We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heaven :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda San Miguel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hacienda San Miguel to your Saves list
Hacienda San Miguel
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Calle 10 Norte 500 | Entre Ave 5 y REM, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 31 Cozumel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
WI
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“heaven :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have been coming to the island for 18 years, multiple times a year. Prior to staying here we were at Sol Cabanas and Wilma wiped it out. This is our new Heaven on Cozumel.

Quiet, very clean (don't know why others had problems) and staff more than willing to do anything at any time to assist should you need it. Though we don't use the kitchen to cook (it is a full kitchen) everything has been in great working order. Lovely continental breakfast each day brought at your requested time. Beds can be changed each day but you need to indicate because they work toward sustainability and try to change every few days...which is OK with us, we change our bed once a week at home. Clean towels every day and extras if you ask.

We walk into town every night for dinner, walk up to 30th street, walk to grocery store, walk everywhere because it is so close to everything. 45 steps to the waterfront every night with our cocktail to watch sunset.

We have 50 sleeps until we are back again and simply cannot wait. They also own Vista Del Mar hotel on the main street/Melgar and it is a great spot as well.

Room Tip: no pool or restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    21
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
41
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
536 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 457 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed in this Hotel for six nights (three and three). We've been in Cozumel before, but never stayed overnight. We didn't want a resort and chose this place based on good feedbacks and because it's still in town, but in a quiet area.

The place is built in a old-spanish colonial style (well, like the names says). It looks really nice, quiet and comfy. The welcome was warm and friendly, free welcome drink included. The front desk does a really good job here and is always helpful.

The rooms (we had a ground-floor room for three nights and a two-floor room for another three nights) are quite dark. Both rooms we stayed had a mosquito problem (less problems on the first floor). Also the rooms are very damp, towels and wet clothes do not get dry here...I even got some mold on some of my clothes after our stay here. The rooms are not very clean or well maintained, but all come with a full kitchen.
Another problem was the room service. Towels and bed only get changed every other day (except your request a more often change). But our bed only was made once in our six nights. The last three night we never got fresh towels at all (even we told the front desk so).

It's too bad, because the place is actually very nice...but it starts to get and old and tired look. It would be too bad if it start to run-down even more. The rooms are quite spacious and the location is very good. At the north end of town, it's very quiet here and you still get to the Zocalo in only 15min by foot.
The courtyard is nice and green and relaxing. Take your (included) breakfast out here! There's coffee, juice, pastries, bread, jam and butter. Because it's so green it also attracts lots of bugs, so be aware.

So all in all it's a mixed bag. This place could be great, but with the problems it only gets an average rating...too bad, there's so much potential. And judged by the feedback it used to be better.
But next time, I guess we'll try out another town-hotel.

Wanna know more about my trips? Check my profile or visit: route66traveler.jimdo.com

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

It's a really nice place - quiet and cozy and fulfills all the needs of a family with 3 kids. Breakfast doesn't live up to European standards, the beds are a bit hard and you should ask for a room upstairs as the room gets a bit damp when you shower (at least our room), but overall the impression we left with was very good. The staff was friendly, they cleaned very well, it is a short walk to center of town and the best cafe on top of the museum and the reception helped us to a cheap car rental!

Room Tip: 2. floor. More light, less damp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

This was our third visit to Hacienda in the past four years, this time for 10 days in the low season. We still love the beautiful garden setting and quiet north end neighborhood, but the rooms are beginning to show signs of wear (linens, towels, TV and hard bed!), and the service was inconsistent.
It's difficult to write a less than favorable review of a place we called "home" on two earlier trips, but there has been a definite decline in our entire experience. We booked a specific room one year in advance, yet staff did not respond to email confirmations about our reservation the week before our arrival, and I had to call the property to assure our room. Our "breakfast" failed to arrive two mornings, and the 4 rolls, orange juice, and half pot of coffee can hardly be called breakfast.
On the positive side, the rooms are large and still a good value, staff try to be accommodating (when they are around!), and we still enjoyed our stay. We were just a bit saddened and disappointed in the overall decline of the property since our first visit.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

This hotel has all the elements of a quaint Mexican hacienda...warm staff, great location, and charming courtyard with a fountain. But there was a major problem with our stay...the neighbor's barking dogs...all night long. Don't plan on sleeping in here unless you have had a few strong margaritas. The dogs bark at sun up and sun down. Is there a dog whisperer in Cozumel?

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

My husband and I truly enjoyed our two week stay at the Hacienda and would return anytime. Owner & staff were more than friendly and made every effort to ensure that we had everything to make our stay very pleasant! We felt very safe!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

The hotel was nice and staff was helpful, but the house next door has dogs and they bark all night long. If you want any sleep do not stay here.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hacienda San Miguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda San Miguel

Address: Calle 10 Norte 500 | Entre Ave 5 y REM, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hacienda San Miguel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hacienda San Miguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda San Miguel Cozumel
Hacienda San Miguel Hotel Cozumel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda San Miguel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.