We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location great...service & food lacking!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel B Cozumel

Save Saved
You added Hotel B Cozumel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel B Cozumel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Playa San Juan Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #16 of 58 hotels in Cozumel
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Location great...service & food lacking!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The location of Hotel B is great. It is to the north of the town and right on the edge. The hotel is nicely designed and decorated, and the pool terrace area is the hotels best feature, everything else is just lacking!

Most of the waiters seemed very friendly but sometimes they would just stand around and you would have to try and catch their attention to get served. The food is lacking and on the expensive side for what you get. A burger is $160 pesos and is one of the worst burgers we had during our stay in cozumel.

I think Hotel B is great as a location to stay and sleep, but don't waste your money on food or beverages here....there are far better places to eat and drink!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    81
    24
    13
    14
See reviews for
36
160
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Second time at Hotel B and it keeps getting better. The Jacuzzi by the sea is one of a kind, we enjoyed breath taking sunsets with excellent food, drinks and an amazing service by the hotel staff. They have about 44 rooms of which 41 have an ocean view with a nice terrace. They probably have the best option in Cozumel for breakfast. I would suggest that they install speakers in the pool area to enjoy the lounge playlists the have all day long in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Great choice for a romantic weekend, the hipster place of Cozumel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBCozumel, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We are glad you like our Hotel setting of place, and our view´s room, we work every day to give our guests a perfect and unique journey, through our services, staff attention, workshops and activities… Most importantly, it is great to hear that our staff was friendly and accommodating. Your satisfaction is the main payback of our daily work. I will share your comment with B´s team!, About your suggestion we already take care about it.
Looking forward to have you here on your third time please ask for our loyalty program we´ll be glad to include you and offer you many benefits.

Cordially
Beatriz Tinajero
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent 3 days in Hotel B during our honeymoon. The hotel is amazing, the pool view is right into the ocean. We were able to do great snorkelin right of the dock. We used their cabanas at no cost, and the food at the restaurant was REALLY good. They have really good breakfast as well. The room was clean, all of them are ocean view. Bed was very comfy and service was really good!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBCozumel, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I am very pleased to read your appraisal of our team, services and facilities, and I know my colleagues will be equally pleased to know their efforts are making a memorable stay for you.
we are glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy our new menu created especially to delight your palate and your senses.

Hope you can come back soon
Best regards from Cozumel
Beatriz Tinajero
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Well its fine hotel, great view nice crew and everything but there is s lot of things which are desapointing.
Such as: no hot water during the day, i know its very wierd and they are very cheep with the towels never more than two!!
The bar has good prices.
There is no diffrences between the rooms dont take pool view everything has a pool view!!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBCozumel, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear guest
thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment , Hotel B Cozumel works every day to improve and listen is the best way to do this, we are pleased that you like our sight and service staff we are quite sure they will feel pleased to hear that, however I apologize for not achieve your expectations at 100%Regarding the hot water unfortunately had a failure with the pump fortunately could fix it on time, About the towel the policy is to give 2 towels per room, but of course if you need more there are available on request. In relation to the rooms Each of the 45 rooms of our boutique hotel in Cozumel has its own artistic flair, creating a variety of environments and experiences that are worth discovering in every visit and we have different categories such as Jungle View, Ocean View and Ocean View Deluxe.
We look forward to the opportunity to serve again and change your perspective sincerely believe that we can always improve and offer memorable experiences.
Regards
Beatriz Tinajero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel made our trip to Cozumel so much fun! We stayed during Sep. 2013, the weather wasn't so great... BUT the hotel staff was so nice and the service was wonderful so we didn't mind staying there when it was raining. Restaurant is excellent! highly recommended. Cesar from the front desk was so helpful and nice, helped us with renting a car, finding activities when it rained and even upgraded us to a room with a better view for the honeymoon :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with ocean view, it's beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBCozumel, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Glad to hear that you had a great time with us at Hotel B we strive to make your trip a memorable experience, thank you for letting us be part of this important event as your honeymoon we expect to have you back soon, the staff will be really motivated by comments expressing.
you have a great day

Beatriz Tinajero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Wow one of the best relaxation spots on the island. Would recommend to friends.. Staff is happy and you can tell in the attitude and attention, that they put your plates on the table, and also when taking away the plates.. They must have a very nice boss,, it shows in their behavior and attention they pay towards you.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBCozumel, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the B and has appreciated many details and effort of our team. Our goal is to create unique experiences and always remember to give the best service to our guests.
looking forward to have you home again in the future.
Have a great day

Beatriz Tinajero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpls
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

After an amazing week at Blue Angel we came here. We had a ground floor room by the pool and it looked beautiful! And romantic. It was very quiet due to off season and thats why we got a good rate $111 per night. We went to the hottub for happy hour and we had the place to ourselves. We ordered drinks and the waiter asked when we would like our second one. We said in a half hour. There were 2 waiters at the far end talking as we finished our drinks. We tried flagging them down. An hour later we were still waving at them trying to get their attention. Needless to say, we received our second half of our two for one as happy hour ended. I know its low season but that doesn't mean it should be low effort. We ate dinner there that night and it was pricey but decent. Some of the waiters are really nice and try hard especially Jose. The next morning we get to breakfast at 715am and the waiters are just putting on their aprons. The lights were off. They were supposed to open at 7! We were told it would be much quicker if they prepared a box lunch so we took that. It was a ham and cheese sandwich, an apple and water. Then we caught a taxi to blue angel to dive. At hotel B they charge $89 a dive plus you pay $60 for a private divemaster if there aren't 4 people diving. It was worth it to take a taxi and Blue angel gave us a discount because we dove with them the week before. Later that day we bought beer and my boyfriend drank one by the pool. We had asked for a fridge and they said they would work on it. The waiter pointed to a sign that said no outside food or beverages. Thats why they don't provide fridges! We decided to not spend any more money at the hotel. Then we were told there was a problem with our reservation. I didn't click on 2 people when I made the reservation so they wanted to charge us $45 a night extra! I went online and checked and came up with the same $111 for two people when I tried to make another reservation. Their answer? We have no control over the internet. We argued with them about this for the next two days. Finally they agreed to let my boyfriend stay "free" for the last two nights. They said it was impossible to reverse the credit card charges for the first three nights. Like I was born yesterday. Clearly they don't try to cultivate repeat customers. Just B? Just don't!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBCozumel, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We really appreciate your feedback through trip advisor. Listening to our guests is our best way to continue improving, reinforcing what you like and working on your observations.

We are gland you like our rooms and the view we try to care theThe perfect harmony of beauty, design and relax.
As for the restaurant service. We apologize for the inconveniences and would like to let you know that we are working hard to improve the services. We are sure that on your next visit you will find an important difference that will make you enjoy your stay completely. in relation to the mini fridge the recommendation to save energy is not to have it in every room , but of course we can provide you one on your next visit as request.
we would like to give us the opportunity to enhance your stay,

we will continue to improve our service, to offer you the perfection.
Thank you again, your comment will really help all the staff to give the best of themselves.
Beatriz Tinajero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel B Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel B Cozumel

Address: Carretera Playa San Juan Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel B Cozumel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel B Cozumel has an original and avant-garde offer for travelers in search of new experiences,It combines the natural beauty of the Caribbean with a cool concept of space.The hotel is a fusion of contemporary design and Mexican treditions with a creative touch of young talents. Hotel B Cozumel invites you to ladge in the most privileged plce of Cozumel-5 mintutes away from downtown, the airportand the golf course, in a quiet and exclusive area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel B Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel B Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.