We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique among Cozumel Hotels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel B Cozumel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel B Cozumel to your Saves list
Hotel B Cozumel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Playa San Juan Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Unique among Cozumel Hotels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Some hotels are unique and can't be compared to others. We've just returned from our third stay at Hotel B Cozumel and will certainly return, for its uniqueness as well as its comforts.. The few negative reviews seen here dismayed me because these reviewers obviously expected a different hotel. hotel B is probably not for families and may not be for honeymooners and people who are accustomed to megaresorts. This is an intimate hotel, where snorkeling and lounging and yoga and eating are the only entertainments, where the staff often learn your names, and the owner is on the premises interacting with guests. . Yes, it's a remodeled hotel originally built in the '70s and there may be housekeeping glitches, but the staff earnestly responds to them. You can't beat the expansive, blue Caribbean views, and good snorkeling is right off the rocks. The restaurant is truly excellent, featuring many original dishes; the included American breakfast is substantial. It's not surprising that many of the guests are Europeans and Latin Americans, who tend to seek out hotels like this. I urge you to give this charming little hotel a chance. We would go for the snorkeling alone...all the rest is a bonus.

Room Tip: The higher floors have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    96
    30
    15
    19
See reviews for
43
184
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carbondale, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights and it was perfect! It is a smaller, more intimate hotel without the insanity of the more touristy hotels that push tons of high-priced activities on you. It was quiet and relaxing. Every room has a balcony that opens up to a beautiful ocean view. Everything is close. In just a few minutes you can be in the restaurant or in the hot tub or in the pool or in the ocean or getting a massage. The staff was extremely friendly and attentive. We also never felt pressured into buying or doing anything. We would recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: Ground floor has direct access to the pool area but the view isn't as good as floors 2-4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

My fiancé and I stayed at Hotel B for 8 nights a week ago. We LOVED (understatement) Hotel B. The grounds are immaculately well kept and the rooms are as well. They cleaned non stop the whole time we were there, I mean EVERYTHING was cleaned. (We love seeing clean hotels!) The rooms were spacious and well decorated. The touch of local art is really great, local artists deserve much more credit then they normally receive. The pool and hot tub built into the rocks, overlooking the crystal blue water was wonderful. We spent numerous evenings getting to know travelers at sunset there. The snorkeling (go towards to the Coral Princess) was some of the healthiest reef systems I have seen in my island travels. The little inlet right in front of the pool has great creatures. Fish and rays everywhere! The food at Hotel B was GREAT. I was so skeptical at first when I read prior reviews but we both did not order one dish that we did not love. (I have no idea how the previous reviews for food were so bad.) I will write other reviews for the restaurants we went to when not at Hotel B. I had a 90 minute massage and it was good. A little different then what I am used to but definitely not bad. The music they play in the common areas, is trendy/lounge music, I personally love hearing that 24-7 but understand if others don't.

I highly recommend this hotel and well will 100% be coming back.

One last thing, bring bug spray!!! After sunset they come out in full force. We had to go in town and get spray, it helped greatly after that...

Room Tip: Every room is a good room! They all face the water. We paid extra for Ocean Deluxe and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

This small boutique hotel was beautiful in every way....
From Christian at the front desk to Miguel in the dining room.... The staff was attentive, friendly and truly seemed to enjoy the jobs.

Location is perfect, 10 minute ride from the airport ( but you never heard planes while at the hotel), an easy 20 minute walk into town .... The hotel is on the north end of the hotel zone FAR away from the cruise ships and crowds.

Very peaceful & awesome sunsets!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We checked in to a room on the east side and it just sucked. 2 double bad beds, view of nothing, this is clearly the cheapskate sketchy room but the great news is the upgrade is only like $15-$20 i think ? What a night/day difference. No Brainer - These rooms are amazing. The facility is as promised and surprisingly pretty boutique at this price ! My wife and i loved our time. The best staff, great food, awesome happy hour hot tub time where all the strangers meet. I booked my diving thru the resort with scooby du and picked up right at dock. The price was a few buxs more then i priced out from local op's in town but the service and pick/up/drop right at hotel was worth a few bucks. Rented a moped threw the hotel for the best deal on island. The drive around the island is a must and plan to spend a day or 2 on that side. Truthfully id like to stay a few days on the remote side. That's the beach vibe. We lost hot water a couple times but didnt bother us as much as some.
Really if you can find a deal on-line for this hotel like we did, its a great spot.

Room Tip: ocean side or bust.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We loved hotel B. My four year old had a blast in the pool. There was a huge area where he could stand and play. It was a quiet place, very tranquil atmosphere. The views couldn't have been more beautiful. Delicious food, great service. I went to the Yoga every morning on the deck. Wonderful. Good value. All of the staff knew us and our room number by day 2. Attentive and so sweet with my little boy. We will visit this hotel again. Christian at the front desk and Rafael and Mario in the restaurant. Really everyone was wonderful.

Room Tip: Anything facing the ocean. We liked the upper floors but there is not an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We booked Hotel B in Cozumel for just one night on the back of a work trip. As we were booking only a week before we travelled, we used a hotel scraper without too much research and paid very little for the room.

Coming from the luxury resort in Cancun where we had been working, and given the price we had paid, we had pretty low expectations, but Hotel B blew us away. It was clean and quiet and in a fantastic location, with an infinity edge pool hanging over the sea. Having enjoyed sunset from the pool, we then settled into the beach-front hammocks for a couple of drinks from the bar before heading into town. The watermelon mojito was delicious, and the hammocks really comfy, and we kept telling each other how jammy we were to have fallen so firmly on our feet.

Our twin room on the second floor was very clean and a good size, with patio doors out on to a reasonably sized balcony. All the rooms at Hotel B look out over the sea, which is a real bonus.

In the morning we enjoyed a 90-minute yoga class on the beach front before tucking into good portions of mexican eggs. We hadn't realised when we'd been invited to join the class that the cost was extra, but it was such a lovely way to start the day we didn't mind at all. After breakfast we hired snorkels and flippers from the onsite dive school, and jumped straight out into the sea. The hotel is positioned right on the edge of the rocky shore over a coral reef, so you can snorkel along the coastline admiring the fish. It was absolutely fantastic, and we were very sorry we had only booked for one night.

Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel B Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel B Cozumel

Address: Carretera Playa San Juan Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive Resort)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel B Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel B Cozumel has an original and avant-garde offer for travelers in search of new experiences,It combines the natural beauty of the Caribbean with a cool concept of space.The hotel is a fusion of contemporary design and Mexican treditions with a creative touch of young talents. Hotel B Cozumel invites you to ladge in the most privileged plce of Cozumel-5 mintutes away from downtown, the airportand the golf course, in a quiet and exclusive area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel B Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel B Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.