We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem in Cozumel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Angel Resort

Save Saved
You added Blue Angel Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Angel Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2.2 km Costera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Little gem in Cozumel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Not being a diver, I wasn't sure what to expect from this resort but booked due to positive reviews on Trip Advisor. I wasn't steered in the wrong direction that's for sure!
Each room has a wonderful ocean view, the rooms are clean with good amenities. And the staff- friendly, helpful and always great service with a smile. The location is a little bit from town but if you, like me, need to walk off the holiday calories you can be in town in 15 minutes easily. Eva's note by the bed with helpful hints for your stay in Cozumel was really useful. The breakfast is great (and included in the room rate)- and trust me, try the mango margaritas-they're to die for. Thanks to all at Blue Angel for a relaxing and great value stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    95
    19
    5
    5
See reviews for
74
198
38
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
China, Texas
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We are eco-friendly persons but we have had many very bad experiences staying in horrible hotels in world famous ecological cities... Example, Too much parties and noise at night, and too many beer cans and garbage when we woke up in front of our room. We are traumatic for this kind of memory happened before and didnt want to have the same experience any more.
We were kind of worried before arrive here, but things are very different! We noticed that both Hotel staff and guest are dive and nature lovers and concious for environment...!! (In the restaurant menu, there is no conch ceviche cause its in danger of extinction..I am so glad!!)
The room is very clean, out side of the room, there are full of lovely decorations of local plants.
Most people who stayed is divers from all over the world. We had a snorkel boat from the hotel and the experienced guide took us a beautiful ocean to see sea turtles and mantas. It was really unforgettable experience for us. I understand why guest is coming back later.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We returned to Blue Angel to take advantage of their fall promotion. I was VERY disappointed with our room assignment. I had requested top North and received bottom south. The resort was full so it was what it was. The AC units are new and work great. Food was great as was the service as always. Dive operation was good, but several of the regular guides were on vacation so we had a few fill ins. I forgot our passports in our safe and didn't realize it until we were in Playa the day we left. Andrea was great going out of here way to help us. We'll be back again in the future.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a good view, but the upper floors on the north side are preferable. The rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have been staying at the Blue Angel for years and wouldn't consider anywhere else. This is not a five star resort but its appeal is in the simplicity. Each time we visit we meet interesting people who carve a new memory. The appeal of the pairing of a good dive shop, great restaurant and really nice hotel staff is hard to deny. This last visit we only stepped on the street once, there was no need to leave.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This was my second trip to Cozumel and my first time staying at Blue Angel. The first time I came to the island, I ate dinner at the Blue Angle restaraunt and made the comment, "I am definitley coming back here to stay the next time I visit." The rooms are very clean, the staff are all very friendly and accomodating, and every room has an ocean view! Did I mention the restaraunt? It is one of the best restaraunts on the island! A great place for happy hour or a nice sunset dinner. Overall, I would highly recommend Blue Angel to anyone visiting Cozumel.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a great ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I bought a Living Social getaway for this hotel for my husband for our 10th anniversary. I felt confident after reading all the lovely reviews here. We were not disappointed! The property is adorable and meticulously maintained. The rooms are nothing fancy but are large, wonderfully decorated and the beds are super comfy. There isn't a bad view in the place as all the rooms are oceanfront. The complaints about the noise are a bit exaggerated but there is noise coming from the traffic on the street out front. We just closed our bathroom window and it was much better. There is access to the sea right on the property for snorkeling and shore diving and the pool was a wonderfully refreshing treat afterward. The staff is very friendly and very helpful. The restaurant is amazing. Perched on stilts right above the dive shop and the water, we ate many meals here. We also tried to hit happy hour every day. Make sure you try the pina colada and the mango margarita! This resort truly is a gem-rustic, charming and beautiful. We will definitely stay here again when we return to Cozumel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is our 5th time at the Blue Angel Resort and love it more every time. Everyone is so friendly and helpful. It is a quiet hotel and a lot of the guest are divers. You will meet people from all over the world and all walks of life. They have a great restaurant on site, so if you don't feel like going into town you don't have to. I think the fact that we keep returning to the Blue Angle says it all. Love This Place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Angel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Angel Resort

Address: 2.2 km Costera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Angel Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All oceanfront rooms, each with patio or private balcony for you to enjoy the beautiful sunsets or you can relax under the palapas on the ocean or around the fresh water pool. Friendly/helpful staff - on-site restaurant where food is freshly prepared and you can get a quick snack or full meal - on-site full service dive shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Angel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Angel Hotel Cozumel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Angel Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.