We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deceiving” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel B Cozumel

Save Saved
You added Hotel B Cozumel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel B Cozumel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Playa San Juan Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #16 of 58 hotels in Cozumel
Paris
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Deceiving”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We arrived in the afternoon at the time where check in was allowed, rooms were not available so we went to the hotel restaurant for lunch....two and a half hours later the room was still not available. No one offered a complimentary coffee or any attention. Towels for the beach were also not available as they were either dirty or used by other guests. Our rooms were never made before 6pm. The music by the pool which all rooms terraces give to was supposed to be turned off by early evening but they kept it until 11am when we called reception to complain. Service very poor and unfriendly. Rooms mediocre with a space for a fridge but no fridge, shower wall cracked. Doors of rooms face the street so can hear the traffic at night. The only good thing was the food of the restaurant and the little beach.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-b C, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear guest,
Many thanks for your feedback. We are always open and interested in listening to our guests' comments in order to improve our service.
As a serious company focused on offering a unique experience, Hotel B's team would like to apologize for not accomplishing our goal during your stay. We already held a meeting with out team to go through each one of your comments to make sure that they do not repeat with you or other guest. We are already fixing the shower and are about to receive the ordered new bath and pool towels that will guarantee no more shortages when the hotel is at its full capacity (which was the case during your visit). We are putting in place a questionnaire so that people can comment on the type of music and volume preferred in the areas so that we can please all or most of our guests in that sense.
These lines are not enough to transmit that we really care about your experience. We hope that you give us the opportunity to receive you again in the future to make sure your experience os hotel B is complete an unique.
We are pleased to know you enjoyed our food. We added some new special plates which have been very well received by our guests.
Thanks for your feedback and have a good weekend.
Hotel B Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    81
    24
    13
    14
See reviews for
36
161
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Can not say enough about how amazing the staff is at Hotel B. Christian, Cezar, Raphael, Willy, stood our in particular. They were always there with a smile and helpful suggestions. Making our dinner reservations, negotiating cab fares, recommending restaurants, and providing us with an endless supply of poolside libations. This was a mother/daughter vacation from heaven. Yes the beds were hard but actually we found them to be very comfortable. My back did not hurt while I was there and now I think a hard bed is probably better than the soft mattress I have at home.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-b C, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
dear guest
greatly appreciate the time you took to write this review and we are very pleased to hear how much you enjoy our facilities, team B will be very happy to know that their efforts are making a memorable stay for you .
Regarding t to the beach club, guests always come first so gladly we aside chairs for our guests I hope that on your next visit can highlight this service.
again thanks for your comments is because of you that we can improve every day as a boutique hotel and offer unique experiences
have a great day
sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We go to Cozumel twice a year for over 20 years now. My husband has had his eye on Hotel B for awhile. I just got back from staying at Hotel B. What a Wonderful find. The rooms were really nice and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The view from my balcony was awesome, probably one of the best on the island. The North end is very quite. I enjoyed my stay so much I am returning in late April. Can't wait.
JLW

Room Tip: I like the rooms with double beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-b C, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you very much for your comment, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the B and has appreciated many details and effort of our team. Our goal is to create unique experiences and always remember to give the best service to our guests.
looking forward to have you home again in the future.
Have a great day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I enjoyed my short stay at this hotel. The hotel is located in the north not far from downtown area.

* Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful
* Excellent room with spacious balcony (Fantastic and unobstructive views of the sea)
* Infinity pool
* Hot tub
* Plenty of room to relax on the grounds
* Hotel is located along the water
- Dock for boat trips
- No beach but can enter water to swim/snorkel and take advantage of other water sports.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-b C, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you very much for your comment, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the B and has appreciated many details and effort of our team. Our goal is to create unique experiences and always remember to give the best service to our guests.
looking forward to have you home again in the future.
Have a great day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We enjoyed the hotel but not so much Cozumel itself. Too touristy and the cruise ships that come in daily make it even worse. The hotel is fairly quiet and small. The rooms were nice (bed a bit hard though) and having a balcony is great, although the afternoon sun can be hot (all are west facing). The staff were attentive and very helpful. We didn't enjoy how other guests would leave towels first thing in the morning on a pool chair or bali bed to claim it. I understand this is common practice, just not one we've seen in the smaller places we usually stay in Mexico. The hotel was a bit further out of town that I expected based on other reviews that said people walked in for dinner. We took cabs and it's only 60 pesos to downtown. Snorkeling in front of the hotel was great although a few days the current was very strong (headed north). We just climbed out at a condo down the beach and walked back. No fridge in the room, which would have been nice for snacks, but the prices were reasonable so we just ordered from the restaurant and had drinks from the bar (2 for 1 happy hour 5-7pm daily). Our tab was about $350 for these after 8 days and included was an $80 dinner one night. The restaurant was very good, amazing grouper in black butter. I highly recommend the hotel if you are looking for a beach get away and just want to hang out and read and snorkel, but if you are looking to feel like you are in Mexico skip Cozumel all together.

Room Tip: We enjoyed being on the second floor with a balcony but fewer stairs. First floor has patio with di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-b C, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I am very pleased to read your appraisal of our team, services and facilities, and I know my colleagues will be equally pleased to know their efforts are making a memorable stay for you.
we are glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy our new menu created especially to your palate and your senses.

Hope you can come back soon
Best regards from Cozumel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

You want to avoid big crowds, this 44 rooms boutique hotel is for you. Service is friendly, good and personal. Pool and Jacuzzi are really nice and clean, rooms are also clean spacious but the only draw side is that they have no fridge. Free Wifi working good considering its Mexico. If you are a party animal this place is NOT for you pool bar closes at 7PM and hotel bar and restaurant close at 10PM. Food is good but a little pricy for what you get but you always have the option to eat in town...6$ taxi from centro (downtown Cozumel) Great for divers, small dive shop on site to book your dives or courses talk to ALDO he will take good care of you! Scuba Du boat will pick you up in the morning for a 2 dives trip and bring you back daily...THIS IS NOT ALL INCLUSIVE! So if you are on a budget be advised...4$ to 10$ for drinks it adds up fast...That being said this is definitely my new home in Cozumel and on my next dive trip to Cozumel this is where we will stay again!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-b C, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
We are glad you like our Hotel setting of place, and our view´s room, we work every day to give our guests a perfect and unique journey, through our services, staff attention, workshops and activities… Most importantly, it is great to hear that our staff was friendly and accommodating. Your satisfaction is the main payback of our daily work. I will share your comment with B´s team!, About your suggestion we already take care about it.
we´ll be glad to include you and offer you many benefits for your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We came for a cozy, romantic getaway but fell in love with this cute boutique hotel, too -- so far, our favorite spot in Cozumel with amazing views, great food, and friendly service (a sample of their house-made agua frescas and ceviche welcomes you when you check in)! The designers really did a phenomenal job of post-hurricane renovations. We had it all within a few feet: steamy jacuzzi overlook, sandy beach with comfortable cabana beds (choose from four poster bed w/pillows & curtains OR adjustable angled bed w/ white leather mattress), curvy lounge chairs, a deep blue pool (that says "Just Be!") with underwater seating, a cliffside deck to jump and dive -- complete with a watersport rental kiosk, a coral reef snorkeling alcove, and a semi-private area just for breezy hammocks or morning yoga with an ocean backdrop.

Deciding on an area to hangout was like picking a favorite flavor at a gelato stand. We had to sample them all, and it seemed everyone else also rotated among the different areas. It was never crowded - and every spot was always the best time and place to "Just Be."

Our room had a 3rd floor deluxe oceanside view, which came with red flower petals on our bed that faced the ocean balcony. The room was decorated with art and accessories from local artisans -- available for purchase (reasonably priced). Room and balcony lounge chairs were comfy, but we had the same effect sitting up in bed looking out into the water. What a wonderful way to fall asleep - with the sound of the ocean waves gently crashing against the rocky cliff. The room had lots of open space and plenty of countertop areas to layout bags, purchased gifts, supplies and snacks. Filtered water was also provided daily in a jar by the sink, and also in dispensers along each stairwell.

Workers were re-painting our balcony facade when we checked in, which we took as comforting that management keeps regular upkeep of the facilities.

Food was delicious -- the included breakfast offered additional Mexican and low-calorie upgrades for a low fee (but the "American" breakfast also includes a few local flavors and was really quite good on its own). Definitely try the house bread (like banana bread) and the jam with whole strawberries. Ceviche was plentiful and reasonably priced. Drinks were low on alcohol but extremely tasty, especially the various mint/basil infusions and sangria. Smoothies are filling, but worth it. Every day, burgers and pizza are also made outside on a grill, to order.

Just a 5 min taxi ride both from the airport (160 pesos) and San Miguel (60 pesos), the hotel also offers daily car rentals for about $50 USD if you'd like to drive and explore attractions on the other side of the island. We would definitely like to come back! We had booked an Orbitz Black Friday special at about 50% off, but the experience is definitely worth it at a higher price. If you're staying elsewhere and curious, a resort day pass is available for $25 USD.

Room Tip: All rooms were "ocean view". Staying on the ground floor meant easy and direct access to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-b C, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you very much for your comment, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the B and has appreciated many details and effort of our team. Our goal is to create unique experiences and always remember to give the best service to our guests.
looking forward to have you home again in the future.
Have a great day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel B Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel B Cozumel

Address: Carretera Playa San Juan Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel B Cozumel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel B Cozumel has an original and avant-garde offer for travelers in search of new experiences,It combines the natural beauty of the Caribbean with a cool concept of space.The hotel is a fusion of contemporary design and Mexican treditions with a creative touch of young talents. Hotel B Cozumel invites you to ladge in the most privileged plce of Cozumel-5 mintutes away from downtown, the airportand the golf course, in a quiet and exclusive area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel B Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel B Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.