We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch Kosher restaurant!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jerusalem Kosher Store and Restaurant

Jerusalem Kosher Store and Restaurant
Melgar between 8 and 10 | 2nd Floor Forum Shops, Cozumel, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 264 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Kosher
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Top notch Kosher restaurant!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

We visited Cozumel recently. We fell in love in the food, the atmosphere and the service, to the point that we found ourselves coming for dinner every night for a week!! Amazing experience! Thank you

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartellNetworks, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jerusalem Kosher Store and Restaurant, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Rachel N,

Thank you so very much for sharing your review along with all those Tripadvisor points! We love to hear how much you enjoyed our little great place, and it was amazing to have had you here for a whole week, we look forward to having you back soon!!
Greetings!

Jerusalem Cozumel
Social Media Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    5
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Kosher in Cozumel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stumbled upon this place by sheer accident.

The place is on the upper level of the "Forum", an upscale shopping mall basically for high end jewelry. The "forum" itself was deserted on our visit, the sales staff very pushy upon entering the building.

The Jerusalem has a store? Could have fooled me, there was a fridge behind the hosts/hostess desk with bottled water in it. Some store.

The place itself is very attractive, and very clean and the decor more modern than Mexican. The view out to the harbor is stunning. We could see the Disney Fantasy docked across the street.

The menu is two fold, one Kosher Israeli, second, classic Mexican. All is Kosher. Do not look for pork or shellfish here.

One iconic item. matzo ball soup, they were out of, since we arrived just after the main lunch time that probably explained that.

My husband and I shared a large platter with excellent olives, fresh made pita bread, hummus and salad. Then on to shawarma and schnitzel, made with a breast of filleted chicken, both were excellent choices. I particularly enjoyed the Israeli salad, cubed celery and tomatoes, dressed only with kosher salt and fresh lemon juice, The potato fries were more akin to papas fritos, and they were fresh and nearly pure white.

Sauces came with the meal to use for dipping. One was a hot oil sauce, deep red and fiery hot, the other chimichuri, so fresh the cilantro was, the garlic tender.

The portions were large, and left no room for dessert.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartellNetworks, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jerusalem Kosher Store and Restaurant, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear kencruisetaker,

Thank you so very much for sharing your review in Tripadvisor, that was one great and detailed review! We are glad you enjoyed the place, the ambience and your meal. We look forward to having you back soon!

Greetings!

Jerusalem Cozumel
Social Media Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing food, but lovely service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We were looking forward to going to the Jerusalem having seen the other TA reviews. First of all, the service was friendly and attentive. The venue is attractive with good views. My falafels were good, but my wife's chicken shwarma was, by restaurant standards, inedible. She took one bite and left the rest. We told the waiter, but he seemed oblivious to our dissatisfaction, and when the bill came, we were charged for the item. After questioning this, the staff did remove it, but it was a shame that we were put in that position. Perhaps we were unlucky with the chicken on this occasion, but we wouldn't go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartellNetworks, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jerusalem Kosher Store and Restaurant, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear TubsTravels,

Thank you so very much for sharing your review and for suggesting us to other travelers, we are currently working on our place and our menu so we can offer the best experience to our guests, thanks again and we definately look forward to havng you soon with us!

Greetings!

Jerusalem Cozumel
Social Media Staff
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great view, great attention!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Al the tastes of Middle East in one restaurant, from the hummus to the shawermas, everything is good in this place. The attention is superb and you can have a nice view of the ocean from there. For sure I will go back

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartellNetworks, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jerusalem Kosher Store and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Miriam G,

Thank you so very much for sharing your review along with all those Tripadvisor points! We are currently working on our place and our menu so we can offer the best experience to our guests, thanks again and we definately look forwardo to havng you soon with us!

Greetings!

Jerusalem Cozumel
Social Media Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Affordable luxury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We wanted a fresh meal (after all the Mexican), and felafel's always do the job!

We weren't disappointed as we stepped into this restaurant which looked like a fine dining establishment.

The air conditioning, white linen and service was perfect.

The prices were unbelievable considering the view you had!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartellNetworks, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jerusalem Kosher Store and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear amm101,

Thank you so very much for sharing your review along with all those Tripadvisor points! We are currently working on our place and our menu so we can offer the best experience to our guests, thanks again and we definately look forwardo to havng you soon with us!

Greetings!

Jerusalem Cozumel
Social Media Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jerusalem Kosher Store and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Jerusalem Kosher Store and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jerusalem Kosher Store and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.