We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The quintessential boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Flamingo Hotel to your Saves list
Flamingo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 6 Norte 81, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
DALLAS
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“The quintessential boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

From top to bottom this is the quintessential boutique hotel! The manager Adrian went out of his way to make my stay perfect from storing groceries in the hotel cooler that were to big for my room refrigerator to translating for me to find my lost bag.I can't say enough. And let's not forget the very hospital barman Oscar.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    90
    14
    9
    5
See reviews for
26
129
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We've been coming to the Flamingo for years and it never let's us down. Feels like home. The staff is awesome and will do whatever they can to help and serve. It is especially nice to get to know the entire staff in this small hotel. Rooms are clean, nicely decorated and have comfortable beds. Seems each year has new improvements. The optional breakfast they serve is great. Eggs any style with fruit give us the fuel we need for a days diving and other choices are there for light eaters. The downtown location offers great opportunities to shop, eat, and enjoy the local festivities. We will be back again........soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We just completed our second week in two years at Hotel Flamingo, and I’m already planning a return visit. This is the place to stay! The rooms are big, super clean, nicely decorated, and each room has a good sized safe and refrigerator with reasonably priced bottled water and snacks. Walking in to check in, it felt like home. Just about all of the staff are still there from last year’s visit, and seeing them again was like seeing old friends. The staff is fantastic, adding value by calling taxis, helping with restaurant selections, giving directions, and surprising guests with fun towel animals. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to the downtown area and some killer restaurants, and even late at night we felt safe walking back to the hotel. A full breakfast is included with the room, along with free wifi in the common areas. The only negative we found was that with two in a room with a full set of dive gear each, it’s tough to find a place to let it dry without being in the way. However, there is plenty of common space on each floor, and with someone on staff always downstairs, there was no worry that our gear would walk away. I’ve been back about a week now, and have already recommended this place to two others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Our return flight on 10 October was cancelled and we were rescheduled for the next day. Not at all a bad thing in Cozumel and it gave us the opportunity to try the Flamingo. The beds might be the most comfortable we've slept on in Cozumel. The room was very nice. Good cold air, no noise from the street. Walking distance to all the downtown restaurants etc. Very good breakfast. All been said before but this is a very good value and one I wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Flamingo and really enjoyed are stay. The price was maybe a little high for what Cozumel offers but compared to other hotels, Flamingo is superior. The rooms are very clean and large. Hotel is updated. A boutique style is the theme of the hotel. The staff was very friendly and the bartender makes great drinks. The Cuban restaurant across the street is very cheap and was probably one of the best meals we ate throughout are travels. I would definitely spend the extra money to come back to Flamingo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This boutique hotel is situated down town just off the water. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms where tastily decorated, very clean and comfortable and lets be honest, if those are covered the rest is easy. The bar service is excellent and has a great atmosphere and they serve a good breakfast in the morning. The pricing is right and i would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We just finished our week-long stay at Flamingo Hotel and are already planning our return. The room was well priced and beautifully furnished with a great air conditioner to escape the oppressive heat.

The staff was lovely - Adrien at the front desk helped us organize all sorts of logistics, the breakfast cook was sweet and an amazing chef (breakfast is delicious and light!), Ivan the barman makes arguably the world's best mojitos and the cleaning lady Elizabet is sweet and an amazing hard worker.

The rooms were just perfect. The bar downstairs is lovely. We were there for the big Ironman event in Cozumel so the hotel was filled with athletes. Some young hostelers showed up mid-week and started smoking all over the hotel and trying to smoke in the guest rooms and the owner immediately shut it down (MUCH appreciated by the athletes). They also woke up before dawn to make sure we all had breakfast before the big event. They went above and beyond. I highly recommend this lovely little hotel.

Room Tip: There was no working jacuzzi when we were there and we had a standard room - perfect for 2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Flamingo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Hotel

Address: Calle 6 Norte 81, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flamingo is a unique boutique property located in the cultural center of Cozumel. We are just steps from the water front, dining and shopping attractions of the town square. Yet quietly hidden away....The Flamingo prides itself on a high level of personalized service and attention to our guests needs. For those looking to getaway from today's rapid pace, we provide a spacious and stylish environment in which to relax, meet new friends, and enjoy the better things in life. Our restaurant and bar "Aqua" is a favorite place to make new friends and enjoy a cold drink after a day of activity at the beach or out diving on the reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Flamingo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel Cozumel
Flamingohotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.