We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel B Cozumel

Save Saved
You added Hotel B Cozumel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel B Cozumel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Playa San Juan Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #14 of 56 hotels in Cozumel
Columbus, OH
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Impressive Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My wife and I visit Cozumel regularly and stayed at this property many times when it was Hotel Fontan. We left Hotel B amazed at the changes since our last stay at this property. It has improved in every way imaginable and is now one of the best hotels on Cozumel.

The outdoor space at Hotel B is simply amazing. They have done a wonderful job creating a relaxing and peaceful atmosphere. Service at the hotel is solid. Everyone was very professional. Not overbearing, but always eager to please. Food at the restaurant exceeded our expectations and service was prompt and attentive. Drinks were reasonably priced.

Rooms are simple yet comfortable. They have been spruced up since our last stay and the showers are greatly improved with excellent water pressure and plenty of hot water. The safe in our room (Room 305) was broken. We asked for it to be repaired, but it never was looked at to my knowledge...my only minor complaint of our stay. The rooms need screen doors on the balconies. With all of the tropical bugs in Cozumel, you cant sleep with the balcony door open to feel the breeze and hear the waves crashing without screens on the patio doors.

The guests at Hotel B are an eclectic bunch. Guests from various nations around the world. They definitely market to Mexican Nationals and guests from outside of North America. I enjoyed the other guests of the hotel. A more sophisticated crowd than you would find at most Cozumel hotels and AI's.

Overall, we had a very nice stay at Hotel B. We generally prefer to stay in condos when we visit Cozumel, but I look forward to another stay at Hotel B. If it continues to improve as much as it has the past couple of years...rooms may be hard to come by.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    82
    25
    13
    16
See reviews for
40
166
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My partner and I just returned from Cozumel...we stayed at the HOTEL B and were very pleased with the accommodation and the staff...Roberto, Kinga and Rafael made our stay perfect...they are so very pleasant and gave us very good advice on where to go while there. This time of year is PERFECT for vacationing there...no tourist...no line to get in anywhere...the town was practically ours alone to explore...VERY SAFE and VERY BEAUTIFUL !!!!

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong with any room...they all have different décor...but all have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a week at the beginning of October 2013 and loved it! We had stayed at all-inclusives on a bunch of other trips and were ready for a bit of a change. We had a deluxe ocean view room and the room set up was great. The views were amazing. The service and food at the restaurant were wonderful. We only had breakfast and lunch at the hotel and both were very good. I would say that they could improve their pool service as the waiters rarely came around and asked if we wanted drinks. But, it's not like the bar was super far away, so it really wasn't that big of a deal to get your own drinks unless you are super lazy. The wi-fi in the rooms was great. If you use it on your phone, it will go out if you leave your phone idle and you will have to log back in. But, it wasn't that much of an inconvenience. We weren't using it often enough for it to be an issue. We had a great experience and would definitely come back and recommend to friends!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I returned to Cozumel for our ten year anniversary. We spent our honeymoon there and wanted to come back. I took a chance on Hotel B because it looked fantastic but you never know until you're there. Showed my husband the pool and on the bottom it said "Just Be." ok, now I get it. The hotel we had stayed in before was being renovated so that was out. Well, what a pleasant surprise. It was as it looked and better. Beautiful setting, our room was directly behind the infinity pool and the view was incredible. We sat out there for hours just to take it in. The service was awesome, so nice and accommodating, everyone. Always asking what you needed. Funny and great to chat with. Food was good, breakfast always started with a huge plate of fruit. The water was so beautiful and you can snorkel or dive right from their deck. If...or when we return, we will go back.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for deluxe ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The location of Hotel B is great. It is to the north of the town and right on the edge. The hotel is nicely designed and decorated, and the pool terrace area is the hotels best feature, everything else is just lacking!

Most of the waiters seemed very friendly but sometimes they would just stand around and you would have to try and catch their attention to get served. The food is lacking and on the expensive side for what you get. A burger is $160 pesos and is one of the worst burgers we had during our stay in cozumel.

I think Hotel B is great as a location to stay and sleep, but don't waste your money on food or beverages here....there are far better places to eat and drink!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Second time at Hotel B and it keeps getting better. The Jacuzzi by the sea is one of a kind, we enjoyed breath taking sunsets with excellent food, drinks and an amazing service by the hotel staff. They have about 44 rooms of which 41 have an ocean view with a nice terrace. They probably have the best option in Cozumel for breakfast. I would suggest that they install speakers in the pool area to enjoy the lounge playlists the have all day long in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Great choice for a romantic weekend, the hipster place of Cozumel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBCozumel, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We are glad you like our Hotel setting of place, and our view´s room, we work every day to give our guests a perfect and unique journey, through our services, staff attention, workshops and activities… Most importantly, it is great to hear that our staff was friendly and accommodating. Your satisfaction is the main payback of our daily work. I will share your comment with B´s team!, About your suggestion we already take care about it.
Looking forward to have you here on your third time please ask for our loyalty program we´ll be glad to include you and offer you many benefits.

Cordially
Beatriz Tinajero
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent 3 days in Hotel B during our honeymoon. The hotel is amazing, the pool view is right into the ocean. We were able to do great snorkelin right of the dock. We used their cabanas at no cost, and the food at the restaurant was REALLY good. They have really good breakfast as well. The room was clean, all of them are ocean view. Bed was very comfy and service was really good!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBCozumel, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I am very pleased to read your appraisal of our team, services and facilities, and I know my colleagues will be equally pleased to know their efforts are making a memorable stay for you.
we are glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy our new menu created especially to delight your palate and your senses.

Hope you can come back soon
Best regards from Cozumel
Beatriz Tinajero
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel B Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel B Cozumel

Address: Carretera Playa San Juan Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel B Cozumel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel B Cozumel has an original and avant-garde offer for travelers in search of new experiences,It combines the natural beauty of the Caribbean with a cool concept of space.The hotel is a fusion of contemporary design and Mexican treditions with a creative touch of young talents. Hotel B Cozumel invites you to ladge in the most privileged plce of Cozumel-5 mintutes away from downtown, the airportand the golf course, in a quiet and exclusive area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel B Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel B Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.