We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Flamingo Hotel to your Saves list
Flamingo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 6 Norte 81, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
West Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We arrived for the Ironman Triathlon and stayed at Hotel Plaza Cozumel which had a high Trip Advisor rating but we were very disappointed. Our friends were at Hotel Flamingo and as soon as we saw their room we switched even though we had prepaid. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend it! All the great things said about the rooms and staff are true and we will be staying here next Ironman!!!! Way to go Flamingo!!!!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    92
    14
    9
    5
See reviews for
26
135
33
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A great hotel with great staff. Oscar was amazing. Always friendly, helpful, efficient and smiling. At first we thought it was because he'd lived in the Seattle area at one time so we shared something in common, since we're from Seattle. But we noticed he was the same with everyone. It's amazing how great customer service goes a long ways to making a good stay even better.

Otherwise, the place was great though too. Our room was quite large and clean. We faced the inside courtyard, and it was incredibly quiet. I noticed there were balcony rooms overlooking the street too, but I preferred ours. Plus we were close enough to reception that we had wifi in our room. Supposedly it didn't reach all the rooms, but I don't know for sure.

We also enjoyed the happy hour with 2-for-1 drinks each afternoon in the little bar downstairs. And the breakfast was good too. Continental breakfast was free, and we could pay an extra $3 for eggs or other options.

Plus the location was convenient. It was only about 3 blocks from the ferry dock, and a half block off the water. I discovered the roof-top deck on our last day that offered a view of the water too. Wish I'd noticed it earlier -- it would have been a great place to enjoy our happy hour drinks!

Anyway, I'd recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed about a week in Flamingo hotel and really liked it! We had a superior room which faced the court yard so it was calm during the night. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. It's located just one block from the ocean and in the nicest part of town, away from the most turistic parts where the cruise ship people goes, and just a few blocks from the ferry to Playa del Carmen. Nearby the hotel you can find what you need: nice restaurants (especially Ohana's! ), scooter and car rental (called Isis), café with good coffee and pastries, shops and bank with ATM.

If you want to dive there is an excellent dive shop next door called "Ramon Zapata Divers" who make dives with small groups which feels very safe. We went diving with them 5 times, the manager Ramon is very experienced and have dived all his life.

So if you want a smaller more personal hotel this is perfect!!

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Flamingo Hotel is a nice boutique hotel. It is located relatively close to the airport, we walked, which took approximately 20 minutes. It is also very close to the ferry terminal, which is only a couple blocks away. The rooms are nice, clean and comfortable. We stayed in a superior room with a balcony. It was very nice and bright, however, since it was on the street side it was a bit noisy from the cars and scooters. I would recommend a room facing the courtyard or one not on the street side if you are a light sleeper. The rooms are equipped with TV's, AC and a mini fridge. The staff at Flamingo Hotel are great. We enjoyed sitting at the bar in the evening chatting with Ivan and Oscar. There are also some great local restaurants close by. If you need to rent a car or scooter, ISIS is 2 blocks away. Scotiabank is also a few blocks away if you need to get money. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is located on the north part of town. It isn't too far from the airport, we walked from the airport to the hotel, mind you I like walking. The hotel is small, staff friendly and rooms clean. The rating is taking into consideration the cost and the fact you are in mexico on an island. If you want an elevator, ice machines and 24 hour concierge don't stay here. In fact I would recommend going to Hawaii. If you want something more laid back it's a great place in Cozumel. There is a good steak house a few doors down(think it is carne), probably better than anything you will get on the main strip. As well just around the corner is another good italian restaurant(guido's). There seems to be a good number of locals at both restaurants. A place to rent scooters or a car is one block away(ISIS). Dive shop on 4th one block away(there seemed to be a dive shop right next door but was closed the time I stayed at the hotel) The pedestrian only shopping street is two blocks away and will be nice once the renovations are done. The superior rooms on the front part of the hotel have small balconies that open onto the street side, which is nice for light, but the street noise can be disturbing if you are a light sleeper. I would recommend the rooms 28 or 38 on the back side which are superior rooms for a quieter sleep. The only problem might be the neighbours two chihuahua's that make some noise. Keep the windows shut at night. The regular rooms open onto the courtyard which would be quiet. The street view rooms are on the side of the stair well so have more noise. Rooms 21, 31 I believe are closest to the stairs. I would stay here again, the staff is great, Last note, if you are a runner, head north. There is less traffic and the run out to the golf course can make for a nice little run.

Room Tip: I would pick rooms 28 or 38 as noted above
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for a week of diving in November 2014. My room was great - comfy and well-appointed with cable tv, air-con (not really necessary), and a mini-fridge. Breakfast every morning was delicious, with nice, strong coffee. The roof terrace has a great view of the water, but if you don't want sun, there are nice lounge areas and a courtyard. The staff is friendly and helpful. The location is close to everything, including restaurants and shopping. Will definitely be back!

Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First Time that I got the room, that I saw on pictures at booking. Absolutly clean, realy nice ambiente and realy friendly staff.
The Hotel is in the middle of Cozumel Town but not in that Area, that is full of the Cruise-ship-tourists.
If I go to Cozumel again, I promise to got to Flamingo again!!!
The Breakfast is for europeans a little bit less but there are a lot of possibilities around

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flamingo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Hotel

Address: Calle 6 Norte 81, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flamingo is a unique boutique property located in the cultural center of Cozumel. We are just steps from the water front, dining and shopping attractions of the town square. Yet quietly hidden away....The Flamingo prides itself on a high level of personalized service and attention to our guests needs. For those looking to getaway from today's rapid pace, we provide a spacious and stylish environment in which to relax, meet new friends, and enjoy the better things in life. Our restaurant and bar "Aqua" is a favorite place to make new friends and enjoy a cold drink after a day of activity at the beach or out diving on the reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Flamingo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel Cozumel
Flamingohotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.