We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cancelled flight opened the door for a great expierence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Flamingo Hotel to your Saves list
Flamingo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 6 Norte 81, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cancelled flight opened the door for a great expierence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Our return flight on 10 October was cancelled and we were rescheduled for the next day. Not at all a bad thing in Cozumel and it gave us the opportunity to try the Flamingo. The beds might be the most comfortable we've slept on in Cozumel. The room was very nice. Good cold air, no noise from the street. Walking distance to all the downtown restaurants etc. Very good breakfast. All been said before but this is a very good value and one I wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    112
    15
    9
    5
See reviews for
29
168
38
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Flamingo and really enjoyed are stay. The price was maybe a little high for what Cozumel offers but compared to other hotels, Flamingo is superior. The rooms are very clean and large. Hotel is updated. A boutique style is the theme of the hotel. The staff was very friendly and the bartender makes great drinks. The Cuban restaurant across the street is very cheap and was probably one of the best meals we ate throughout are travels. I would definitely spend the extra money to come back to Flamingo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This boutique hotel is situated down town just off the water. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms where tastily decorated, very clean and comfortable and lets be honest, if those are covered the rest is easy. The bar service is excellent and has a great atmosphere and they serve a good breakfast in the morning. The pricing is right and i would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We just finished our week-long stay at Flamingo Hotel and are already planning our return. The room was well priced and beautifully furnished with a great air conditioner to escape the oppressive heat.

The staff was lovely - Adrien at the front desk helped us organize all sorts of logistics, the breakfast cook was sweet and an amazing chef (breakfast is delicious and light!), Ivan the barman makes arguably the world's best mojitos and the cleaning lady Elizabet is sweet and an amazing hard worker.

The rooms were just perfect. The bar downstairs is lovely. We were there for the big Ironman event in Cozumel so the hotel was filled with athletes. Some young hostelers showed up mid-week and started smoking all over the hotel and trying to smoke in the guest rooms and the owner immediately shut it down (MUCH appreciated by the athletes). They also woke up before dawn to make sure we all had breakfast before the big event. They went above and beyond. I highly recommend this lovely little hotel.

Room Tip: There was no working jacuzzi when we were there and we had a standard room - perfect for 2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Lauderdale
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Already planning a return trip to stay at this charming little boutique hotel. I loved, loved, loved that it was just 2 blocks off the main square and a half block off the water. Convenient to lots of restaurants and shopping, yet quiet.

The staff is a large part of their success. Ivan at the bar makes a mean Mojito, Adrien at the front desk takes care of all the small details that need tending. Elizabeth takes wonderful care of the rooms leaving a different towel animal on your bed each day and for those of you lucky enough to book directly and get a full breakfast, you'll be well taken care of by the breakfast staff. By the second day, they were able to anticipate our groups' needs and be sure and try the coconut french toast - yummmmmy. Tom is the American owner and he is quite hands on and around the hotel often.

Each room is different but stay in a Superior room if you are travelling as a couple - they have a small refrigerator in each room. If you need two beds in a room, you'll be staying in the Standard rooms or splurge and rent the Penthouse - it is amazing.

There is no pool here but who needs it when you can go to one of the local beach clubs nearby and swim in the gorgeous blue Cozumel water or if you stay in the Penthouse - hop in the jacuzzi tub that is out on the veranda.

We enjoyed ourselves so much, we are making a return trip this fall (something we don't usually do). The rates are a bargain - the dive operation they set you up with is amazing and provides lunch so while you are there you really just have to buy dinner - how cool is that?

Counting the days until I return. Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is a great, comfortable, convenient hotel. The staff provides excellent service. This was the second time we stayed here and highly recommend it! We love the decor in the rooms, the bar and throughout the hotel. Make sure to check out the view from the rooftop. We will stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hotel was awesome! I went with my boyfriend to Cozumel for a couple days and we stayed here. Upon arrival the front desk agent was awesome, he showed us different rooms we could stay in and let us pick our room. For the price the room is a steal! The room itself Was clean had Hot water, and was comfortable. The wifi downstairs was a great connection, great free breakfast and the staff let us park our rental car for FREE the entire time we stayed there. I know they don't usually do that, but they bent over backwards to make us happy. The front desk has two agents a father/son and they are awesome. They took the time to give us great beach recommendations, restaurant recommendations, and were very Friendly. The hotel is easy to find since cozumel is so small and it's walking distance the main plaza with great shopping /food. I would recommend renting a car to get out the more private beaches.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.5 mi away
Villas Las Anclas
Villas Las Anclas
#1 of 53 in Cozumel
5.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
4.0 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#13 of 53 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 stars 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Casita de Maya
Casita de Maya
#2 of 53 in Cozumel
5.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel B Cozumel
Hotel B Cozumel
#17 of 53 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Hotel

Address: Calle 6 Norte 81, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flamingo is a unique boutique property located in the cultural center of Cozumel. We are just steps from the water front, dining and shopping attractions of the town square. Yet quietly hidden away....The Flamingo prides itself on a high level of personalized service and attention to our guests needs. For those looking to getaway from today's rapid pace, we provide a spacious and stylish environment in which to relax, meet new friends, and enjoy the better things in life. Our restaurant and bar "Aqua" is a favorite place to make new friends and enjoy a cold drink after a day of activity at the beach or out diving on the reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Flamingo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel Cozumel
Flamingohotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.