We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - nice setting - but some problems” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda San Miguel Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hacienda San Miguel Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Hacienda San Miguel Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Calle 10 Norte 500 | Entre 5a Ave y Rafael E. Melgar, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 33 Cozumel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
627 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 502 helpful votes
“Good location - nice setting - but some problems”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed in this Hotel for six nights (three and three). We've been in Cozumel before, but never stayed overnight. We didn't want a resort and chose this place based on good feedbacks and because it's still in town, but in a quiet area.

The place is built in a old-spanish colonial style (well, like the names says). It looks really nice, quiet and comfy. The welcome was warm and friendly, free welcome drink included. The front desk does a really good job here and is always helpful.

The rooms (we had a ground-floor room for three nights and a two-floor room for another three nights) are quite dark. Both rooms we stayed had a mosquito problem (less problems on the first floor). Also the rooms are very damp, towels and wet clothes do not get dry here...I even got some mold on some of my clothes after our stay here. The rooms are not very clean or well maintained, but all come with a full kitchen.
Another problem was the room service. Towels and bed only get changed every other day (except your request a more often change). But our bed only was made once in our six nights. The last three night we never got fresh towels at all (even we told the front desk so).

It's too bad, because the place is actually very nice...but it starts to get and old and tired look. It would be too bad if it start to run-down even more. The rooms are quite spacious and the location is very good. At the north end of town, it's very quiet here and you still get to the Zocalo in only 15min by foot.
The courtyard is nice and green and relaxing. Take your (included) breakfast out here! There's coffee, juice, pastries, bread, jam and butter. Because it's so green it also attracts lots of bugs, so be aware.

So all in all it's a mixed bag. This place could be great, but with the problems it only gets an average rating...too bad, there's so much potential. And judged by the feedback it used to be better.
But next time, I guess we'll try out another town-hotel.

Wanna know more about my trips? Check my profile or visit: route66traveler.jimdo.com

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bandit-One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

It's a really nice place - quiet and cozy and fulfills all the needs of a family with 3 kids. Breakfast doesn't live up to European standards, the beds are a bit hard and you should ask for a room upstairs as the room gets a bit damp when you shower (at least our room), but overall the impression we left with was very good. The staff was friendly, they cleaned very well, it is a short walk to center of town and the best cafe on top of the museum and the reception helped us to a cheap car rental!

Room Tip: 2. floor. More light, less damp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kytting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

This was our third visit to Hacienda in the past four years, this time for 10 days in the low season. We still love the beautiful garden setting and quiet north end neighborhood, but the rooms are beginning to show signs of wear (linens, towels, TV and hard bed!), and the service was inconsistent.
It's difficult to write a less than favorable review of a place we called "home" on two earlier trips, but there has been a definite decline in our entire experience. We booked a specific room one year in advance, yet staff did not respond to email confirmations about our reservation the week before our arrival, and I had to call the property to assure our room. Our "breakfast" failed to arrive two mornings, and the 4 rolls, orange juice, and half pot of coffee can hardly be called breakfast.
On the positive side, the rooms are large and still a good value, staff try to be accommodating (when they are around!), and we still enjoyed our stay. We were just a bit saddened and disappointed in the overall decline of the property since our first visit.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YoginiDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

This hotel has all the elements of a quaint Mexican hacienda...warm staff, great location, and charming courtyard with a fountain. But there was a major problem with our stay...the neighbor's barking dogs...all night long. Don't plan on sleeping in here unless you have had a few strong margaritas. The dogs bark at sun up and sun down. Is there a dog whisperer in Cozumel?

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

My husband and I truly enjoyed our two week stay at the Hacienda and would return anytime. Owner & staff were more than friendly and made every effort to ensure that we had everything to make our stay very pleasant! We felt very safe!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sulago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

The hotel was nice and staff was helpful, but the house next door has dogs and they bark all night long. If you want any sleep do not stay here.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank L A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We are both Scuba Divers and have visited Cozumel twice in the last 2 years. On our first trip to Cozumel we decided to stay at one of the resorts a couple miles outside of San Miguel. After 3 miserable days and food poisoning we decided to change hotels and found Hacienda San Miguel. If you are seeking a huge party scene and late nights the Hacienda San Miguel is probably not for you. However If you want to experience some of the local culture, don't mind walking, (there is no parking) and appreciate excellent service the Hacienda San Miguel might just be for you.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.7 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#12 of 52 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 stars 730 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flamingo Hotel
Flamingo Hotel
#9 of 52 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 stars 414 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villas Las Anclas
Villas Las Anclas
#1 of 52 in Cozumel
5.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
4.2 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Casita de Maya
Casita de Maya
#2 of 52 in Cozumel
5.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda San Miguel Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda San Miguel Hotel & Suites

Address: Calle 10 Norte 500 | Entre 5a Ave y Rafael E. Melgar, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hacienda San Miguel Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the most exclusive zone in the downtown of Cozumel the biggest island of Mexico in the caribbean where we combine colonial design with peace, the beauty of nature in an ambience full of tranquility, elegance and comfort. These gorgeous studios and suites have been decorated with rustic Mexican wood-carved furniture and have been equipped with: • Kitchen with refrigerator, freezer, stove and oven, coffee maker and kitchen utensils. • Purified bottled water. • Cable TV with remote control. • Air- conditioning. • Private bath with shower. Hot and cold water. • Hairdryer. • Safety deposit box. • Table and chairs in the one and two bedroom suites. • Daily continental breakfast served to rooms. • Internet Wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hacienda San Miguel Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda San Miguel Cozumel
Hacienda San Miguel Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing