We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, reluctantly sharing our review...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel B Cozumel

Save Saved
You added Hotel B Cozumel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel B Cozumel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Playa San Juan Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #16 of 58 hotels in Cozumel
Northern New England, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Okay, reluctantly sharing our review...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Only reluctant because we want to be sure there's a vacancy next time we go. So maybe I should hedge a little. But that wouldn't be fair or honest. In short, this is a place designed to maximize your level of relaxation and pleasure.

We were a little skeptical about the lack of a natural sand beach (the sand was brought in here), but the visuals online and reviews were tempting. Every guest we spoke to had the same experience--they found Hotel B online, took a chance based on the reviews, and loved it.

While it was not my first time in Cozumel, it was my first time on the north side of the island, close to town. Not a drawback! Short drive or taxi ride to town; we rented a car and went to the more deserted and rife-with-even-more-natural-wonder-and-beauty side as we wished.

The front of the hotel, as you approach from the road, is not especially impressive. Once you pass through to the side facing the ocean, everything changes. Not to say the lobby, with its art, comfy couches, wifi, cafe tables feeding onto a large patio with fabulous view is not bad. Open and airy is the theme at Hotel B; modern, very designed and laid-back. The place was apparently totally rehabbed two years ago, so it's fresh and newish.

So, the ocean side is lovely. By the hotel proper, the open-air bistro serves food on large, white square dishes, etc., for the fusiony-nouvelle feel, though the food itself ranges from accessible and familiar to most people onto the exotic (vegan chiviche, amazing). The service was prompt, extremely friendly and good-natured. The folks there really seem to care.

Beyond the bistro, there are levels of a sandy area, replete with four-poster outdoor lounging beds, vivid red Adirondack chairs and chaise lounges. Hotel staff circulate discreetly, taking your food and drink orders. A few steps away, you can climb into the dazzling blue Caribbean by ladder (on the side of a large dock) or dive into the sea, which was definitely deep enough for a dive without fear. To the right, is what I call a lagoon, or natural entrance to a shallow bit of sea, which the designers added features to make it easier to walk into without contact with rough stone or coral. From there, you can swim, snorkel or scuba at will.

Yes, plentiful sea life right there by the hotel. No, it lacks scuba-diving waiters holding trays of drinks above the water. Maybe they can work on that? ;)

A large infinity pool lies center stage to all of this, surrounded by sleek, modern lounges. It never seemed overcrowded, and the water is comfortable (we were there in Feb) and again, a nearly new pool. There is an outdoor bar nearby, and often a grill where dishes are whipped up quickly.
Music that never annoys or makes you gag from the cuteness/sweetness wafts out, one speaker in a false stone enclosure near the large hot tub found atop a crest of lava and coral overlooking the sea. Very lovely at night, the stars above and the expanse of sea below, stretching out for miles.

The room was fine and modern, with all the basics and no problems. Not dazzlingly beautiful rooms, but clean, simple, comfortable with a large sliding glass door facing the sea, and with two large, comfortable chairs.

People seemed content to stay in the ocean area for large chunks of the day. If you want to decompress, recharge your batteries, indulge yourself without breaking the bank, Hotel B is highly recommended. No place is perfect, so those who post reviews expecting perfection from any resort are just being ridiculous. But far superior is Hotel B to all-inclusives; it's not crowded, it's not full of loud or rude people. Quiet, relaxed, convenient and efficient design. We can't wait to go back. A beautiful spot.

We do recommend seeing the rest of the island while you're there, but a great home base.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a balcony room (not on the first floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-b C, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you very much for your comment, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the B and has appreciated many details and effort of our team. Our goal is to create unique experiences and always remember to give the best service to our guests.
looking forward to have you home again in the future.
Have a great day


Beatriz Tinajero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    81
    24
    13
    14
See reviews for
36
160
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We arrived in the afternoon at the time where check in was allowed, rooms were not available so we went to the hotel restaurant for lunch....two and a half hours later the room was still not available. No one offered a complimentary coffee or any attention. Towels for the beach were also not available as they were either dirty or used by other guests. Our rooms were never made before 6pm. The music by the pool which all rooms terraces give to was supposed to be turned off by early evening but they kept it until 11am when we called reception to complain. Service very poor and unfriendly. Rooms mediocre with a space for a fridge but no fridge, shower wall cracked. Doors of rooms face the street so can hear the traffic at night. The only good thing was the food of the restaurant and the little beach.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-b C, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear guest,
Many thanks for your feedback. We are always open and interested in listening to our guests' comments in order to improve our service.
As a serious company focused on offering a unique experience, Hotel B's team would like to apologize for not accomplishing our goal during your stay. We already held a meeting with out team to go through each one of your comments to make sure that they do not repeat with you or other guest. We are already fixing the shower and are about to receive the ordered new bath and pool towels that will guarantee no more shortages when the hotel is at its full capacity (which was the case during your visit). We are putting in place a questionnaire so that people can comment on the type of music and volume preferred in the areas so that we can please all or most of our guests in that sense.
These lines are not enough to transmit that we really care about your experience. We hope that you give us the opportunity to receive you again in the future to make sure your experience os hotel B is complete an unique.
We are pleased to know you enjoyed our food. We added some new special plates which have been very well received by our guests.
Thanks for your feedback and have a good weekend.
Hotel B Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Can not say enough about how amazing the staff is at Hotel B. Christian, Cezar, Raphael, Willy, stood our in particular. They were always there with a smile and helpful suggestions. Making our dinner reservations, negotiating cab fares, recommending restaurants, and providing us with an endless supply of poolside libations. This was a mother/daughter vacation from heaven. Yes the beds were hard but actually we found them to be very comfortable. My back did not hurt while I was there and now I think a hard bed is probably better than the soft mattress I have at home.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-b C, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
dear guest
greatly appreciate the time you took to write this review and we are very pleased to hear how much you enjoy our facilities, team B will be very happy to know that their efforts are making a memorable stay for you .
Regarding t to the beach club, guests always come first so gladly we aside chairs for our guests I hope that on your next visit can highlight this service.
again thanks for your comments is because of you that we can improve every day as a boutique hotel and offer unique experiences
have a great day
sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We go to Cozumel twice a year for over 20 years now. My husband has had his eye on Hotel B for awhile. I just got back from staying at Hotel B. What a Wonderful find. The rooms were really nice and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The view from my balcony was awesome, probably one of the best on the island. The North end is very quite. I enjoyed my stay so much I am returning in late April. Can't wait.
JLW

Room Tip: I like the rooms with double beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-b C, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you very much for your comment, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the B and has appreciated many details and effort of our team. Our goal is to create unique experiences and always remember to give the best service to our guests.
looking forward to have you home again in the future.
Have a great day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I enjoyed my short stay at this hotel. The hotel is located in the north not far from downtown area.

* Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful
* Excellent room with spacious balcony (Fantastic and unobstructive views of the sea)
* Infinity pool
* Hot tub
* Plenty of room to relax on the grounds
* Hotel is located along the water
- Dock for boat trips
- No beach but can enter water to swim/snorkel and take advantage of other water sports.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-b C, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you very much for your comment, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the B and has appreciated many details and effort of our team. Our goal is to create unique experiences and always remember to give the best service to our guests.
looking forward to have you home again in the future.
Have a great day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We enjoyed the hotel but not so much Cozumel itself. Too touristy and the cruise ships that come in daily make it even worse. The hotel is fairly quiet and small. The rooms were nice (bed a bit hard though) and having a balcony is great, although the afternoon sun can be hot (all are west facing). The staff were attentive and very helpful. We didn't enjoy how other guests would leave towels first thing in the morning on a pool chair or bali bed to claim it. I understand this is common practice, just not one we've seen in the smaller places we usually stay in Mexico. The hotel was a bit further out of town that I expected based on other reviews that said people walked in for dinner. We took cabs and it's only 60 pesos to downtown. Snorkeling in front of the hotel was great although a few days the current was very strong (headed north). We just climbed out at a condo down the beach and walked back. No fridge in the room, which would have been nice for snacks, but the prices were reasonable so we just ordered from the restaurant and had drinks from the bar (2 for 1 happy hour 5-7pm daily). Our tab was about $350 for these after 8 days and included was an $80 dinner one night. The restaurant was very good, amazing grouper in black butter. I highly recommend the hotel if you are looking for a beach get away and just want to hang out and read and snorkel, but if you are looking to feel like you are in Mexico skip Cozumel all together.

Room Tip: We enjoyed being on the second floor with a balcony but fewer stairs. First floor has patio with di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-b C, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I am very pleased to read your appraisal of our team, services and facilities, and I know my colleagues will be equally pleased to know their efforts are making a memorable stay for you.
we are glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy our new menu created especially to your palate and your senses.

Hope you can come back soon
Best regards from Cozumel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

You want to avoid big crowds, this 44 rooms boutique hotel is for you. Service is friendly, good and personal. Pool and Jacuzzi are really nice and clean, rooms are also clean spacious but the only draw side is that they have no fridge. Free Wifi working good considering its Mexico. If you are a party animal this place is NOT for you pool bar closes at 7PM and hotel bar and restaurant close at 10PM. Food is good but a little pricy for what you get but you always have the option to eat in town...6$ taxi from centro (downtown Cozumel) Great for divers, small dive shop on site to book your dives or courses talk to ALDO he will take good care of you! Scuba Du boat will pick you up in the morning for a 2 dives trip and bring you back daily...THIS IS NOT ALL INCLUSIVE! So if you are on a budget be advised...4$ to 10$ for drinks it adds up fast...That being said this is definitely my new home in Cozumel and on my next dive trip to Cozumel this is where we will stay again!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-b C, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
We are glad you like our Hotel setting of place, and our view´s room, we work every day to give our guests a perfect and unique journey, through our services, staff attention, workshops and activities… Most importantly, it is great to hear that our staff was friendly and accommodating. Your satisfaction is the main payback of our daily work. I will share your comment with B´s team!, About your suggestion we already take care about it.
we´ll be glad to include you and offer you many benefits for your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel B Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel B Cozumel

Address: Carretera Playa San Juan Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel B Cozumel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel B Cozumel has an original and avant-garde offer for travelers in search of new experiences,It combines the natural beauty of the Caribbean with a cool concept of space.The hotel is a fusion of contemporary design and Mexican treditions with a creative touch of young talents. Hotel B Cozumel invites you to ladge in the most privileged plce of Cozumel-5 mintutes away from downtown, the airportand the golf course, in a quiet and exclusive area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Otel so you can book your Hotel B Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel B Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.