We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dive Destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Cozumel

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Cozumel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com CheapCaribbean
and 5 more sites!
Iberostar Cozumel
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Costera Sur, km. 17,785, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 57 hotels in Cozumel
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great Dive Destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We've been to the Mayan Riviera now for about 7 years, and stayed at about 10 locations. We thought this was one of the best yet for price and just plain charm. Relatively small, great food and service, and the dive center is amazing (separate review). The flamingo's are cool, and the peacocks wandering around even stopped by our room a few times to keep us company.
I'm rating this a 5 as we had an excellent and relaxing stay, the property is very cool and it's a great deal. This shouldn't be confused with a 5 star hotel, which is 10x the cost and none of the character.
Remember this is Mexico, in general the beds are hard, the wine is generic, things fall apart in the humidity, and lizards are everywhere. It's part of the charm!
There have been other reviews, so just some general impressions: the resort is pretty laid back, not a big party place, probably as the divers need to get their rest for the 8AM dive sched. Most guests seem to be 30+, not too many kids. The resort was about 30% full during our stay according to one of the Star Friends, but it was slow season, and expected to pick up quickly. The beach is beautiful sand, but the waters edge is definitely rocky and that continues out to the end of the swimming area, don't bother with water shoes just use the steps at the pier. If you're a snorkeler (we are), you will be disappointed as there is nothing to see offshore other than a few fish under the pier. In that case, you can take a tour (chac-choc) that will pick you up at the pier for a few hours at Columbia and Palancar, as well as a shallow area Cielo for starfish. You can buy a pic package and they will take your picture with conch, starfish etc while you swim around, worth the $30.. Arrange at the tour desk in the lobby. You can also arrange other tours, we rented a jeep for the day and drove around the island, stopping at various beaches and cantinas. Just us on a beach for miles on the east side, brilliant.
Roads are easy to drive, but downtown San Miquel can be pretty busy and a bit chaotic. Pay parking machines are also in English!
We got quite a few bug bites, heard they were from sand fleas, so take some repellent.
Wifi isn't free, you pay depending on how much access you need, you can get a login at the front desk, cost isn't too much.

Room Tip: Ground level floors in these small villas can be musty, 2nd floor would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest

On behalf of all the staff and the general manager of the Iberostar Cozumel we would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing our hotel for your recent vacation.

We are especially pleased to see that you enjoyed the hotel’s settings and surroundings. It is an honor that you had a nice time with employees; we will especially compliment them for all their effort. Our team is constantly working to provide the best possible experience to our guests.

It’s gratifying to hear that you had a great experience at the resort and that you like the different activities the island has to offer

We are confident that you will be staying again at our hotel Iberostar Cozumel

Greetings

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,686 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,138
    945
    371
    155
    77
See reviews for
686
933
36
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My husband and I traveled here for a destination wedding. The bride and groom had stayed her previously and LOVED IT! I was skeptical, and my gut feeling was right. I can see how some people would enjoy the atmosphere, especially those big fans of diving and snorkeling- but this resort just wasnt for me.
The welcome we received in the lobby was wonderful, and the staff were very polite and accomodating. We were driven, along with our luggage, to our bungalo which was situation near the center of the "neighborhood". We climbed the VERY rustic steps to the 2nd floor, and entered our room. It was cool- but very unwelcoming. (Fake)Granite floor with no rugs or carpet, lots of spiderwebs and dustbunnies on the superhigh ceiling. (There was a spider up there too that couldn't be reached with ANYTHING that I watched and watched....and watched...)The a/c was either all or nothing so it was kind of damp in there too. The small bathroom was nice enough with a glass showerbox and ample counterspace.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest

First of all I would like to thank for the opportunity you have givien us by choosing Iberostar Cozumel and for taking the time to write your reviews to us and the rest of the online community about your recent stay at our property.

We are glad to hear that you encounter a polite and accommodating service from our personal and I apologize for the issue that you had with the air conditioning and the spider nets in your room, if you can helps us with some more information about the dates or the room you were in.
Please be sure that we are taking in consideration your experience to improve and achieve our guest’s satisfaction during their stay.

We hope to be able to offer you our hospitality again at any of our hotels.

Best Regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Grove, IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

We come to Iberostar Cozumel twice a year .. And have always enjoyed seeing friends and have always been treated extremely well by the staff . A huge change for the better in the Star Friends team . They are much more upbeat then on our March visit .. Always friendly and with badly needed renewed energy. New Star Friends manager Joel is both Professional, friendly and outgoing .. The best I have ever seen! Every morning he greets guests by name and usually in their own language! and it continues throughout the day by his entire team! Cannot say enough how much this has improved the Iberostar Cozumel experience as guests .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Client

On behalf of the general manager and the hotel staff we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Cozumel for your recent holidays once more and for taking the time to write your comments on your stay.

We feel honored to have contributed to make your holiday perfect once more, it’s strengthens our determination to hear you have felt like a star in iberostar.

I would like to inform you that will congratulate Yohel and his team as they have formed part of your happiness and wellbeing

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Best Regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada, USA
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We spent an all inclusive week at the resort, with 5 days of diving, and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff is superb - friendly, well trained, attentive. Food and drink were high quality, fresh, varied and presented well. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guest

On behalf of the general manager of the Iberostar Cozumel we would like to thank you for choosing our property for your recent holidays and for taking the time to write your review in tripadvisor about how your holidays went.

It’s gratifying to have contributed to make your holidays special and to read that you intent to return to our hotel as you have felt like a star at Iberostar

We will inform our employees that they have formed part of making your holidays special.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future at your home away from home Iberostar Cozumel

Best Regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My second time here, so I knew what to expect. If anything, dive operation has improved! I like the rooms, the property layout (although it IS a long haul from one end to the other!), the wide variety of food offered. Meals are not inspired, but there is so much to choose from no one should go hungry or get bored. I enjoy the attention of the cats in the dining room, the peacocks on your porch, the iguanas lurking in the bushes. Pretty grounds are designed to slow you down, not make "commuting" efficient. The resort provides optimal access to Palancar Reef. If you are into nightlife or town activities, you may not enjoy the relatively remote location (stiff taxi $ to town). A general complaint at this hotel is the rather ridiculous fees for Internet ($5 half hour, $15 day, $65 for the week) and the extremely limited coverage (lobby/pool restaurant) - NO in-room coverage. If you forget that and just relax it's a great place and the diving is spectacular!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear client

On behalf of the hotel staff, and particularly the manager, we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Cozumel on your recent vacation and also for taking your time to write your comments for us and the rest of the online community.

It is a cause of satisfaction to hear that you had a wonderful vacation at our hotel and that you enjoy the surroundings.

We will share your comments to our employees as they formed part of your wellbeing and we will congratulate the employees of the dive center.

Regarding the internet service, in 2013 we are planning to have internet service in all the guest rooms as we always strive for a better service.

We are confident that you will be staying again at your home away from home Iberostar Cozumel

Best Regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pecos, New Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Booked our trip using CheapCarribean.com Iberostar did not disappoint! The reviews we read here were very helpful. It's true, it's not easy/comfortable to walk out into the water, but going down the pier & down the stairs to snorkle or swim was easy enough. The beach was beautiful with food & drink VERY nearby. We ordered a mattress pad for the hard bed & were much happier after that.

We did a day trip to Tulum & Xel-ha it was nice, but we probably could have done it on our own without the tour guides & time limits. The snorkling at the Iberostar pier was as good if not better than Xel-ha! Tulum was awesome...sitting in a bus for 2 hours wasn't so cool (even though it was air-conditioned!)

We also did a snorkle trip from the pier (booked with Dressel Drivers on site at Iberostar) $40 per person got us out on a scuba boat with over an hour of snorkeling in 2 different dive spots (2 hours total) we were lucky enough to see sea turtles and DOLPHINS!! It was AWESOME!! Highly recommend!

Room Tip: ask for that mattress pad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guest

On behalf of the hotel staff, and particularly the manager, we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Cozumel on your recent vacation and also for taking your time to send us your comments on your experience with our property.

We are glad to hear that your holiday has been marvelous and that you have a good time with our employees and that you like the grounds.

It’s cause of satisfaction to perceive that you felt like a star at Iberostar

We will share with our employees your comments and how important they are as we always work to offer a better service.

We hope to see you again at Iberostar Cozumel.

Greetings

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterborough
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

IBEROSTAR LIVE CHAT
→do you have wifi at your resort?

IBEROSTAR-LCSUP: which resort?

- Iberostar Cozumel

→are there charges for wifi?

→or free fro guests

IBEROSTAR-LCSUP: with additional charge of $15USD per day

→oh, we usually have free wifi at the other resorts in the lobby area

IBEROSTAR-LCSUP: unfortunatelynot at Iberostar Cozumel
→too bad, makes a big difference

→15$ us per day is very excessive, espcially when other resorts offer it to their guests as a courtesy.. very disapointing,for connecting with family and would have been great for marketing your resorts through social network...

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iberostar Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Cozumel

Also Known As:
Iberostar Cozumel Hotel
Iberostar Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Iberostar
Iberostar Cozumel Mexico
Address: Costera Sur, km. 17,785, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Cozumel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach, in a rocky, coral–filled cove with unspoilt waters. A paradise for diving and snorkelling. Sub-tropical mangrove forest. Bungalows in typical local style. Second-largest reef in the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, Amex and Hotels.com so you can book your Iberostar Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.