the hotel cattle boat you might be better off staying at any other hotel on the island rather than Iberostar who charges the dive companies $100 to pick up at their dock. You can’t pay them or dressel, but your other dive company has to come out to pay, which in turn will only make your diving cost more in the long run. Then if one hotel gets away with it the future will only mean that all hotels will all start doing it and then the price of diving will either all go up and everyone will only have 2 choices, cattle boats or more $$ because of the high fees for docking. We chose to wade out with our gear to the boat... no big deal for us, but we won’t ever stay here again because of this kind of practice. Nobody likes to feel like they are being force to only have to dive with one company. See enclosed pictures of cattle boats and tanks..all those tanks are going on one boat!

Also were told by some of the people diving with the dressel boats that a lot of the equipment didn’t work and when the questioned it they were told to just stay with the dive master because you don’t need pressure or depth gauges!




The bottom line is that if you are going to dive and don’t mind diving with a cattle boat, then you would be happy with this hotel as the rooms, food, employees are all good. If you are not diving and not going into town every day or rent a car so you don’t have to pay for the daily taxi rides, then this is good choice hotel too. If you are diving with a smaller dive company you might decide to stay elsewhere or just swim out because like we said, we did like the hotel.

Room Tip: higher the room the less chance of flooding in the heavy rains
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Cozumel

Address: Costera Sur, km. 17,785, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Cozumel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach, in a rocky, coral–filled cove with unspoilt waters. A paradise for diving and snorkelling. Sub-tropical mangrove forest. Bungalows in typical local style. Second-largest reef in the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Iberostar
Iberostar Cozumel Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.