We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Volleyball Pit is Fixed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Cozumel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Cozumel to your Saves list
Iberostar Cozumel
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Costera Sur, km. 17,785, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Volleyball Pit is Fixed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We watched the staff unload literally tons of new sand this week. The first of it went to filling in the volleyball pit. It's nice and thick; no hitting bottom!

Overall, this resort is much improved from our last visit nine years ago, just before the twin hurricanes. The staff is very good and the food is worth the visit by itself. That's better than expected for a reasonably priced resort. Skip the steakhouse in favor of the Mexican restaurant and the international buffet night.

And the diving is really great! The southern location means very short boat rides too.

One downer: As is normal this time of year, Cozumel has sand fleas. You may want to try an Army trick and bring dog flea collars. If you find flea bites, wear the dog collars on your ankles all the time (including in bed).

Room Tip: Ask to be near the dive shop if you want easy beach, pool, dock and lunch access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest

On behalf of all the staff and particularly the management we would like to thank you for the time invested in writing your comments on trip advisor for us and the rest of the online community.

Thank you for your kind review about the services we offer, we are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful holiday; it was encouraging to hear that our grounds, facilities, food and staff contributed to making your trip memorable.

It is certainly true that after a long time requesting the local government sand, it was finally granted and we have received sand to put in our beach. Thank you so much for highlighting that and letting the other users know!!!!!! You are most kind.

We deeply regret the situation with the sand fleas as you have mentioned they are in the different beaches in the Caribbean and we can assure you that we fumigate every two days to keep them under control but we cannot eliminate them completely!! Good advice to other travellers 

We are confident and hope very much to see you in the near future in our property Iberostar Cozumel!

Kind Regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,272
    1,117
    433
    170
    92
See reviews for
811
1,069
53
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hagerstown, Maryland, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

13 of us met up and stayed at Iberostar Cozumel April 13-April 20th and not one of us was disappointed…So many great things about this resort and a few flaws they could improve upon but for the price we paid it was perfect!

Rooms- Many other guests say the rooms are small and have hard beds. I think they are roomy enough besides we spend very little time in our room. We fit all our things in our closet. The bathrooms are nice. Everything is very clean. The beds were ok. We requested a mattress topper before arriving and had one on our bed when we checked in. Our room was 8113 which is right by the pool on the second floor and it was perfect. Our room had a little more moisture compared to others in our party but I am sure it was the location. Tip-bring car air fresheners or dryer sheets to freshen the room. Also love, love, love the balconies with the hammock. Nice touch!

Grounds-Absolutely perfect! The resort is immaculate! It is a little bit of a maze until you get used to the layout.

Food-I actually enjoyed the food. I was most impressed by the fruit, fresco salsa, guacamole, and fish! Both buffets had a nice selection. No one in our group went hungry. I have only 2 complaints about the food. The poached eggs were over cooked every day and the lettuce was served in very large pieces on tiered platters and it was very bitter. The a la carte restaurants were nice. I didn’t personally go to the Mexican restaurant but the group I was with said it was great. I did go to the steak house and it was great. The appetizer buffet had a great selection and the Steak was cooked perfectly. I also did not go to the late night buffet for snacks but heard it was not very good.

Staff-For the most part I give the staff hear 2 thumbs up! They work very hard to keep you happy. I did have a problem with a girl at the front desk who started not so nice and got nicer after I spoke to management about my problem. This same girl upon check out over charged me and I am pretty sure even after getting $35 back that I was still owed additional funds for my resort credit. At breakfast I didn’t always feel like they were good about making sure you had coffee and water. The evening staff did a better job. The bar staff all over the resort were great! Nicholas at the pool bar, Gabriel (pool and lobby), Armondo (Best blue Hawaiians) Juan and Victor at the disco! The star friends are amazing. Malixa, Mario, and Francisco were among our favorites! Jazmin (sweet girl with a beautiful smile) sells cigars in the lobby and takes drinks around at the disco. Almost all the staff says hi when you walk by on the resort which is really nice and another plus is almost all the staff speaks English.

Shows-I didn’t really watch any show from start to finish but what I did see was pretty good. Better than the Iberostar resort we stayed at in Punta Cana.

Our group also enjoyed playing pool back behind the shows and at the Disco. The pool table at the disco is much nicer most likely because it is inside. Disco is great as well. They can play iPods at the DJ booth.

Pool- Big and clean. They play basketball and volleyball in the pool as well as a water aerobics which I tried out and enjoyed.

The beach is pretty. As others said before me it isn’t good for walking into. This is fine for me because I don’t really like to get in the water. I prefer to look at it. The peer was a nice touch since it lacks beach entry. They do excursions from the peer which is nice too. Fishing, diving, snorkeling, etc.

Excursions- Our group did 4 different excursions. Horseback riding was ok. They met us at the front of the resort which was nice. Deep sea fishing was good with the exception of the sea sickness 4 out of our 6 got. We were able to have our fish cooked at Albertos next door for $10 a person and that included sides (very yummy) Dolphin swim at Chankanaab state park. They had a great time and said the beach and ground there are beautiful and would recommend it. And the Island Razor tour was also a hit with the people in our group that went.
Also go to Alberto’s next door to the resort. They have a nice public beach, outside dining, and a great band on Tues and Thurs night. Great atmosphere!!

SPA- I have nothing bad at all to say about the spa. I personally got 2 massages and they were the best I have ever had. The atmosphere was perfect as well as the staff!

This resort is great! I have never met so many nice people in one place. The staff really makes this place special from the maids that make all the fun towel animals and keeps your room tidy, the grounds people keeping the pool and garden areas beautiful, the kitchen staff that keeps your belly full, to the bartenders and star friends that keep you smiling. If you are looking for a good time check out Iberostar Cozumel. You won’t be disappointed if you come with the purpose of having a great time! Happy traveling!

Room Tip: Depends on what you want but we loved our room 8113 2nd floor overlooking the pool. Could be a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest

On behalf of all the staff and particularly the general manager we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to provide us with such a detailed review of your stay at our resort.

Let us assure you that we have shared your review with our hotel team and we are all grateful for such feedback and very happy that you enjoyed the stay with us; it makes our team proud and motivated to keep improving towards upcoming guests. Thank you for your generous comments on Nicolas, Gabriel, Armando, Juan, Victor, Milixa, Mario, Francisco and Jazmin; they are the best reward our staff can receive.

We are delighted to read you really appreciated the food, accommodations, shows, facilities as well as the grounds. Regarding your comments on the lettuce and eggs, we are passing your comments on to our head chef in order to check this issue more closely and we will definitely work on it.

It is great that you and your group had the chance to experience the different activities around the island and that you really enjoyed them.

We are sorry about the incident mentioned with the person at reception and thanks for mentioning it, as it help us pinpoint areas that need attention.

It was our pleasure to have served you and we hope you give us a chance to welcome you back in the near future!

Best Regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The convenience of having a dive shop on-site was great. It was also convenient to have our rooms right near the dive shop and the beach. We could not have planned it better especially when we carried our own equipment. Food was good and the rooms were adequate and clean. The beach was not the best but you could always wade in from the dock and watch all the fish surround you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Client

Thank you so much for the election of our resort in Cozumel for your recent vacation and also for all your good comments on our services.

It is with great honor we receive your comments regarding our services and the facilities, we are happy to know that you really enjoyed them and had a good time with us.

We are confident that we will have the opportunity to host you once more in the near future in your home away from home Iberostar Cozumel

Kind Regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harriman, Tennessee, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We traveled to Cozumel for a week long dive trip. Direct flight with Delta to Cozumel was nice. Ground transportation was waiting at the airport and trip to the resort was uneventful. Check in went smoothly and our room was located next to the dive shop and dock which was very convenient. The onsite dive shop is Dressel and did a great job all week. Our room was nice and kept clean all week. The different animals made from towels and flowers on the bed each day was fun. The food was good with a nice variety to pick from on the buffet. Had a great week diving with friends and plan to be back in the future.

Negatives
We went to the "steakhouse" one night. An OK steak about Ponderosa quality though.
Got up one morning to a sewage leak in the yard outside our building. Staff responded immediately and it was handled quickly.
Hair dryer in the room was not working properly but again the staff responded quickly and repaired it.

Positives
Great location near the best dive sites so we were usually one of the first boats to the sites and in the water!
Comfortable beds in a clean well laid out room.
Beautiful facility and grounds.
Very responsive and friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest

We really appreciate your taking the time to share your experience; this is always welcome since it provides us with very important information for our improvement.

Our personnel has been informed of your comments, and they are very happy to know that everything was smooth and enjoyable; we are glad to read that you had a wonderful time at the dive center and that you liked our cuisine, facilities and all the services that we offer to our clients.

Concerning the incident with the hair dryer and the sewage outside the room we would like to apologize profusely and will be working to avoid this kind of situations in order to avoid future incidents. We are also passing your feedback on the steak to our head chef, to work on this point.

We hope we will have the pleasure to serve you in the near future in your home away from home Iberostar Cozumel

Best Regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainbow City, Alabama, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is overall the best resort on the island..........I have stayed at many other resorts which are good.........but Iberostar is the best.. Look forward to my return trip again very soon. Keep up the good work Iberostar.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Client

On behalf of the General Manager and the staff at the Iberostar Cozumel we would like to express our most sincere gratitude for your recent visit to our hotel. Thank you for your wonderful words!

We consider it to be a great honor to have had the opportunity to have served you and the fact that you endorsed our property highly. It is very motivating for our co workers and the management.

We truly look forward to your next visit to your home away from home Iberostar Cozumel!

Warm Regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Just got back from vacation at the iberostar. It was. Very nice resort, and the food was great. The rooms were kinda small but still have enough room. Hard beds so we asked for a mattress topper and they gave us one with zero problems. Also ask for a room with one bed there's more room because there set up better. We had a blast by the pool. The pool bar had the best drinks by far. The beach was nice but you can't swim or walk in the water. We did some snorkeling from the steps of the pier and it was good at sometimes. I did find a very large barracuda about 4 foot in about 4 feet of water. Also found a couple of lobsters, a sting ray, and some very nice anemones. If during low tide you look by the beach you might find some really nice urchins. We did a dive with dressel divers and it was good. I felt safe and the video they took of the dives was very cool but kind of expensive so we didn't buy it. Town was a $20 cab ride so we only went once. The Star Friends where awesome. They made our stay awesome. The Vegas show was by far the best. Anyway I would go again if I was doing to do a lot of diving.

Room Tip: Ask for a mattress topper and one bed. Also I felt better about drying my scuba gear because we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Customer

Thank you very much for taking the time to send us your comments about our services and facilities during your recent stay with us.

We are happy to know that you really enjoyed the food, accommodations, bars and all the services we offer our guests. To receive comments like yours really motivates our team to keep improving on offering the best possible service to our guests.

Concerning the situation with the beach it is true that to enter the ocean is a little rocky; the reason is our location near the most amazing reefs in the Cozumel Island and that we are inside a protected national park, so the coast line must remain natural and untouched. That is why, as you well noted, we offer our guest a ladder in the pier to make more accessible the entrance to the sea.

We look forward to your next visit to our property!

Kind Regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

One of the best places to stay on the entire Island. People are friendly, the rooms are quaint, and clean. The mini fridge is kept stocked in the room. Each room has a hammock on the balcony. lots of exotic creatures and birds roaming around the well kept grounds. On the beach. If my wife was doing the cooking, it would be perfect. Other than that, you will not be disappointed. .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest

On behalf of Iberostar Cozumel we would like to thank you for your recent visit to our hotel.

We consider it to be a great honor to have had the opportunity to serve you and your wife; your comments are flattering and really motivate our team to keep working to provide the best possible experience to our guests.

In regard to your comments about the food you can be sure that we are forwarding your comments to our head chef of the hotel in order to work on this so that our guests are all satisfied.

We are confident that we will see you in the near future in your home away from home Iberostar Cozumel!

Best Regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Cozumel

Address: Costera Sur, km. 17,785, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Cozumel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach, in a rocky, coral–filled cove with unspoilt waters. A paradise for diving and snorkelling. Sub-tropical mangrove forest. Bungalows in typical local style. Second-largest reef in the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Iberostar
Iberostar Cozumel Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.