We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Iberostar stay EVER!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Cozumel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Cozumel to your Saves list
Iberostar Cozumel
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Costera Sur, km. 17,785, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Carlisle, Iowa, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst Iberostar stay EVER!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed at Iberostar Cozumel from 11/6-11/15 when we checked in we were RUSHED thru with 4 other people checking in by front desk clerk Martin asked numerous times were our room was located apparently you don't get to choose they put you were they want to.Room smelled like a moldy basement.Martin did offer us two different rooms but the view was no better than the one we had so we just asked for them to spray something in the room to get rid of the smell. Asked three times for them to replace broken umbrella.The food was HORRIBLE and I really mean it except for the speciality restaurants you will NEVER get a hot meal! They have cats at the hotel which I don't mind but what I do mind is them coming into where I eat and using the flower box as a liter box! We have stayed at the Iberostar Tucan for about 6 years in a row and we LOVE it there but decided to stay at cozumel Iberostar for something different .Apparently not all iberostars are the same so beware.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,351
    1,249
    480
    179
    97
See reviews for
902
1,178
59
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Great Location. It was not our first time to Iberostar Cozumel. We liked everything. (If you are really looking for good things, you could always easily find them). The rooms are in bungalow style huts with thatch roofs.
Cozumel is very beautiful island. The resort is very clean and not crowded. We enjoyed the beach. There is a great swimming and snorkeling off the pier. There are large iguana, cats, peacocks and flamingo's everywhere.
Diving:
We have chosen this resort particularly for the diving. Cozume is one of The Best Diving destinations! Just in a few minutes by boat you got into underwater world.
Dressel Divers is organized and friendly. The dive masters are very good at their job, pleasant, and professionals. We have unforgettable dives thanks to Dive Master Alan Burness.
If scuba diving and snorkeling are not your favorite activities, there are over 20 activities at the resort. Otherwise, you will without a doubt enjoy your time strolling the beaches and playing in the clear waters of Cozumel!
In short, if you really want to see a lot in one place- Cozumel is just the right place.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are dryer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Our experience was reaaly great and we have nothing but praise for the staff at Iberostar Cozumel. From reception who handled all our requirements with prompt attention, the dining and bar staff who were very attentive (even to those who never tipped) and the house maids who cleaned our room daily such that we thought we were arriving every time we returned. We had read that the food was below par but we found quite the opposite. The buffet restaurant (breakfast and dinner) had a huge and varied selection of good quality foood that would more than satisfy 95% of guests and the Specialty restaurants were all excellent. Special tacos or red snapper at the Mexican restaurant are really good. The tenderloin at the Grill restaurant was melt in your mouth quality and the Grouper served at the Rock restaurant is as good as anything you will get at a michelin rated restaurant. The snorkeling tour (3 reefs) was very good but the island tour is a waste of time and money. Anyone travelling to Cozumel in November needs to be prepared for some rainy weather and bring some bug spray as the mosquitos do proliferate after the rains. The Star Friends staff who handled the entertainment were nothing short of amazing. Lots of activities during the day and some excellent shows at night. We didn't dive but did a lot of snorkling and some really good snorkling just off the pier at the resort. Lots of rock and coral on the beach so you will need swim shoes should you wish to walk in rather than use the steps on the pier. We did have a problem with smoking being allowed in the lobby and other indoor/bar venues. We have no hesitation in recommending Iberostar Cozumel to anyone looking for a good vacation at a reasonable cost.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We were on a diving trip and picked Iberostar because of Dressel Divers, which is on site there. Most of our time was spent diving but there was plenty to do if we were free: a schedule of activities all day; free use of kayaks, sailboats, and windsurfing; easy rental of scooters or cars. The resort is quite a distance from town so if you plan to go there a lot, you might want to stay closer in. The resort has huge buffets for every meal, plus Mexican and steak restaurants, where you order your entree; it can be difficult to get a reservation but they make a nice change. I emailed ahead and asked for a room near the dive shop and the one they gave us was ideal. The rooms are not as fancy as the rest of the resort but perfectly fine. The gym seemed adequate, although we never made it there. Nightly entertainment shows were almost cruise ship quality. We would definitely recommend Iberostar, especially for divers.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest

On behalf of all the staff and the general manager of the Iberostar Cozumel we would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing our property for your recent vacations and for taking the time to write a review on Trip advisor.

As a committed company to satisfy our customers, we are very pleased to read that you had a great time diving with Dressel Divers, the dive center company on site and that we met your expectations with the entertainment as well as the different activities that we offer to our clients.

We are also thrilled to know that you liked the room that our front desk personnel assigned you, as they do their utmost to grant every guest’s request. As you mentioned we have 3 specialty restaurants on site (Mexican, steak house and the international star rock café) and every guest can make the reservations with our public relations at the lobby are every day for the same day or in advance.

Once more we appreciate all your comments. We hope you come back soon.

Kind Regards
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

After careful tripadvisor research, and previous stays at other Cozumel resorts in previous years, this beautiful botanical garden type property was chosen. Our 11/14/13 to 11/20/13 (today!) was a very relaxing trip. We requested a second floor room in quiet buildings 73 or 88 in advance, and were given roomy kingsize bed #7313.....a perfect location away from theater or pool noise yet conveniently located...coffee each morning on our porch! The clean beach area has attractive small palapas with comfortable recliners; a beach bar with attentive servers; great swimming and snorkeling (gear provided free) off of the peer end with easy access into the clearest water; we sailed a Hobie cat and paddled kayaks (again, free!). We did the appealing pool with swim up bar a couple of times, yet the beach area under palapa shading held greater appeal. While we're not divers, those that are rave about the operation out of this hotel. We attended and enjoyed a completely different show each night.....all quite good, with great singers and dancers.....and an excellent beach fire show one night!
Plan on renting a compact automatic car for one day to experience the eastern side.....we had a great shrimp and fish lunch with enjoyable swimming from a beatiful cove beach at El Pescador (we stopped at others and this one was easily the best!).
Every entry speaks to the awesome service.....it is far better than that!!! Always competent; quick; with meticulous manners; and a happy genuine smile. We brought lots of dollar singles to show our appreciation...every solitary person that we encountered from the reception, to bellhops, to room cleaners, to waiters...all of them deserve our gratitude for making our trip so pleasant...we were pampered!
We found the food to be excellent! That is, we figured it out: rather than scrambled eggs under buffet lights, we had omelettes made loaded up with our specific desires, or fried eggs our way.....rather than waffles or pancakes under buffet lights, we ordered fresh pancakes or crepes made with our additives; rather than penne pasta drying up under buffet heat lamps, we had the pasta cook put together our custom pasta dish with pesto or alfredo or bolognese sauces. Our tenderloin steaks were cooked to perfection. You get our point: if you serve yourself from buffet platters, that's what you get; if you ask for what you wish from cooks eager to serve, you eat very well. The fruit and fresh vegetables and salads are varied and excellent.
We asked for Beefeaters gin tonics and were served just that...the beer with a lime was always cold and good!
If you come looking for wrinkles like humidity or rainshowers, you might find them...we came to relax and enjoy in a truly beautiful place, and we were extremely pleased! Not a single mosquito (and we were ready)! No bugs anywhere! We brought a room freshener, and that kept our room perfect. Did we mention that the resort personnel and entertainers were exceptional..... We will be back for sure!

Room Tip: Cottage 73 and 88 are perfect for folks that are not divers and prefer to be away from the late nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Cozumel was on my list of places to see so i traveled there last year with my husband. We have been to the Mayan Riviera and love it there but wanted to see what Cozumel had to offer. We chose the Iberostar because we knew that thae chain had a good reputation. Cozumel is very lush and tropical. The resort was clean and the beach was relaxing. You cannot walk out into the water because it is rocky and when we were there the water was murky. There is an entrance into the water from a pier where the dive boats dock. There are a variety of restaurants but we seemed to enjoy the buffets more at this property. We enjoyed the lobby bar and there was live music in the lobby every evening. There are large iguana, flamingos, peacocks and flamingo's everywhere. I am a cat lover so i enjoyed seeing the kitties that would walk the restaurants. They were never a nuisance. The rooms are in bungalow style huts with thatch roofs. If you have a room on the second floor, be prepared for the drips of water that fall from the ceiling. If you like adventure and aren't looking for a 5 star stay, try this resort.

Room Tip: Bring cat treats for the cats and kittens that you will see on the walkways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Eveything was fantastic besides the food. The food is what you would expect from an all-inclusive resort in Mexico that is in Iberostars price range. The food in the specialty resaurants was much better, but still not great. You pay for what you get and I would sacrifice the not so great food for the great location and other aminities of Iberostar. The staff is more than helpful and the resort is great! We booked our trip through Haley Davis with HD Destinations and I strongly encourage you to do the same. She is awesome!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Client

First of all we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen Iberostar Cozumel for your recent holidays and for taking a moment of your time to share with us and the rest of the online community your experience.

It is with big pleasure that we read your comments about our co workers and to know that they made you feel like a star in Iberostar. As you mentioned on your review, the hotel is located on one of the most beautiful areas on the Southern part of Cozumel and with great joy.

In reference to the comment about the food we deeply regret that were not entirely happy with our food but we are taking all your comments in consideration and will work with our new chef to improve and enhance the quality of the food at the different restaurants.

Once more we thank you for all your comments and hope to see you soon!

Kind Regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Cozumel

Address: Costera Sur, km. 17,785, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Cozumel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach, in a rocky, coral–filled cove with unspoilt waters. A paradise for diving and snorkelling. Sub-tropical mangrove forest. Bungalows in typical local style. Second-largest reef in the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iberostar Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Iberostar
Iberostar Cozumel Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.