We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best kept secret” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel B Cozumel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel B Cozumel to your Saves list
Hotel B Cozumel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Playa San Juan Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The best kept secret”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I love Hotel B! I just returned from my second stay there. It is such a gem! I find it really hard to share this information because if I do, everyone will want to go there! It is so restful and healthy! Food is prepared in a healthy way. They even juice there!! The staff calls you by name and they give great hugs (Thanks, Christian)! Jose will gladly take your bags and he is always willing to help. I loved it so much they first time I came back. Scuba diving and snorkeling are at your feet. So is the sea and beauty of the Caribbean!!

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor so that you can guarantee quiet from the pool area below!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-b C, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
thank you very much for the feedback we are pleased that your stay with us Hotel B Cozumel is a unique and avant-garde offer for the travelers in search of new experiences. We are glad that you have a great experience, hope to see you again soon.

have a great day
sincerely

Beatriz Tinajero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    89
    29
    14
    17
See reviews for
41
175
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Since we are beach lovers we were a bit concerned we wouldn't care for the man made beach. We never even thought about it after checking in to Hotel B! Jumping right in to snorkel and easy access out of the sea made us forget our little beach was not natural! Who cares when you are reclining in your cabana seaside! There is a staircase with ladder into the sea on the front side of the hot tub as well.
The service was top notch and sincere; so many nice people work at Hotel B! The food was as good if not better than some of the nicer places in San Miguel! We had attentive service whether we were lounging on the beach or sitting by the pool or dining in the restaurant. Even the room service dinner I ordered was hot and yummy!
Although I didn't like the lawn chair type seating in our room, I did think the room was very comfortable and well decorated. Tip for the manager, add a few more clothes hangers and maybe add a few hooks or coat rack to the little dead space right at the front door of the room. It would be great to hang up beach bags and towels. We stayed on the 2nd floor because of bad knees but we still felt we had a lovely view! For the price I felt we found a treasure!
P.S. The massage by Ava was superb....she knows what she's doing!!
Don't miss: snorkeling, happy hour, a day in a cabana, the house ceviche and the coconut shrimp!!

Room Tip: I don't think it matters, the view is lovely but it might be nice to just walk out to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-b C, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I am very pleased to read your appraisal of our team, services and facilities, and I know my colleagues will be equally pleased to know their efforts are making a memorable stay for you. We are glad you like our Hotel setting of place, and our view´s room, we work every day to give our guests a perfect and unique journey, through our services, staff attention, workshops and activities…
Regarding the pet, we will ensure that the regulations of pet´s friendly rules are followed.
In relation to the chairs I will check
Looking forward to early
Best regards

Beatriz Tinjero.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Hotel has a relaxed vibe, not too big but with all the amenities of a large resort. Staff takes noticeable pride in their hotel - the grounds are impeccable and housekeeping kept the rooms tidy and clean. Food is above average. Hotel is located a short taxi ride into town ($6-8). Scuba Du located on site. Only recommendation: replace the eurotechno music with latin or regional upbeat music.

Room Tip: Most rooms overlook the ocean and pool/beach area; suggest top floor (4th)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-b C, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you very much for your comment, we are always open to listen the comment from our guest in order to improve our service. We are making a new play list with relaxing music, we made an adjustment in the music during your stay and we are worried that you did not like it, however we know that the rest of our service were as your expectations like the place and decoration. We would like to have the opportunity for welcome you will back with another music.

Beatriz Tinajero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New England, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Only reluctant because we want to be sure there's a vacancy next time we go. So maybe I should hedge a little. But that wouldn't be fair or honest. In short, this is a place designed to maximize your level of relaxation and pleasure.

We were a little skeptical about the lack of a natural sand beach (the sand was brought in here), but the visuals online and reviews were tempting. Every guest we spoke to had the same experience--they found Hotel B online, took a chance based on the reviews, and loved it.

While it was not my first time in Cozumel, it was my first time on the north side of the island, close to town. Not a drawback! Short drive or taxi ride to town; we rented a car and went to the more deserted and rife-with-even-more-natural-wonder-and-beauty side as we wished.

The front of the hotel, as you approach from the road, is not especially impressive. Once you pass through to the side facing the ocean, everything changes. Not to say the lobby, with its art, comfy couches, wifi, cafe tables feeding onto a large patio with fabulous view is not bad. Open and airy is the theme at Hotel B; modern, very designed and laid-back. The place was apparently totally rehabbed two years ago, so it's fresh and newish.

So, the ocean side is lovely. By the hotel proper, the open-air bistro serves food on large, white square dishes, etc., for the fusiony-nouvelle feel, though the food itself ranges from accessible and familiar to most people onto the exotic (vegan chiviche, amazing). The service was prompt, extremely friendly and good-natured. The folks there really seem to care.

Beyond the bistro, there are levels of a sandy area, replete with four-poster outdoor lounging beds, vivid red Adirondack chairs and chaise lounges. Hotel staff circulate discreetly, taking your food and drink orders. A few steps away, you can climb into the dazzling blue Caribbean by ladder (on the side of a large dock) or dive into the sea, which was definitely deep enough for a dive without fear. To the right, is what I call a lagoon, or natural entrance to a shallow bit of sea, which the designers added features to make it easier to walk into without contact with rough stone or coral. From there, you can swim, snorkel or scuba at will.

Yes, plentiful sea life right there by the hotel. No, it lacks scuba-diving waiters holding trays of drinks above the water. Maybe they can work on that? ;)

A large infinity pool lies center stage to all of this, surrounded by sleek, modern lounges. It never seemed overcrowded, and the water is comfortable (we were there in Feb) and again, a nearly new pool. There is an outdoor bar nearby, and often a grill where dishes are whipped up quickly.
Music that never annoys or makes you gag from the cuteness/sweetness wafts out, one speaker in a false stone enclosure near the large hot tub found atop a crest of lava and coral overlooking the sea. Very lovely at night, the stars above and the expanse of sea below, stretching out for miles.

The room was fine and modern, with all the basics and no problems. Not dazzlingly beautiful rooms, but clean, simple, comfortable with a large sliding glass door facing the sea, and with two large, comfortable chairs.

People seemed content to stay in the ocean area for large chunks of the day. If you want to decompress, recharge your batteries, indulge yourself without breaking the bank, Hotel B is highly recommended. No place is perfect, so those who post reviews expecting perfection from any resort are just being ridiculous. But far superior is Hotel B to all-inclusives; it's not crowded, it's not full of loud or rude people. Quiet, relaxed, convenient and efficient design. We can't wait to go back. A beautiful spot.

We do recommend seeing the rest of the island while you're there, but a great home base.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a balcony room (not on the first floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-b C, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you very much for your comment, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the B and has appreciated many details and effort of our team. Our goal is to create unique experiences and always remember to give the best service to our guests.
looking forward to have you home again in the future.
Have a great day


Beatriz Tinajero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We arrived in the afternoon at the time where check in was allowed, rooms were not available so we went to the hotel restaurant for lunch....two and a half hours later the room was still not available. No one offered a complimentary coffee or any attention. Towels for the beach were also not available as they were either dirty or used by other guests. Our rooms were never made before 6pm. The music by the pool which all rooms terraces give to was supposed to be turned off by early evening but they kept it until 11am when we called reception to complain. Service very poor and unfriendly. Rooms mediocre with a space for a fridge but no fridge, shower wall cracked. Doors of rooms face the street so can hear the traffic at night. The only good thing was the food of the restaurant and the little beach.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-b C, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear guest,
Many thanks for your feedback. We are always open and interested in listening to our guests' comments in order to improve our service.
As a serious company focused on offering a unique experience, Hotel B's team would like to apologize for not accomplishing our goal during your stay. We already held a meeting with out team to go through each one of your comments to make sure that they do not repeat with you or other guest. We are already fixing the shower and are about to receive the ordered new bath and pool towels that will guarantee no more shortages when the hotel is at its full capacity (which was the case during your visit). We are putting in place a questionnaire so that people can comment on the type of music and volume preferred in the areas so that we can please all or most of our guests in that sense.
These lines are not enough to transmit that we really care about your experience. We hope that you give us the opportunity to receive you again in the future to make sure your experience os hotel B is complete an unique.
We are pleased to know you enjoyed our food. We added some new special plates which have been very well received by our guests.
Thanks for your feedback and have a good weekend.
Hotel B Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Can not say enough about how amazing the staff is at Hotel B. Christian, Cezar, Raphael, Willy, stood our in particular. They were always there with a smile and helpful suggestions. Making our dinner reservations, negotiating cab fares, recommending restaurants, and providing us with an endless supply of poolside libations. This was a mother/daughter vacation from heaven. Yes the beds were hard but actually we found them to be very comfortable. My back did not hurt while I was there and now I think a hard bed is probably better than the soft mattress I have at home.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-b C, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
dear guest
greatly appreciate the time you took to write this review and we are very pleased to hear how much you enjoy our facilities, team B will be very happy to know that their efforts are making a memorable stay for you .
Regarding t to the beach club, guests always come first so gladly we aside chairs for our guests I hope that on your next visit can highlight this service.
again thanks for your comments is because of you that we can improve every day as a boutique hotel and offer unique experiences
have a great day
sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We go to Cozumel twice a year for over 20 years now. My husband has had his eye on Hotel B for awhile. I just got back from staying at Hotel B. What a Wonderful find. The rooms were really nice and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The view from my balcony was awesome, probably one of the best on the island. The North end is very quite. I enjoyed my stay so much I am returning in late April. Can't wait.
JLW

Room Tip: I like the rooms with double beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-b C, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you very much for your comment, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the B and has appreciated many details and effort of our team. Our goal is to create unique experiences and always remember to give the best service to our guests.
looking forward to have you home again in the future.
Have a great day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel B Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel B Cozumel

Address: Carretera Playa San Juan Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive Resort)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel B Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel B Cozumel has an original and avant-garde offer for travelers in search of new experiences,It combines the natural beauty of the Caribbean with a cool concept of space.The hotel is a fusion of contemporary design and Mexican treditions with a creative touch of young talents. Hotel B Cozumel invites you to ladge in the most privileged plce of Cozumel-5 mintutes away from downtown, the airportand the golf course, in a quiet and exclusive area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel B Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel B Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.