We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely want more!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Especias

New Especias
Calle 3 Entre Calles 5 y 10 | 10ma Av Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly ITALIANINI)
+52 987 869 7947
Improve this listing
Ranked #85 of 247 Restaurants in Cozumel
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: An Authentic and Cozy Italian Restaurant in the Wonderful Cozumel Island!!! (We moved from ITALIANINI!!!)
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Definitely want more!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Although my experience was brief as it was a get together after a "birthday" golf outing that turned into a washout, I was amazed at the quality, presentation, and atmosphere at New Especias. The young chef (son) has a very bright future and seems to have a great deal of experience behind him. Although my stay is coming to an end, I will be back in January to try some more!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    22
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San DIego, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Don't miss this restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We were a group of 8 visiting Cozumel and decided to try New Especias. The open upstairs dining area was breezy and comfortable, the staff was great and the food delicious!! Each person in our group raved about their dinner. Spinach lasagna in white sauce, steak, shrimp and mushroom fettuccini, fresh fish - all so good. Good prices for great food - Don't miss trying this restaurant!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Excellent meal with excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I have been traveling to Cozumel for over 40 years and really try hard to find the best places to eat dinner. An Italian friend that lives in Cozumel introduced me to New Espacias. This place is a small restaurant with a bar on the first floor and restaurant on the second floor. They just introduced a new menu (the first of October) and I cannot wait to bring friends back when I return in January. I had two glasses of Merlot and started with the Caprice Salad. Then Fettuccini Bolognese for my main meal and the Teri Mirsui for dessert. The entire meal was $34 and I enjoyed everything as much as anywhere I have visited in Cozumel. The staff was very helpful and the service was great. They are very much worth your visit. It is an open-air venue but very comfortable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Quebec
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“This was a great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We went there on August 26th for dinner....this was one of the best real Italian meal we have taken on the Island for a long time.

The Lion fish tagliatelle al pesto and it was great with an entree of Calamari.

Will go back in December

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Rome has moved to Cozumel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

As an absolute lover of Italian food it was an amazing experience to discover this charming restaurant in Cozumel. The food was just amazing! And for the first time in my life, Lion Fish cooked in a fabulous gnocchi dish. We also had the pleasure to chat with the chef (who is a young Roman) and his wife. Fabulous dinner! Definitely a must!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Especias also viewed

 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to New Especias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Especias, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.