We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and eco-friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel B Cozumel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel B Cozumel to your Saves list
Hotel B Cozumel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Playa San Juan Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Spacious and eco-friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Rooms are large and sparsely furnished. Drinking water arrives in a hand-painted pitcher on the vanity rather than wasteful plastic bottles. Refills are available from beautiful urns in the stairwell.
Optional linen changes save water too. Staff is friendly and helpful. Listen carefully when they explain how the safe works! We called back twice, and were answered with a smile. Views from the balcony are worth the price of an oceanside room although only four face the jungle, so you stand a good chance of getting an upgrade if they aren't fully booked. We were only there for the last two days of our four-day prepaid stay, because we got "bumped" due to a plumbing issue. The alternative offered was the nearby Coral Princess Hotel (see separate review) at no additional charge. We still spent our days on the lovely grounds at Hotel B, and patronized the restaurants and happy hour at both places. Photos online don't do justice to the amount of outdoor space at this small hotel and the variety of spots to sit and just enjoy being there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the lobby for better wi-fi, or just go sit on the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    106
    31
    16
    21
See reviews for
45
201
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is a beautiful boutique hotel with a surprise at every corner. The pool is great it overlook the ocean ( an horizon pool). This morning I went stand up paddle boarding then had a great massage. Now I am going down to the sandy beach area to relax and read. Just Be is their theme and that is what I am going to be.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed in the Hotel B for one week and had a great time...

The location is fantastic and the views out onto the sea are incredible. The hotel is in the north of the island so it is around a 35 minute walk to the ferry terminal in town (or a USD6/MXN70 taxi ride). The slightly remote location means peace and quiet and some removal from the many cruise ships that come to Cozumel every day.

This hotel will suit anyone looking for somewhere with personality and style and who is trying to avoid a bland all inclusive experience. The hotel is design led with nice touches throughout so certainly deserves its "boutique" status.

Outside consists of three main areas: a man made beach with day beds and loungers, an infinity pool and a wooden deck with hammocks and more loungers. Each is easily accessible from the hotel and each offers a slightly different experience (with the deck being away from most action in the hotel and the most peaceful). As with most hotels on the island (at least in the north) there is no natural beach but this really doesn't matter, the hotel is perched right on the edge of the land with multiple access points into the beautiful and crystal clear waters - in fact in many ways is is better than having a beach.

As well as these outside areas there is a main restaurant and bar (looking out onto the man made beach) and a smaller beach bar near the pool. Food and drink can be served to any of the outside areas. The food and drink is pretty good (you can find better on the island but it's completely fine here) and reasonably priced.

There are broadly two types of rooms: standard and deluxe. The standard rooms are on the ground floor and open up directly onto the outside area (mostly near the pool). The deluxe rooms are on the upper levels and have their own balconies. The standard rooms are nice enough, and it is very convenient to be able to walk straight out of the sliding doors, but the deluxe rooms are much bigger, better appointed, and ultimately have better views so would be our recommendation. Our only criticism of the rooms was a lack of hot water (most of the time lukewarm - not a huge issue in Caribbean temperatures but a minor niggle).

Service in the hotel is good albeit a little laid back (to be expected). Alejandro on the front desk is great and will sort you out with anything you need.

WiFi is available but a touch patchy - if you are planning to do a lot of work whilst here you may be frustrated. Advice: leave the work at home!

Also on site is Scuba Du diving. This is super convenient if you are planning to dive in Cozumel. We dived every day and, apart from the diving in Cozumel being world class, Scuba Du are very friendly and professional. What makes diving with Scuba Du so good if staying at Hotel B is that they pick you up each morning at 7:15am from the hotel's jetty so you completely avoid doing any land transportation The boat then picks up divers at a jetty in town then at a hotel south of town (where the main Scuba Du office is) before heading further south to where most of the dive sites are. Drop off is the same in reverse getting back to Hotel B at around 1pm. So it's a fairly long morning (this is the cost of staying in the north of the island) but not really a problem. The only sight issue which the hotel really needs to address is that breakfast is only open from 7am. This means that if diving you get a packed breakfast which is a pretty bland ham and cheese salad sandwich and a piece of fruit. If the hotel really wants to look after divers then they need to open breakfast at 6:45am and enable you to order the night before so it is ready in plenty of time to allow a relaxed start then the 7:15 pick up. Hopefully they will sort this out in future - but it is a minor inconvenience in the meantime.

So overall a great experience and highly recommended. It works especially well for divers as each morning is fully occupied so it's perfect to return for lunch then a few hours relaxing outside before heading into town for the evening. If not diving then you will likely want to spend some time out of the hotel during the day (though not essential) so be aware that getting anywhere is a decent walk or a (fairly cheap) cab ride.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are huge and have fantastic ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was our third visit to Hotel B. We love the location- there is nothing more beautiful than watching the sunset from our balcony, and the staff are very friendly and try to be helpful (if a little disorganized). They were responsive to our requests.We were originally on the pool level and while it is convenient, I like to be high so it is quieter and I have a clear view of the sunset, but that is my personal preference. I wish the included breakfast had some Mexican options in it as well as the "American Breakfast". Yoga on the dock in the morning is lovely and the teachers are great because they are working with all levels. The snorkeling right in front of the hotel is quite good and I go every day. It is a short cab ride to town, but if you like to walk, it is a nice walk. My one major complaint is that the Wi-Fi is very unreliable, and my husband and I both bring work with us so we are dependent on the Wi-Fi. While they say they are working on it, it has not improved in 3 years. We had a little issue with our room and there seemed to be some confusion, but it was worked out to our satisfaction. Nevertheless we really like the intimacy, yet there are enough people to talk to so we will be back again!

Room Tip: Wi-Fi unreliable. We like higher floor, quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota, Twin Cities
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at Hotel B Cozumel for a week and our experience was fantastic. The hotel is kept impeccably clean and updated. The staff works very very hard to keep the hotel looking pristine. Our room was spotless. The AC worked wonderfully and we had a remote control to adjust temp. The hot water was HOT and the water pressure was just right. We had a few minor hiccups and they were taken care of right away by the attentive, friendly staff. The room didn't come with an iron and board but upon request, it was brought to our room within an hour. WiFi worked perfectly (strong signal) when we had our phones outside or by the sliding glass doors. OK, now for the best part, the ocean views were really gorgeous and we loved laying on one of the luxurious cabanas. Snorkeling was awesome. The gear can be rented. I guess my only gripe is that not all of the staff speaks clear English and a few things were out on the food menu. No big deal really. Whatever we did eat was very delicious. We got the breakfast included with the room package which was better than expected. I loved the different smoothie health drinks to choose from. Wonderful, relaxing music by the restaurant. Some live music later in the day. We charged all of our food and drinks to the room but always gave tips to the staff and didn't charge the tips. They will take pesos or american money as tips. I always bring a lot of american 1's to give as tips when vacationing in Mexico. I tipped the maid every day as well. OK this might sound odd but I just have to say it, ... I loved the smell of our towels and sheets. It was like a light tropical floral scent with just a hint of bleach. I actually would put the towel up to my face and take deep breaths because they just smelled wonderful. Filtered water comes in a ceramic pitcher and bottle water is available but has to be requested.

The majority of visitors staying there seemed to be having a great time, relaxed. There were a few vacationers that seemed rather rude to the staff which was really too bad. Think about what kind of tourist you are and how you treat people in their own country. If you are a loud, trashy tourist then this place isn't for you. It's not a "wild party" hotel for you to haul in a cooler of cheap beer and then talk so loud that everyone around you has to hear your (insert yawn and eyeroll) life story or listen to you cackle like a witch every five minutes because whatever you spouted off was just OH SO funny (to yourself).

Hotel B seems to be more for the savvy, classy, behaved traveler who wants to relax and recharge without breaking the bank. Think "SPA" hotel with relaxing music, yoga, massage (which was amazing) healthy food. For the money, this hotel exceeded our expectations. It was an outstanding value. Alex that works the front desk was so nice and friendly and helpful with any of our questions about the hotel or the island. He really helped to make our stay fantastic. Thanks Alex!!!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

with all the friendly and sincere customer service. I thought I was paying for the service at the Four Season.. but at the Hotel B they live and breath it. Jose, Alejandro, Maria, Roher, Enrique....and on and on..I never wanted to leave. I just was so overwhelmed of the beauty of the Hotel B outside, the hot tub over the ocean, snorkeling outside your door. And the impressive logo in the pool >>>TO BE. That says it all...The hotel is situated for all in one location. Sty and you will never look back..sitting having a cocktail or two...on a seat in the infinity pool watching a perfect sunset day after day... That truly is what makes life good... Hotel B...

Room Tip: How can you miss. 99 percent of the room are ocean view... No room is bad hear...ask me Franziska...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBCozumel, General Manager at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Franziska

As you mentioned we want you to Just B! and just relax and enjoy our ammenities. The Spa, restaurant, Jacuzzi, private beach, workshops, diving and so much more.

Our staff thanks you for your comments and expects you to come back to live the experience again!

See you soon.

Just B!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gllendale, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is my 10th trip to Cozumel. I do not like all inclusive hotels and I like a view of the water. Surprisingly this combination is getting harder to find. My first 3 trips to Cozumel I stayed at the Cabanas de Caribe Del Sol. This was one of the older hotels on the island and my favorite. Unfortunately hurricane Wilma gutted it around 10 years ago. For the past 10 years since Wilma I have been staying at Playa Azul. Really right next door to Cabanas de Caribe. Unfortunately because this hotel offers free green fees on the nearby golf course it is almost always booked full. So this year I tried a new spot, Hotel B. All of these hotels are near each other on the north end of the island. Hotel B is not all inclusive and offers sublime views of the ocean. This hotel was also devastated by Wilma but unlike Cabanas de Caribe has been entirely remodeled. It really is a lovely hotel, designed and decorated beautifully and thoughtfully. The poolside and cabanas are very modern and European in style. We both loved this hotel and probably won't return to Playa Azul even given the chance. It is not far from the center of town and can be walked in around 20-25 minutes. Beds and bedrooms were great. The rooms spacious and we'll appointed. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. I would have given this location 5 stars, but the restaurant was a disaster. As our American breakfasts were included we tried to have breakfast. We are divers and get up early. If we miss breakfast, we don't usually eat until after diving which is usually around 2:30. We arrived at the restaurant for breakfast when they opened at 7:00. Even with only one other dining guest it was impossible to get coffee and toast within 20 minutes. It was impossible to get scrambled eggs within 25 minutes. We had 1/2 hour for breakfast before having to leave for the dive boat. This was an insurmountable imposition on the wait staff and kitchen. Playa Azul by contrast serves an amazing breakfast buffet at 7 every morning which never presented a problem to eat and make the dive boat on time. The last 2 days we did not dive and ate later in the morning. This was also an excruciating experience of long waits and poor service. We also ate lunch our first day of our stay. We had dinner only one night. It was not good. My wife ordered pasta with pesto and shrimp which was inedible for the over use of salt. The daily catch was offered on the menu at $33. I mean really? Las Palmas restaurant downtown offer the catch of the day for $10. It was really about the highest price for this simple dish that I ran across while dining in Cozumel. The setting is lovely though.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBCozumel, General Manager at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear riddleGllendale_CA

It's great to know people like you that love the island and come back as often as they can.

We are happy that you enjoyed our facilities and decorations throughout the hotel, regarding the restaurant service we thank you for your valuable feedback, thanks to all our guest comments we improve all the necessary points to give a better service every day.

See you soon at Hotel B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel B Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel B Cozumel

Address: Carretera Playa San Juan Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive Resort)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel B Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel B Cozumel has an original and avant-garde offer for travelers in search of new experiences,It combines the natural beauty of the Caribbean with a cool concept of space.The hotel is a fusion of contemporary design and Mexican treditions with a creative touch of young talents. Hotel B Cozumel invites you to ladge in the most privileged plce of Cozumel-5 mintutes away from downtown, the airportand the golf course, in a quiet and exclusive area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel B Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel B Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.