We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Vacation!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Cozumel

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Cozumel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Iberostar Cozumel
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Costera Sur, km. 17,785, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 58 hotels in Cozumel
Richmond Hill, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Family Vacation!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Our family of 4 just returned from the Iberostar Cozumel, we have vacationed in Mexico more than 10 times, 2nd time in Cozumel. Very Good value for the money we paid. I have 2 young daughters who had a great time, mainly due to the entertainment staff. They were very engaging with people of all ages and were a very energetic and talented bunch. Special mention to Milexa, Fransisco and Johal, they were outstanding!!!Food was good, there was always plenty of food at all meals, not a great A La Carte selection though. Resort was small to moderate in size which we loved, everything was easily accessible. The grounds were envirnomentally beautiful with flamingos, igwanas, turtles, peacocks, well manicured and maintained. Rooms were dated, but clean, cleaning staff did an excellent job. Our biggest disappointment was the beach, horrible, could only enter off the peer, snorkelling was satisfactory. Overall, we enjoyed our family vacation very much, the kids had an awsome and memorable time, and we met some great people.

Room Tip: Request a room near the pool, therfore you get access to the pool and beach, 5 minute walk to the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest

We are very happy to hear that you and your family had a great time at the Iberostar Cozumel and enjoyed the services provided by the hotel.

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the hotel. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed the hotel’s settings and surroundings and all the different services that we offer. It is also fantastic that our employees made your stay so enjoyable; we will compliment them for all their hard work, especially the entertainment team Milixa, Francisco and Yohel. It will be very encouraging for them to learn that you appreciated their effort so much.

Regarding the beach issue, as you said, we have a pier ladder to enter the ocean because the beach entrance is rocky. It is a natural protected area located by the reefs and we cannot alter it in any way. It is part of the charm of Cozumel! However we respect your opinion, of course not everybody has to like it.

We are confident that you will be staying again at the hotel Iberostar Cozumel, we look forward to having you back!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,869 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,197
    1,018
    407
    163
    84
See reviews for
735
995
45
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Of the several resorts I've visited, Iberostar Cozumel compares to none. Even of the several Iberostar's....this is my favorite. Separate bungalows, jungle setting, southern point of the island, secluded, beautiful beach, Albertos is a walk away down the beach, staff, food....Was there in August, going back this month. Can't wait to get back!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest

On behalf of all the staff we would like to thank you for choosing to stay in our hotel and also for taking the time to write your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor on your stay with us.

It is gratifying to read from your review that you enjoyed the hotel’s settings and surroundings and that you had a nice time with employees; we will especially compliment them for all their effort. Our team is constantly working to provide the best possible experience to our guests and your words will be inspiring and motivational for them.

We look forward to your visit. Please let us know, as we would like to meet you in person!

Best Regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We were invited to Cozumel for a wedding. Having never stayed in the area before, we did not really know what to expect.

The only really disappointment we encountered was the beach, or lack there of. Cozumel is a diver's paradise. The entire island is a coral reef and lacks sandy beaches with the exception of a couple on the East side.

This resort was incredible. We loved how the rooms are laid out. Small round buildings with no more that four rooms in each. The rooms are small, but clean and fresh linens each day if you so desire. The small refrigerator was stocked each day with coke and water and beer.

The food was good. It is mostly buffet, but still hot and delicious. You can reserve meals at the restaurants a couple of times, based on how long you stay. These meals are great and should not be missed.

Snorkling is a must. There are lots of fish and starfish that hang out under the pier.

I think the best thing about this resort was the nightly entertainment. The Star Friends put in some hard work to give you the best show. They involve the crowd and make it extremely fun to watch.

Rent a car and drive around the island. It's not far around and we did this trip in just a couple of hours. Stopping at many of the bars on the other side of the island for a drink.

We also took the ferry to the mainland and visited Playa del Carmen. It has a beautiful beach and lots of resaurants and bars to visit. It is a very beautiful town. It is worth the trip.

I don't understand some of the negative reviews. We had no problems with any of the food, staff, entertainment, rooms, etc. It was a great trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Costumer

First of all we would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you by choosing Iberostar Cozumel for your recent vacation and also for taking the time to write your comments on Tripadvisor.

It is very satisfying to read that you enjoyed our food and services, as well as the hotel’s grounds. We are also delighted to hear that we have contributed to making your holiday special; we will forward your comments to our employees and congratulate them, especially the entertainment team for the excellent work they make.

Regarding your comment about the beach, it is true that the entrance to the water is rocky, as we are located near the reef (natural protected area), however there is a pier with a ladder to access the sea.

We are sure that for your next vacation you will not hesitate to give us the opportunity to serve you again at your home away from home Iberostar Cozumel

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Our room had a strong smell of mold. We washed all our clothes when we came back. I have never experienced something like this before.
The worst entertainment seen so far. We saw a lot of kitch in the caribbean resort, but this is the worst by far.
Bad kitchen. Not too many choices. Same food every day. They don't have even a real restaurant for a-la-carte. They transform the buffet area in a restaurant.
Bottom line: we expected more for the buck we paid. Especially during the Christmas period when we were there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Customer,

Many thanks for your valuable feedback about your recent stay at Iberostar Cozumel.

Accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay.

We are sorry to hear that you had a negative impression about our cuisine and the entertainment; we would like to let you know that we have shared your comments with Management and our Chef in order work on each area. We always strive for service excellence so we always welcome feedback like yours. Regarding the room, if you can provide us with some more information about the dates of your stay or the room number we will fix the problem immediately. We do have a maintenance program all year around but due to our location by the sea, it can be challenging to stop humidity from coming in.

Regarding the a la carte restaurants, it is true that the restaurant by the pool is the buffet during the day and the steak house restaurant in the evenings. We also have the Mexican restaurant and the Star Rock restaurant located near the lobby area, which are solely used for that purpose.

It saddens us to hear you have decided to do not return to our resort, but if you change your mind in the future, we will be more than glad to welcome you and show you the changes made.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My family and I just returned from spending the Christmas/New Year holiday at the Iberostar and we all (4) had a fantastic two weeks. The last time my wife and I were here was 12 years ago for our honeymoon and it was amazing to see the changes. The "jungle" is full and thick, plus those tall palm trees on the beach weren't even two feet tall back then! It’s great watching all the wild life roam around, I even fed a peacock out of my hand after it walked up to our balcony one morning.

Even though the resort is 300 rooms, it doesn't feel that big with the way it is laid out with the 8 room bungalows, many hidden behind the foliage. (Even though we did get lost a few times at night as we wandered around.) Once we closed the door at night, everything was quiet.

The rooms aren't luxurious, but how much of a room do you need? We slept in it six hours a night. We were on vacation for the beach, not the room. We always had plenty of hot water, the air conditioner ran cold, and there was a stocked fridge and a safe. As everybody knows, the beds are hard, but they do give you a bed topper. We loved the second floor balcony with the table and chairs. With the in room coffee pot, we had two pots of coffee every morning before we walked down to breakfast. Nothing beats watching the waves roll in and the sky brighten as you sip a hot coffee! The fridge was always stocked and the maid left plenty of bottled water in the always cleaned room.

The buffets had plenty to eat for breakfast, lunch and dinner. If you can’t find enough to eat then you are way too picky. We ate at the Mexican, Steak House and American restaurants twice each and loved them all. As for the drinks, they contained plenty of liquor and you could always ask for top shelf if you wanted it. Even at full capacity you never had to wait long for a drink. Also, it was a nice touch to have waiters taking orders in the lobby, the theater and even on the beach.

The pools were a little cool until you got used to the temperature and they were large enough. It was nice to have two deep pools, with one pool for water games and the other pool for swimmers. The beach was long and wide and unlike other resorts, big enough so that the volleyball players had their own area that didn’t interfere with the sun worshippers. As advertised, you needed water shoes to enter from the beach or you could use the pier. We loved using the pier and feeding the fish that swarmed around us once we got in the water.

The star friends and the staff are what really make this resort special. They are always smiling, willing to help and they like to converse with the guests. Such a relief to have no hassle from check-in to check-out. And what a joy to make new friends, not only with the other travelers, but with the staff.

The one minor issue that probably should be addressed by the management is the condition of the lounge chairs on the beach. Most of them have seen better days and the fabric is very stretched out. The beds are to the point where it is uncomfortable to lay on them. It is time for management to get the beds replaced or redone with new fabric.

We left the resort only once to go on the pirate cruise. I really didn't know what to expect, but I tell you, we had a great time from the moment we stepped on that ship until we stepped off it. We sang, danced and had a great lobster and steak dinner. The drinks flowed freely and the crew kept everyone engaged. There is no way not to have a great time. Well worth the money.

All in all we had a great vacation. We will not hesitate to recommend the Iberostar and we definitely will be returning - soon I hope!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Tripadvisor (English) by Kaszyca from Wheaton, Illinois, Jan 11 2013 for Iberostar Cozumel
A fantastic holiday vacation

Dear Guest

On behalf of the general manager and all the staff of the Iberostar Cozumel we would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing our resort for your recent vacation and for your kind comments about all the services we offer.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our wild life and also all the settings and surroundings, it is true that in the last 12 years the hotel has changed a lot for good as you mentioned on your review, your comments motivate us to continue improving our services and we will definitely congratulate all our personnel as they are a very important part of your happiness and as you mentioned, a very important part of our success.

Regarding the lounge chairs at the beach area we are happy to inform you that we have already started replacing them.

We are honored to have contributed to your having a wonderful vacation.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at your home away from home Iberostar Cozumel.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband and I visited the Iberostar Cozumel from Dec 5-12, 2012. This is a scuba divers paradise. If you are not a diver, you can always get a great lounge chair by the pool or on the beach. The dive boats leave around 8:00am and run all day long. The pool is beautiful, the room are older but perfectly adequate. You only sleep there anyway. The food is not fabulous, but you can always find something to eat. They have a pasta bar where they make exactly what you want. Breakfast is always great, they have bacon, eggs, pancakes,waffles etc. It's really hard to screw up breakfast. The grounds are outstanding and are very well maintained. There is lots of wildlife that roams free..peacocks, iguanas, parrots, flamingos, turtles. It's really quite beautiful. The staff is very helpful and friendly. There are plenty of activities taking place all day if you choose to participate. The evening entertainment is quite good. the resort is rated as a 4 star, but we feel that is a bit of a stretch. It is more like a 3.5 star. We only paid $800.00 per week per person, so we found it was a great deal at that price. We met other people who paid significantly more, and they felt is wasn't a great deal. We were there just before the busy season started, so we had a very relaxing and enjoyable vacation. It wasn't busy at all, there were no long lines for anything.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Iberostar Cozumel and also for taking the time to send us your comments about your stay.

We are especially pleased to see that you enjoyed the hotel’s settings and surroundings. It is an honor to know that you had a nice time with our employees; we will compliment them for all their effort. Our team is constantly working to provide the best possible experience to our guests so this feedback will be most welcome.

We are glad that you enjoyed the beautiful grounds and the wildlife we have at the hotel.

All your comments are very important for us to motivate our Management and Staff, who are dedicated to ensuring that we exceed your expectations. We thank you for all the issues you brought to our attention especially the ones about the room and the food, we promise you that we work on them.

We hope that when you will plan your next vacation, you do not hesitate to give us the honor to serve you.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

When I made my reservation I told them that I walked with a 4-wheeled rollator. In other words, I don't walk on my own. I wanted the beach and beautiful water that I could get to. That's why I chose Cozumel. However, if that is what you are interested in don't stay here. When I arrived, I noticed that the swimming pool was very crowded. Once I got to the beach, I realizd why the pool had so many people - there were massive boulders of coral on the waters' edge and into the water. There was no way a person, especially a physically handicapped person, could get into the water easily.

I was told not to worry about not being able to get into the water. The people at the resort told me I could go out on a snorkle trip each day to get my water fix in. That was going to eliminiate laying around on the beach (which there wasn't too much of because of the boulders anyway) but was also going to cost an additional $40 for each snorkle trip.

Needless to say, rather than ruin my vacation, I moved to another hotel that had a beautiful beach and everyone could get into the water without water shoes and getting marred up from coral.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest

On behalf of the General Manager and all the staff of the Iberostar Cozumel we would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing our hotel for your recent vacation and also for taking the time to write your constructive reviews to us and the rest of the online community.

We are sorry to hear that you could not enjoy our hotel beach; it is true that to get into our beach it is rocky as we are located near the coral reef area. As it is a natural protected area we cannot change in any way the entrance to the ocean. However we apologize if you were not given this information, which is important.

Regarding the pools being crowded, it depends on the season but we always have enough lounge chairs available, given that there are more chairs than the total capacity of guests the hotel has.

In case you do plan to return to Cozumel and give us the opportunity to show you all the wonders the hotel and the island has to offer, please do not hesitate to contact us. We will be more than happy to welcome you back.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iberostar Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Cozumel

Address: Costera Sur, km. 17,785, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Cozumel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach, in a rocky, coral–filled cove with unspoilt waters. A paradise for diving and snorkelling. Sub-tropical mangrove forest. Bungalows in typical local style. Second-largest reef in the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, VISIT US, INC. , Travelocity, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Iberostar Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Iberostar
Iberostar Cozumel Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.