We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel B Cozumel

Save Saved
You added Hotel B Cozumel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel B Cozumel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Playa San Juan Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #15 of 56 hotels in Cozumel
San Diego
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Charming boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I'm almost afraid to write a good review for this hotel for my own selfish reasons. This hotel is the perfect balance of relaxing and fun. The staff is great and the prices for food and drink are extremely reasonable. The food quality is fantastic. The snorkeling is awesome (you can just jump into the ocean and see tons of marine life). There is a little shop that rents snorkel gear along with other water toys. They don't have a full spa but they do have a masseuse available (very reasonably priced). The only issues with this hotel is that they do have "day trippers" who come in with a pass and use the pool and buy drinks. We were there off season and didn't have any problems with the amount of people. Also, I noticed that they reserved some seats for the actual hotel guests so that they will always have a lounge chair available to them. Also, the air conditioning went out in our room twice but the issue was quickly taken care of by the staff. Overall, I would definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    81
    25
    13
    16
See reviews for
40
165
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved staying at Hotel B! The staff was very kind and accommodating. We enjoyed our first night in Mexico so much that we decided to return for our last night before flying out.

The pool and hot tub were as nice as they appear in the photos. Not to mention lots of open hammocks and day beds overlooking the ocean.

I was also obsessed with their decor! Most of which you can purchase if you like.

Overall it was a great choice! Amazing staff, clean, affordable rooms, chic decor and a relaxing setting.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was an amazing find. we were treated like royalty through out our stay. Christian o the front desk started our stay with a smile and it went on through out. We told Christian it was our 6 year anniversary and he upgraded us to a ocean view deluxe room, he also sorted us a romantic meal for 2 by the ocean. Wilberth and Jose are the most amazing men and waiters, they made our stay wonderful. we booked on for 2 nights and stayed for 4. IT WAS AMAZING.. I WOULD RECOMMEND TO EVERYONE!!
x

Room Tip: ocean front on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I came to Cozumel to dive, and so I just randomly picked a nice looking hotel off of bookings.com that was relatively inexpensive (at least compared to the other places we stayed), and we LOVED Hotel B.

It was clean, refreshing, and had everything that we could've asked for - breakfast included, amazing views from our balcony, AC, and a dive shop.

The atmosphere was so great - relaxed, comfortable, classy, and still felt fairly private and small (not some big resort hotel or anything).

The only thing bad I could say was that we asked for the location of 3 different restaurants we wanted to go to (one each night we were there) and every time the front desk marked the WRONG location on the map - ha! The one place he recommended to us didn't even exist (we asked all around downtown and no one had even heard of it). Oh well, the other two places we eventually got to where we wanted to go. Ohanas (restaurant) was one of those - SO GOOD.. definitely go.

If I ever come back to this area again I will for sure stay at Hotel B!

Room Tip: All but 4 rooms face the ocean.. so DEFINITELY go with the ocean view.. and the higher the better, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Christian and Wilberth were both terrific and we oved the experience! Our room was very clean, we were very happy! Great pool and easy access to snorkeling. Loved the different areas provided for beach and water enjoyment.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is minimalistic and representative of the island in general: Very white, clean, quiet, beautiful. It's a small hotel with only about 40 rooms, so it feels quite intimate.

They provide some extras, like yoga classes, massages and a photography workshop, but these packages are not pushed on the guests, and are serious and of high quality.

The rooms have solid air-conditioning. The rooms are big, and the ocean view is amazing; sea-facing rooms have a sizeable balcony with comfy reclining chairs.

The hotel has two wifi networks, one that works in the front area and the other in the room. Neither network is fantastic, and they sometimes disappear, but this situation was acceptable to us. Don't go here if you need to work off the Internet.

The front area of the hotel is divided into multiple mini-areas: There is the restaurant, which is open and faces the sea; then there is the mock beach area (the hotel doesn't have a beach proper), which is divided into two levels, bounded by natural volcanic rock, and outfitted with super comfy four-poster beds with canopies as well as recliners; next to this is a small jetty. Next to the restaurant is an area with acapulco chairs. Next to this is the pool, which is small but very good; it is surrounded by recliners and sun umbrellas, and also has a shallow half for young children. Then there is the bar, which doesn't have seating. Then a wooden, canopied area with hammocks and chairs. Finally there is a lone jacuzzi mounted on a bit of volcanic rock with a single sun chair. (The jacuzzi's interior is painted red, which is a bit awkward; it looks like a pool of blood.)

In other words, this division means that you have some flexibility in choosing between different spots depending on what you feel like at the moment.

The bar has decent drinks (and they serve the entire front area of the hotel, so it's easy to get anything while you're sunbathing, say). They play music all day, but it's not loud. Never experienced any obnoxious party guests.

The hotel also offers diving, which is really a guy fronting Scuba Du and renting out snorkling gear. If you want to go diving, you're either picked up at the jetty at 07.15am by the Scuba Du boat, or you arrange for a beach dive. Never used it as it was almost twice as expensive than another dive shop (Studio Blue) that I found downtown.

The restaurant's food selection was decent enough that we ate breakfast every day, and lunch and dinner several days. Not everything was awesome, but it was definitely passable, and there was a range of vegetarian dishes for people of that persuasion. The restaurant has a surprising focus on healthy dishes and offers an excellent range of smoothies, and you can get a fruit platter at breakfast.

The area outside the hotel is very good for snorkling. There's no beach, but there is a little shallow lagoon that you can enter into if you're wearing fins or rubber shoes (it's full of sea urchins)

The hotel offers bike rental (nice retro fixies) if you want to get a sunstroke, as well as car rental, of course.

The hotel's staff is very sweet. Always accomodating and eager to help. None of the surly snobbishness of big hotel chains.

Not a lot of negatives. The only true negative is that hotel attracts a lot of daypass guests who, while we were there, were uniformly loud and unruly 20-somethings who occupied the entire pool area almost the whole day, dove screaming from the jetty and shouted to each other from opposite ends of the hotel. We're not a lot older than they were, but still found them annoying. I would suggest the hotel be a little stricter about noise.

The mix of music they play is pretty much the same one every day. It gets on your nerves eventually.

The hotel is full of microscopic little ants. I suppose it's probably a natural phenomenon that's unavoidable; I'm not sure if they could do anything to prevent it, and I never asked. Nevertheless, it's an annoyance.

The hotel is located 4-5 minutes from town by car. Taxis charge about 50-60 pesos per trip, plus tip, so keep this in mind when calculating the total cost of the trip.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view, you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I stayed in an oceanfront deluxe room for 5 nights. The room was very nice and modern. AC and balcony was great. The property was very clean and well maintained. The pool area was very nice and never crowded. The staff was wonderful and service was very good. The only issue I had was that the wifi is not very reliable in the rooms. I told the hotel about this when I checked out and they seemed concerned about it and said they were trying to fix the wifi problems.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel B Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel B Cozumel

Address: Carretera Playa San Juan Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel B Cozumel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel B Cozumel has an original and avant-garde offer for travelers in search of new experiences,It combines the natural beauty of the Caribbean with a cool concept of space.The hotel is a fusion of contemporary design and Mexican treditions with a creative touch of young talents. Hotel B Cozumel invites you to ladge in the most privileged plce of Cozumel-5 mintutes away from downtown, the airportand the golf course, in a quiet and exclusive area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel B Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel B Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.