We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afraid to review this....... I want my same room next time!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of B & B Caribo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added B & B Caribo to your Saves list
B & B Caribo
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Av. Benito Juarez 799 | Corner 40th Ave., Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 28 Cozumel B&B and Inns
Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Afraid to review this....... I want my same room next time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

I don't want to sound too positive, they may raise the rate or I won't get a reservation next time.

Seriously, great staff, good location, fair price, and a very quaint appartment. The open air shower may not appeal to some..........gust of wind and you are putting on a show for the neighbors and when the sun is on the white walls you may want to consider sunglasses.

Easy access to the airport, cab driver may not know where it is but the address is easy to find. I arrived the day of the Olympic Gold Medal Hockey Game, about an hour before the start, was settled in my room, changed for the heat, and looking for a bar to watch the game in an hour later. Found the game on at Kelly's, missed only half the first period, CANADA WON, what could be better!

I will be back, this time not solo, and hope to stay in the same room!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B B Caribo C, Gerente at B & B Caribo, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and for your kind comments, hopefully we can welcome you very soon once again!

Warmest regards,

Jorge Luis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    18
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
33
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alma, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

We stayed the B & B Caribo at the end of February 2010. Part of the reason we selected it was that it was not within the main tourist district. I wanted my spouse to experience a more authentic Mexican experience and closer to their actual culture. In Cozumel, the first two blocks from the ocean front are tourist central. This establishment was about eight blocks from the ferry dock. It takes just about ten minutes to walk from the dock to the hotel. To take a taxi would cost 20-30 pesos. During our first walk to the hotel, I could tell my spouse was a little apprehensive about the neighborhood. But we get to the hotel safely without incident. The manager showed us our room #8. The room had a double bed and a single bed; Two worn but comfortable sitting chairs; a desk, dresser, small (3' foot) refrigerator, and tv. We never tried the tv. The bathroom was large with a bath/shower. In the room we had a large water cooler size jug of purified water. The room had a ceiling fan but no air conditioning (we never needed air). At night, the street noise was fairly loud until about 9:30. By 11:00, it was quiet. The room was basic but comfortable.

The hotel had several common areas- mostly in the open air. The WIFI service worked well in the common areas- a little less so in the room. A kitchen was available for use. It had all the pots, pans, and utensils needed to cook.

The manager spoke excellent English and was very helpful. We gladly recommended restaurants, laundry service, snorkeling sites, and other items of interest. He works elsewhere during the day but is very accessible in the evening.

During our stay, there were few other American tourists. A few Danes and mostly Mexicans made up the balance of the clients. All were friendly.

There are several good restaurants within 4-5 blocks. There a nice super market within about 2 blocks- a better one is about 5-6 blocks. A good laundry mat is about 4-5 blocks (20 pesos per load, 15 pesos per ten-minutes for drying). At one point, we needed to call the USA. We used a phone shop. They charge 4 pesos per minute which beats most cell phone plans.

Within a day we became very comfortable with the neighborhood. By mid-week, my spouse preferred the non-tourist areas to the tourists areas.

Did we enjoy our stay? Yes. But B & B Caribo will not be for everyone. It is not a resort. It is basic accommodations for a reasonable price. Would we return? Very likely. My biggest complaint was after a busy day, it was 2-3 block more than I wanted to walk. I should have taken a taxi. Also, the common areas are ceramic tile which means after a rain, the tiles are very slick. The hotel is for the more adventurous traveler but it is not bad.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B B Caribo C, Gerente at B & B Caribo, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and for your kind comments, hopefully we can have you back very soon!

Warmest regards,

Jorge Luis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

The price is right for a bed and breakfast with no breakfast. Lots of good places for breakfast and other meals within easy walking distance. In fact, almost everything is within walking distance: restaurants, markets, bars, pharmacies, even the museum and municipal square. We had lots of rain during our week, and it was relatively cool for the time of year, but the carnival celebrations warmed our hearts and spirits.
It felt like the staff wasn't accustomed to having itinerant guests on hand, but our requests for towels and in-room coffee supplies were promptly met.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winona, mn
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

We found B&B Caribo great for our extended stay (5 weeks) as it was centrally located (about 8 blocks to the water; block to grocery store and several local restaurants) and had a common kitchen that was lovely to use (I think some apartments even had their own kitchens, but we shared to save money and often ate out). Owners were kind and helpful. Apartments were located in a secure courtyard area. Linens and towls were provided. Basic, but nice and clean. A bit noisy some evenings given the central location, but for the most part not too bad. Great for the travel who wants to save on the frills, but have a safe and clean space to stay. Would definitely stay there again or recommend!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

It was a nice vacation for all of us. We enjoyed the organic sense of the place. It makes a difference to be in a space built by a Mexican architect who gives the visitor a respect for indigenous cultures. The well educated owner is a great informer about sites to visit and the history of Mexico.Good breakfast and conversations.
Nelson

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B B Caribo C, Gerente at B & B Caribo, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and for your kind comment and welcome you back to your home away from home in Cozumel .

Warmest regards,

Jorge Luis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg Manitoba
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2008

i stayed at the B&B Caribo for nearly ten weeks. Management was excellent always there to help me in anyway possible. Told me where to go to have fun in the evenings... recommended plenty of great places. Cleanliness was great, and the back courtyard was stunning. Over all a great experience

  • Liked — the staff was the best experience so friendly
  • Disliked — i dont think there was anything that i least liked about lt
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2005

I spent over a week here with my family and it was really a wonderful experience. Nice clean accomodations, good common areas--a real home atmosphere. The owner/hostess here makes you feel welcome without going overboard as do the owners at some B and B's. Kind and helpful when needed, otherwise she doesn't bother you. A plus for us since we have experienced over helpful owners at other Cozumel B and B's. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B & B Caribo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B Caribo

Address: Av. Benito Juarez 799 | Corner 40th Ave., Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — B & B Caribo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1994 in Cozumel B&B Caribo studios and suites priced from US $40.00 to US $60.00 per night, offering breakfast on the well known restaurant Casa Mision from 8.00 am to 12.00 pm. We are located 6 blocks from the ferry pier, 5 blocks from the main square downtown, 2 blocks from restaurants, supermarket and pharmacy and 1 block from the gas station. Each unit has private bathroom, shower and hot water, TV cable and A/C as well as Hi speed Wi-Fi service available at no cost for our guests and full common kitchen. Laundry service and cleaning service available for a small extra cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your B & B Caribo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B & B Caribo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.