We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Trendy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel B Cozumel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel B Cozumel to your Saves list
Hotel B Cozumel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Playa San Juan Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
White Plains, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Trendy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I enjoyed my short stay at this hotel. The hotel is located in the north not far from downtown area.

* Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful
* Excellent room with spacious balcony (Fantastic and unobstructive views of the sea)
* Infinity pool
* Hot tub
* Plenty of room to relax on the grounds
* Hotel is located along the water
- Dock for boat trips
- No beach but can enter water to swim/snorkel and take advantage of other water sports.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-b C, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you very much for your comment, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the B and has appreciated many details and effort of our team. Our goal is to create unique experiences and always remember to give the best service to our guests.
looking forward to have you home again in the future.
Have a great day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    96
    30
    15
    19
See reviews for
43
183
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We enjoyed the hotel but not so much Cozumel itself. Too touristy and the cruise ships that come in daily make it even worse. The hotel is fairly quiet and small. The rooms were nice (bed a bit hard though) and having a balcony is great, although the afternoon sun can be hot (all are west facing). The staff were attentive and very helpful. We didn't enjoy how other guests would leave towels first thing in the morning on a pool chair or bali bed to claim it. I understand this is common practice, just not one we've seen in the smaller places we usually stay in Mexico. The hotel was a bit further out of town that I expected based on other reviews that said people walked in for dinner. We took cabs and it's only 60 pesos to downtown. Snorkeling in front of the hotel was great although a few days the current was very strong (headed north). We just climbed out at a condo down the beach and walked back. No fridge in the room, which would have been nice for snacks, but the prices were reasonable so we just ordered from the restaurant and had drinks from the bar (2 for 1 happy hour 5-7pm daily). Our tab was about $350 for these after 8 days and included was an $80 dinner one night. The restaurant was very good, amazing grouper in black butter. I highly recommend the hotel if you are looking for a beach get away and just want to hang out and read and snorkel, but if you are looking to feel like you are in Mexico skip Cozumel all together.

Room Tip: We enjoyed being on the second floor with a balcony but fewer stairs. First floor has patio with di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-b C, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I am very pleased to read your appraisal of our team, services and facilities, and I know my colleagues will be equally pleased to know their efforts are making a memorable stay for you.
we are glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy our new menu created especially to your palate and your senses.

Hope you can come back soon
Best regards from Cozumel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

You want to avoid big crowds, this 44 rooms boutique hotel is for you. Service is friendly, good and personal. Pool and Jacuzzi are really nice and clean, rooms are also clean spacious but the only draw side is that they have no fridge. Free Wifi working good considering its Mexico. If you are a party animal this place is NOT for you pool bar closes at 7PM and hotel bar and restaurant close at 10PM. Food is good but a little pricy for what you get but you always have the option to eat in town...6$ taxi from centro (downtown Cozumel) Great for divers, small dive shop on site to book your dives or courses talk to ALDO he will take good care of you! Scuba Du boat will pick you up in the morning for a 2 dives trip and bring you back daily...THIS IS NOT ALL INCLUSIVE! So if you are on a budget be advised...4$ to 10$ for drinks it adds up fast...That being said this is definitely my new home in Cozumel and on my next dive trip to Cozumel this is where we will stay again!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-b C, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
We are glad you like our Hotel setting of place, and our view´s room, we work every day to give our guests a perfect and unique journey, through our services, staff attention, workshops and activities… Most importantly, it is great to hear that our staff was friendly and accommodating. Your satisfaction is the main payback of our daily work. I will share your comment with B´s team!, About your suggestion we already take care about it.
we´ll be glad to include you and offer you many benefits for your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We came for a cozy, romantic getaway but fell in love with this cute boutique hotel, too -- so far, our favorite spot in Cozumel with amazing views, great food, and friendly service (a sample of their house-made agua frescas and ceviche welcomes you when you check in)! The designers really did a phenomenal job of post-hurricane renovations. We had it all within a few feet: steamy jacuzzi overlook, sandy beach with comfortable cabana beds (choose from four poster bed w/pillows & curtains OR adjustable angled bed w/ white leather mattress), curvy lounge chairs, a deep blue pool (that says "Just Be!") with underwater seating, a cliffside deck to jump and dive -- complete with a watersport rental kiosk, a coral reef snorkeling alcove, and a semi-private area just for breezy hammocks or morning yoga with an ocean backdrop.

Deciding on an area to hangout was like picking a favorite flavor at a gelato stand. We had to sample them all, and it seemed everyone else also rotated among the different areas. It was never crowded - and every spot was always the best time and place to "Just Be."

Our room had a 3rd floor deluxe oceanside view, which came with red flower petals on our bed that faced the ocean balcony. The room was decorated with art and accessories from local artisans -- available for purchase (reasonably priced). Room and balcony lounge chairs were comfy, but we had the same effect sitting up in bed looking out into the water. What a wonderful way to fall asleep - with the sound of the ocean waves gently crashing against the rocky cliff. The room had lots of open space and plenty of countertop areas to layout bags, purchased gifts, supplies and snacks. Filtered water was also provided daily in a jar by the sink, and also in dispensers along each stairwell.

Workers were re-painting our balcony facade when we checked in, which we took as comforting that management keeps regular upkeep of the facilities.

Food was delicious -- the included breakfast offered additional Mexican and low-calorie upgrades for a low fee (but the "American" breakfast also includes a few local flavors and was really quite good on its own). Definitely try the house bread (like banana bread) and the jam with whole strawberries. Ceviche was plentiful and reasonably priced. Drinks were low on alcohol but extremely tasty, especially the various mint/basil infusions and sangria. Smoothies are filling, but worth it. Every day, burgers and pizza are also made outside on a grill, to order.

Just a 5 min taxi ride both from the airport (160 pesos) and San Miguel (60 pesos), the hotel also offers daily car rentals for about $50 USD if you'd like to drive and explore attractions on the other side of the island. We would definitely like to come back! We had booked an Orbitz Black Friday special at about 50% off, but the experience is definitely worth it at a higher price. If you're staying elsewhere and curious, a resort day pass is available for $25 USD.

Room Tip: All rooms were "ocean view". Staying on the ground floor meant easy and direct access to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-b C, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you very much for your comment, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the B and has appreciated many details and effort of our team. Our goal is to create unique experiences and always remember to give the best service to our guests.
looking forward to have you home again in the future.
Have a great day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We just returned home from a very nice stay at Hotel B. It is a small hotel so it is never crowed anywhere on the property. The employees are all very nice and helpful.
The pictures say it all.
The property is maintained very well, The pool and restaurant area are keep very clean, as is the entire hotel. The rooms was small but we were never in it. The air conditioner cooled the room but it was really loud. The problems with the hotel were very very minor compared to all the pluses.
There is a snorkel/scuba hut on the property. The snorkel rental is $12 U.S per day (8-4)
You just walk into the water and snorkel-very easy and convenient
Breakfast and lunch is fine at the hotel. We ate dinner there the 1st night and then took a cab into town for the remainder of our visit.
We liked this hotel because it was convenient to downtown but very quiet. Definitely not a party place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-b C, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I am very pleased to read your appraisal of our team, services and facilities, and I know my colleagues will be equally pleased to know their efforts are making a memorable stay for you. We are glad you like our Hotel setting of place, and our view´s room, we work every day to give our guests a perfect and unique journey, through our services, staff attention, workshops and activities…

We are glad that you have a great experience, hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton,Mi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

While visiting the island in April of 2013, we decided to check out some of the hotels on the north end of the island. Hotel B kept catching our eye, with its modern appearance. So we stopped in for a tour and immediately fell in love. The Dallas Cowboy cheerleaders were hanging out at the pool while we were touring the grounds too, which was neat.

We booked online and our check-in was hassle free. After a brief description of the hotel, Christian and Kinga at the front desk had us on our way to the room. Our room choice, Ocean View Deluxe with complimentary breakfasts. The room was laid out well, with a balcony, King sized bed, small sitting area, safe, and a good sized bathroom with a separate sink. The view off the balcony was beautiful. Perfect view of the gorgeous ocean front pool and jacuzzi, and of course Cozumel’s sunsets.

We love the layout of this hotel. Hotel B is a small, 44/45 room boutique hotel with a European feel. Well kept grounds, an infinity pool, cool Acapulco chairs, daybeds and a jacuzzi built into a rocky bluff. (So gorgeous.) Even the restaurant has an ocean view.

We settled in to the laid back style of the resort rather quickly. First a leisurely breakfast, then an enjoyable day at the pool and some snorkeling in front of the resort. We found service at the resort always attentive and personable, and within the first few days, were on a first name basis with most of the staff.

Daily yoga happens every morning under the ocean front covered deck/palapa. It’s beautiful. A small Spa is on site and my SO scheduled a full body message with Eva, whom she highly recommends.

We love how intimate this resort is. It’s easy to unwind without the hassle of "the pool chair game" or any other "wacky pool games.” Just a generally chill vibe that puts you into vacation mode from day one. They play some chill house music and other nice beachy music also. We’ve already booked our flight for this coming October and are booking our second stay at Hotel B as soon as we post this review.

The staff here is incredibly helpful and personable. Talk to Christian if you need a rental car. His recommendation was spot on. Their restaurant and nightlife recommendations were great as well. We got to fall in love with some new spots.

Special thanks to all that made our vacation a memorable one: Christian, Kinga and Eduardo (??) at the front desk, Roberto the Food and Beverage Manager, Talia the Chef, Osmar, Miguel, Sugei, Jose, Marco, Concepcion (found us before leaving to give us our phone charger that we had left int he room), and all the other staff we had the pleasure of meeting. Sorry if we forgot anyone. Thank you!, and we’ll see you in October!

Room Tip: All but two rooms are ocean view, just pick a floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-b C, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I am very pleased to read your appraisal of our team, services and facilities, and I know my colleagues will be equally pleased to know their efforts are making a memorable stay for you.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you at this you home in Cozumel island.

Cordially,

Beatriz Tinajero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

The staff at Hotel B (especially at the front desk) made our stay really enjoyable. The hotel is wonderful, with snorkeling right in front of the hotel. A good place to practice snorkeling or diving before going out into the open ocean. They have a hot tub perched upon a rock cliff looking over the sea. The ceviche was the best that we had on the island.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-b C, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
We really apreciated every single word you wrote on your comment, thank you very much for coming and hopefully we can have you back very soon and share together this little piece of heaven.

Warmest regards,



Beatriz Tinajero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel B Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel B Cozumel

Address: Carretera Playa San Juan Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive Resort)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel B Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel B Cozumel has an original and avant-garde offer for travelers in search of new experiences,It combines the natural beauty of the Caribbean with a cool concept of space.The hotel is a fusion of contemporary design and Mexican treditions with a creative touch of young talents. Hotel B Cozumel invites you to ladge in the most privileged plce of Cozumel-5 mintutes away from downtown, the airportand the golf course, in a quiet and exclusive area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel B Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel B Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.