We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steak” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Del Sur Argentina Empanadas & Grill

Del Sur Argentina Empanadas & Grill
5 Ave. Esq. Calle 3 Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
9878715744
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 249 Restaurants in Cozumel
Cuisines: Argentinean, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Like steak? Go here, Excellent empanadas. Good service, atmosphere and reasonable prices. Off the beaten path.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    56
    11
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berea, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Steaks aren't cheap but they are worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Based on other reviews and a taste for a good steak we tried Del Sur Argentina and got the good steak but didn't have room for the much ballyhooed empanadas. 400 grams is a lot of steak. I had the prime ribeye and my partner had the New York steak. If you wanted to quibble, hers was closer to medium rare than the medium that she ordered, but was delicious as was my ribeye which was cooked to perfection. The Malbec that I had with the meat was perfect and priced well compared to the states. The accompanying bread and salad were both very good as well. This was our most expensive meal on the island, but I thought it was worth every penny. If you are getting steak, consider splitting one so you'll have room for some empanadas.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DE
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best grilled lobster anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

This restaurant (and the owner) is one of our favorite places to eat. The grilled lobster is to die for. It is tender and juicy, no butter needed. The chicken is awesome as well as the empanadas were delicious especially the bacon and plum and the chocolate and banana for desert. Do yourself a favor and try this place out.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A great alternative to Mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Cozumel has lots of great restaurants that serve Mexican food in a variety of ways. But when you want something different, head to Del Sur Argentina Empanadas & Grill, just a few blocks south of the plaza. They serve steak, chicken, etc., but I go here for the empanadas, small flaky pastry pockets filled with a variety of stuffings: beef, chicken, shrimp, spinach, cheese.....plus some delicious sweet empanadas for dessert. I loved the dulce de leche & banana......yum yum. Hubby and I had a total of 8 empanadas, plus the one dessert empanada, and two beers each, all for under $30. A bonus: no singers wandering from table to table looking for tips. Just a lovely airy building with plenty of windows and soft music, plus great service. I love this place and will return again and again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not for vegans!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you are one of the dwindling number of carnivores like I am, then this is the place for you. Warm Argentine hospitality and service in a romantic pub-like restaurant.
The vacio (a cut near the sirloin) just melt in my mouth and gave up its flavors, awesome. The filet mignon was one of the best I have ever eaten.
My only complaint: I when for a second visit on Sunday and it was closed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Del Sur Argentina Empanadas & Grill also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Del Sur Argentina Empanadas & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Del Sur Argentina Empanadas & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.