We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Cozumel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Cozumel to your Saves list
Iberostar Cozumel
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Costera Sur, km. 17,785, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 53 Hotels in Cozumel
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great vacation!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

We just returned yesterday from staying at the Iberostar from 11/11/11 to 11/18/11. We traveled with 10 people total.....so from the time we landed we were treated amazingly. We got to the lobby to check in and asked to be placed close together...so 4 couples were next door to each other and my husband and I were directly across.....very accomodating, and the bar tender keep us all in drinks for the short time we were there to register. We found the food and drinks to be great....and the service was top notched. Loved the animals, from the flamingos, iguanas, parrots, cats, and peacocks! Kudos to Chef Algae....she worked the room explaining what was being served. We did enjoy the hot tub in the Spa.....but found it to be a "shocking" experience as it was not apparently grounded......but once we were out...we couldn't stop laughing!! The Star Friends were so much fun...they got us involved in playing ping pong and horseshoes on the beach and learning the different Latin dances....Half of our group dove and snorkeled with Dive Martin the others sat and enjoyed the sun and sand!....Severall nights we walked a block down the beach to Alberto's and watched football and danced...We had no complaints about the rooms, we stayed at the Occidental Grade last November where the rooms are huge, and these are small in comparison, but we didn't spend much time in the rooms, so it was no problem..We did all get mattress pads to make the beds much softer!.......only suggestion is to make sure you take water shoes as the rocks make it difficult to enter the ocean from the beach....Great times in Cozumel!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Walk to anyplace on the resort was short....and they always were willing to drive you in their carts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,442
    1,315
    502
    187
    100
See reviews for
977
1,249
64
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (681)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

We returned to the Iberostar Cozumel from November 9-16. We are very fortunate to live in southern Ontario and have direct flights to Cozumel. Our trip (air and hotel) was booked through Westjet Vacations. The flights were on time (actually a little early), transfers to the hotel were quick and efficient, check-in was easy, and our room was ready. I had made a building request and they were able to put us in building 84 (my first choice!) Returning guests received a card good for 15% off services in the hotel (wine, spa, internet) but we didn't use it.

There are many reviews of the Iberostar so I will try not to be too repetitious but rather highlight some of our observations.

The beach is very rocky. We knew that water shoes are a must and that going off the pier is a good alternative. Snorkling is very good. Not a lot of coral, but lots of fish. A great spot for beginners. Snorkle gear is available but you will pay $2 per person each day - it is a park fee. If you have your own equipment there is no charge.

The food is excellent. Chips, guacamole and salsa were delicious. Desserts were out of this world. The deep fried ice cream is not to be missed. There is so much variety that even the pickiest eaters can't complain. We booked 2 ala cartes - the Mexican was our favourite. The steakhouse was okay. Reviewers raved about the rib eyes but we found them to be rather thin, fatty and grisly.

We were very impressed with the cleanliness of all areas of the resort especially the bathrooms. Our rooms was kept spotless with great towel art everyday from Rita!

Staff is always friendly with an ola or buenos dias (noches). Tipping was evident and welcomed but was not necessary for great service.

All the smokers seemed to frequent the lobby bar and sitting areas so it tended to be quite unpleasant if the overhead fans were not on.

Pillows are terrible! Thin and hard with the worst synthetic material possible. We did not find the beds hard but many times saw deliveries of foam bed toppers so they are available if you find you need them.

Chairs at the beach are a mesh material and quite comfortable but needed to be cleaned more frequently. They were often spotted with bird poop! Chairs at the pool had cushions.

Drinks were usually good - bar menus at the lobby bar and the beach grill and bartenders would make you anything you wanted. Unfortunately, beer at the lobby bar was not always cold.

All in all a wonderful holiday. I don't know if I am getting old, picky and set in my ways, but am sometimes appalled at the rude behaviour and poor manners of some guests. I know we are all on vacation and want to let our hair down a bit but.... !!! I guess that there are alway a few who want or need to be the center of attention.

Room Tip: Buildings 82, 83. 84, 85, 86 are close to the beach and pool. Ground floor rooms will be 8401, 8402...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

I am new to Scuba diving and was looking for a new place to experience my new sport. This venue came up on a Google search and after checking it out on Trip Advisor, it seemed like a great place to relax AND get some diving in. This is an all inclusive resort and we found the food to be a variety of local Mexican (which I love) and more common American food. The grounds are really well kept and have been populated with interesting and colourful animals that wander freely....pink flamingos, orange iguanas, proud peacocks, and (sadly) cats, which are tolerated by the peacocks!
Because we were travilling in early November, the place was only 1/3 full and while that was great for lineups, there was an absence of over the top nightly entertainment.
The scuba experiance was great! The water is crystal clear and the local portion of the Meso-American Reef is just off shore. We were able to snorkel in the beach/bay area where there are some beach fish (which really respond to a cracker or two). But the best was the staff at the PADI dive centre, located on site. They convinced me to convert some just-for-fun dives I had booked into Advanced Diver Certification! Which I did! Including my first night dive which is a really unique experiance. Thank you Josh and France for making that happen.
Not only is the water crystal clear, but it is warm, over 80F even down to 75 foot depths. Many other divers wore wet suits (out of habit?). but they were not needed. I only wore my trunks and Tee shirt and was fine. The only time I ever got a chill was when our boat was caught in a rain squall, and the solution was to get back quickly into the warm water!!! Lots of things to see during the dives down at the reef...many colourful tropical fish, a ray went by, turtles bottom feeding, lobsters, even an octopus (during the night dive). Highly recommended. And between dives, the resort was more than great, big pool, curteous staff, all the amenites. We also took an Island Tour which included a stop at the large Mayan ruin on the north end of Cozumel and a shopping stop in the City.
Highly recommended for the price and the season.

Room Tip: If you are diving, get one close to the Dive centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
175 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Having loved the other Iberostars we've visited, we decided to spend our Carnival Cruise day (Nov. 12) at Cozumel by getting a day pass to the Cozumel Iberostar. Being beach lovers, we get it: Cozumel is a coral island not known for its' beaches. You get a small beach and rough walk out to the ocean. Apparently you come here to "Dive," not lounge around like we wanted to.

This Iberostar is much smaller and quainter than the others we've been to, however, it was just as beautifully kept as the others and the huts looked well maintained. I would recommend this place to anyone wanting to dive Cozumel.

The lobby buffet restaurant was open-air, but fully netted. The net didn't stop the very healthy-looking feral cats from entering and snacking on hand-outs however.

From our excellent welcome and check-in at the front desk to the bartenders we met, we thought the staff were great. My wife thought the breakfast buffet was great while I thought it was pretty sparse and average. The resort was only at 45% capacity and we got there at 7:30am local time, so perhaps the buffet was not fully operational.

The whole place was extremely laid back. We never once saw or heard boisterous "Star Friends" that we were accustomed to seeing at Iberostars. Perhaps another symptom of their 45% capacity crowd.

After reading previous reviews, I came prepared to snorkel at the beach pier. I will post my pictures later. Saw lots of friendly fish and a couple of Barracuda, one was at least 3 feet long.

All in all, it was a very inexpensive "shore excursion" for the two of us off of our Carnival cruise. With Taxi rides and admission included, we paid only $65.00 each to enjoy a quiet, all inclusive experience from 8am to 6pm (a la carte restaurants excluded).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We have been to Mexican resorts in the past; Iberostar makes you feel totally welcome, and the employees are truly friendly/helpful. The grounds are nicely lanscaped, natural setting that encourages long walks, pictures, and relaxation. There is nothing clearer that the waters off Cozumel...if you like snorkeling, scuba, and fishing this is it! You can walk out off the beach, snorkel near the pier in 5-6ft of water and see some great fish!
The round huts were roomy, cool, and maid service was first class. showers were clean, and well stocked.
The Beach is not your typical "white sand" beach, some rocks in the first steps out in the ocean, but if you wade out about 20-30 feet, its soft and sandy, and very calm. If you need to lay on a sandy beach, adjacent properties are nearby
Food was excellent most days, but some of the restaurants are average. drinks were plentiful and fine.
This is not the resort to visit in July and August, because its hot! The dining area is open aired. however, if you visit there in the summer, you can save a ton of$ We did!
There are some shows, mostly funny, and minimal talent.
Cozumel is a nice Island to retreat from the craziness of Cancun, which is way too crowded for us. Cozumel is a more recreational island, with jeep trips, horseback, windsailing, parasailing, fishing trips,etc if you are a bar fly, and need to gamble at night, this is not your place.
The airport in Cozumel was efficient, small, and comfortable because you seldom have the mess of delays, that you get in Cancun. Good Luck, T&B

Room Tip: pick ist floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Dodge, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Just attended my sons wedding 11-11-11. What a great place. It is truly paradise. The grounds are beautiful, and the staff are wonderful. I read alot of trip advisor reviews before going and I agree with some comments. The food does get repetitive but still great. Drinks are however you want them, and they remember what you drink and how you want them. The resort is a few miles from town and it does cost $20 USD to and back. Enjoyed the wildlife roaming around the resort, iguanas, peacocks and cats. The staff does take care of you and want nothing more than to please. Dressel was great to talk with and for a couple of bucks you can get snorkel gear and hobi cat to use (they say for 2-3 hours but if you use longer they dont care) they are very helpful and I learned alot about diving. What a great place to go. Plan your trip there now, I suggest the first 2 weeks in November, perfect temps hardly any people.

Room Tip: get a room close to pool, you wont be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
234 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

We stayed at the Iberostar Tucan in PDC and had access to this resort as well. Spent a day here walking the grounds, the dive shop, eating , etc. It's a nice little resort with probably the best location if you are into diving or snorkeling. If those aren't high priorities for yourself I would look elsewhere. The beach is small and rocky compared to others in the area and the pool while being very nice isn't real big. The buffet was typical fare but was pretty tasty, would be nice if they could have somehow controlled the number of bees flying around the soda machine though. The buildings housing the rooms are pleasant looking and cozy, each room has it's own hammock on the balcony. The loby area is spacious but a bit dark compared to other resorts.

To sum it up, for divers or even couples looking for some seclusion this is a great place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
7.0 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
10.0 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 53 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 stars 2,912 reviews
0.5 mi away
Occidental Grand Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Allegro Cozumel
Allegro Cozumel
#34 of 53 in Cozumel
3.5 of 5 stars 3,025 reviews
3.9 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#14 of 53 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,812 reviews
14.1 mi away
Melia Vacation Club Cozumel, All inclusive & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Cozumel

Address: Costera Sur, km. 17,785, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Cozumel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach, in a rocky, coral–filled cove with unspoilt waters. A paradise for diving and snorkelling. Sub-tropical mangrove forest. Bungalows in typical local style. Second-largest reef in the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iberostar Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Iberostar
Iberostar Cozumel Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.