We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect boutique hotel in Cozumel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Flamingo Hotel to your Saves list
Flamingo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 6 Norte 81, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect boutique hotel in Cozumel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I have stayed in places all over the world, from hostels to five star hotels, but I am seldom compelled to write a review--positive or negative. On my first trip to Cozumel, we stayed at this beautiful hotel and I immediately fell in love with the hotel and the island. The staff was great--helpful, knowledgeable, courteous, and they made amazing margaritas! We eat at small local spots every night, every meal was great, and all were vetted by our friends at the Flamingo. The rooms were simple and clean, but very comfortable. The breakfast was delicious, and sitting in their courtyard with fresh squeezed orange juice and coffee every morning was such a pleasure! I highly recommend this place--I've told everyone I know that this is a great spot, and I will certainly return as soon as I can!

Room Tip: The street front rooms can be noisy because of a certain water truck that drives through the neighbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    111
    14
    9
    5
See reviews for
29
164
38
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

What a GREAT find! We stumbled upon this hotel under unfortunate circumstances; my mother became ill shortly into our vacation, and her hospital stay outlasted our reservations at our original hotel, the Allegro (NOT a 5* stay). We were just wandering around after a hospital visit, looking for something downtown when we stopped here--I'd thought it was just a bar, because that's all you can see from the street, but happy day, it is indeed a hotel. We asked about a room and were immediately brought to a courtyard-view room to check out by Jimena. It was lovely! We made arrangements to stay there on a night-by-night basis, not being sure how long we'd be on the island.

I'm not sure what the best aspect of this hotel might be: the staff, amenities, or the location. All were just what we needed. Ivan, Jimena, Adrian, Carolina, and Elizabeth are the warmest, friendliest group you could ever meet. They went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable during our stay, and even did wee favours for my mum, sending over cups of tea etc. The room was very large, quiet (except for the noisy birds and the Zeta gas guys LOL), cool, and clean. We only had one mechanical issue with the toilet, but it was fixed quickly...and would have been fixed sooner, had I actually remembered to TELL someone that it was broken. Sorry about that!! The beds are the comfiest I've ever experienced in Cozumel, too! The room safe is large enough for an iPad, and the free wifi is FAST and reliable.

The location of the hotel is great, too, within easy walking distance of everything. So close to live music and restaurants on Melgar, the museum, ferry pier...the hospital! LOL

We will be back, hopefully for Ironman 2013.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

This is my fourth stay at the Hotel Flamingo and I have to say once again, OUTSTANDING HOSPITALITY !!!!! It feels like your home away from home. I requested my same room as before and it was ready for me! The manager and bartender has always given me great local recommendations each day for lunch and dinner, the Mexican lady cooks your hot breakfast in the courtyard, the mojitos are hand crafted, the maid does a fantastic job cleaning your room and its walking distance to the square, moped rentals , shopping, taxi's!!!!! What else can you ask for! The hotel is clean, family owned ( and you and tell the moment you arrive)! Far better personal service that those resorts hotels! I'll be back again this summer!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is a small but intimate hotel.The staff are courteous and helpfull.Close to all the island attractions.Nice bar with wonderfull cocktails.I have visited this island over 20 times and I have stayed in all manners of different spots.This hotel ranks among the best in my estimation.I will return.viva La Flamingo.

Room Tip: La Candella restaurant is directly across the sreet.You have got to try their fish.Yummy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

we have stayed in this hotel 3 weeks ago during our honeymoon.
Great hotel, wonderful location and especially great team!!!
The only thing we found disturbing is the fact that the curtain is not sealed. and if you are a light sleeper it can be a bit disturbing.
Rather than that- everything is great!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

NOT a resort hotel. Just the way we like it. Nice and convenient location, great staff. Everything you need, great variety of restaurants within easy walking distance, and plenty of stuff to check out when you are not diving. I highly recommend the Flamingo. I did not see anything else in town that comes close.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Flamingo in March. We picked it based on trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed. The excellent rating does mean it is the Four Seasons, it is excellent for a Cozumel boutique hotel. The rooms are simple, but clean, breakfast is good and the staff is great. We had really good margaritas and lots of fun at the bar with the Ivan and the hotel guests. The only negative was that the wifi did not work well in our room. You really had to go outside to the sitting area or to the lobby to get a connection. We were told it works better in some rooms than others, so I guess we got one where it did not work well.
For us, the hotel location is great. I don't mind not having a beach because you can easily rent a car at Isis and go to one of the beach clubs. You are in walking distance from lots of really good restaurants and it is a must to stop at Wet Wendy's each day for a margarita.
I would absolutely stay there again and recommend it, especially if you are in town to dive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.5 mi away
Villas Las Anclas
Villas Las Anclas
#1 of 53 in Cozumel
5.0 of 5 stars 284 reviews
4.0 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Casita de Maya
Casita de Maya
#2 of 53 in Cozumel
5.0 of 5 stars 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#13 of 53 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 stars 624 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
1.6 mi away
Hotel B Cozumel
Hotel B Cozumel
#17 of 53 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Hotel

Address: Calle 6 Norte 81, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flamingo is a unique boutique property located in the cultural center of Cozumel. We are just steps from the water front, dining and shopping attractions of the town square. Yet quietly hidden away....The Flamingo prides itself on a high level of personalized service and attention to our guests needs. For those looking to getaway from today's rapid pace, we provide a spacious and stylish environment in which to relax, meet new friends, and enjoy the better things in life. Our restaurant and bar "Aqua" is a favorite place to make new friends and enjoy a cold drink after a day of activity at the beach or out diving on the reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Flamingo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel Cozumel
Flamingohotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.