We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service , staff is amazing..always smiling” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel B Cozumel

Save Saved
You added Hotel B Cozumel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel B Cozumel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Playa San Juan Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 57 hotels in Cozumel
1 review
“Excellent service , staff is amazing..always smiling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Wow one of the best relaxation spots on the island. Would recommend to friends.. Staff is happy and you can tell in the attitude and attention, that they put your plates on the table, and also when taking away the plates.. They must have a very nice boss,, it shows in their behavior and attention they pay towards you.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBCozumel, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the B and has appreciated many details and effort of our team. Our goal is to create unique experiences and always remember to give the best service to our guests.
looking forward to have you home again in the future.
Have a great day

Beatriz Tinajero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    71
    22
    7
    14
See reviews for
30
145
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mpls
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

After an amazing week at Blue Angel we came here. We had a ground floor room by the pool and it looked beautiful! And romantic. It was very quiet due to off season and thats why we got a good rate $111 per night. We went to the hottub for happy hour and we had the place to ourselves. We ordered drinks and the waiter asked when we would like our second one. We said in a half hour. There were 2 waiters at the far end talking as we finished our drinks. We tried flagging them down. An hour later we were still waving at them trying to get their attention. Needless to say, we received our second half of our two for one as happy hour ended. I know its low season but that doesn't mean it should be low effort. We ate dinner there that night and it was pricey but decent. Some of the waiters are really nice and try hard especially Jose. The next morning we get to breakfast at 715am and the waiters are just putting on their aprons. The lights were off. They were supposed to open at 7! We were told it would be much quicker if they prepared a box lunch so we took that. It was a ham and cheese sandwich, an apple and water. Then we caught a taxi to blue angel to dive. At hotel B they charge $89 a dive plus you pay $60 for a private divemaster if there aren't 4 people diving. It was worth it to take a taxi and Blue angel gave us a discount because we dove with them the week before. Later that day we bought beer and my boyfriend drank one by the pool. We had asked for a fridge and they said they would work on it. The waiter pointed to a sign that said no outside food or beverages. Thats why they don't provide fridges! We decided to not spend any more money at the hotel. Then we were told there was a problem with our reservation. I didn't click on 2 people when I made the reservation so they wanted to charge us $45 a night extra! I went online and checked and came up with the same $111 for two people when I tried to make another reservation. Their answer? We have no control over the internet. We argued with them about this for the next two days. Finally they agreed to let my boyfriend stay "free" for the last two nights. They said it was impossible to reverse the credit card charges for the first three nights. Like I was born yesterday. Clearly they don't try to cultivate repeat customers. Just B? Just don't!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBCozumel, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We really appreciate your feedback through trip advisor. Listening to our guests is our best way to continue improving, reinforcing what you like and working on your observations.

We are gland you like our rooms and the view we try to care theThe perfect harmony of beauty, design and relax.
As for the restaurant service. We apologize for the inconveniences and would like to let you know that we are working hard to improve the services. We are sure that on your next visit you will find an important difference that will make you enjoy your stay completely. in relation to the mini fridge the recommendation to save energy is not to have it in every room , but of course we can provide you one on your next visit as request.
we would like to give us the opportunity to enhance your stay,

we will continue to improve our service, to offer you the perfection.
Thank you again, your comment will really help all the staff to give the best of themselves.
Beatriz Tinajero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costa mesa, ca
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I really wanted to love this property, but the service was so bad. The location is beautiful - right on the water with a nice (but small) pool and a small grotto facing the ocean. But the location couldn't make up for the rude service. Also, their Wi-Fi doesnt work in the rooms and only rarely works in the lobby. If you need access to the internet for any reason, stay elsewhere.

Pros:
Location - infinity pool and beautiful jacuzzi extending into the ocean
Small, artificial "beach" is artfully designed
Lobby is clean and comfortable

Cons:
-Rude staff - rarely acknowledged guests
-No WiFi in the rooms (the front desk pretends like there is WiFi in the rooms, but after working with them for over an hour, rebooting routers and computers, nothing)
-Bathroom smelled like something had died in the drain
-They advertise a dive shop, which is actually just a deserted shack. So if you are a diver, dont expect any type of dive support
-As mentioned in many reviews- they do open up the pool to non-guests, guaranteeing that the pool will always be crowded.
-no minibar or fridge
-very loud A/C unit

This hotel is beautiful on the outside, but really not worth it.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms above the bar/restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBCozumel, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We really appreciate your feedback through trip advisor. Listening to our guests is our best way to continue improving, reinforcing what you like and working on your observations.

We are glad you like our Hotel view, making the perfect place to give an unique experience is one of our goals every day.

Regarding the Internet we already have the solution and as it might see in comments following the internet is running perfectly
We take the customer service really serious , We really apologize for your negative experience, it would be our pleasure to receive you again in the future and have the opportunity of changing your perception of our service.

Many thanks again for your comments, they really make us improve as an Hotel Boutique,


We hope you have a great Day


Beatriz Tinajero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

I was worried about this place because of the last reviews but it turned out to be a great place, very friendly people, great service, amazing view! Will come back anytime!!!
Two things:
1. The standard room is located in the fourth floor, take that into consideration when you order.
2. The hotel sells packages for 200$ for a day for outsiders to use the pool and jacuzzi which mean it's crowded during the day.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBCozumel, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear guest
greatly appreciate the time you took to write this review and we are very pleased to hear how much you enjoy our facilities, team B will be very happy to know that their efforts are making a memorable stay for you .
Regarding t to the beach club, guests always come first so gladly we aside chairs for our guests I hope that on your next visit can highlight this service.
again thanks for your comments is because of you that we can improve every day as a boutique hotel and offer unique experiences
have a great day
sincerely
Beatriz Tinajero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

First time to stay at Hotel B and was impressed with beautiful view, pool, grounds and service. The maintenance and housekeeping was great with quick response to requests, such as extra towels. We did not like the water in open pitchers in the rooms as they seemed to attract bugs. Refills for the water was provided for in the hallways in spigoted containers. We asked for and did get bottled water one day. We would recommend that they provide bottled water to everyone. Wifi worked great everywhere despite warnings it might only work in the lobby. The snorkeling right off the property is fantastic and you can view many beautiful sea life. Only complaint would be the beach club that tends to monopolize the poo/spa/chair areas on weekends and the music was very loud. Breakfasts that came with the room were attractive, plentiful and delicious.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBCozumel, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear guest
greatly appreciate the time you took to write this review and we are very pleased to hear how much you enjoy our facilities, team B will be very happy to know that their efforts are making a memorable stay for you .
Regarding t to the beach club, guests always come first so gladly we aside chairs for our guests I hope that on your next visit can highlight this service.
again thanks for your comments is because of you that we can improve every day as a boutique hotel and offer unique experiences
have a great day
sincerely
Beatriz Tinajero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, IL
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I have never visited a vacation hotel more than once a year until I found Hotel B. It is an absolute paradise! We stayed in room 107 which was 3rd from the far end of the building away from the restaurant and reception side of the building. For those who commented on bad internet reception, all I can say is you can’t get a room much farther away and I downloaded a 90 minute movie in less than 8 minutes. I never have internet connection issues anywhere on the property. I would say I accessed my e-mails at least 15 times per day from 6 a.m. to 11 p.m.

The staff was always professional and attentive. The new manager Ajax greeted guests during breakfast and in the afternoon by the pool. He always wanted to make sure you had everything you needed. It is clear to see that under his management the strong service levels will continue. Of note, Ceasar, Segei, Henry, Jose, and Javier were all very attentive. For those North Americans who say it took a long time to get their breakfast checks, just ask when they bring your entrée. It is customary that you ask, they don’t normally just drop the check. This should not be interpreted as a sign of poor service.

The snorkeling off the property is amazing. I will post some pictures. It has tons to look at and I even saw a stingray! There are easy to use stairs and a ladder behind the hot tub. I generally snorkeled at least 2 times each day. You can check out pool towels at the front desk each day and they are very large and very thick!

Happy hour is fun from 5-7 and the food was very good. I had shrimp tacos that were outstanding.

If I had any negatives it would be that they allow pets. This trip there was a very well behaved dog that was not a problem when their owner was present. The issue happened when they left the dog behind and went to town for dinner. The dog would not stop barking for 2 hours from about 8-10. That was disturbing. Also as others have noted, a room refrigerator would be great.
The last two nights of our trip we made plans to eat downtown, but after watching the sunset at the hotel and sharing a glass of wine we stayed and ate at the hotel. It was like our own personal resort (because there were so few people).

This is really a great property with caring people. I can’t wait to visit them again in December!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBCozumel, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I am very pleased to read your appraisal of our team, services and facilities, and I know my colleagues will be equally pleased to know their efforts are making a memorable stay for you. We are glad you like our Hotel setting of place, and our view´s room, we work every day to give our guests a perfect and unique journey, through our services, staff attention, workshops and activities…
Regarding the pet, we will ensure that the regulations of pet´s friendly rules are followed.
In relation to the mini fridge the recommendation to save energy is not to have it in every room , but of course we can provide you one on your next visit as request,
Looking forward to have you in December
Best regards
Beatriz Tinjero.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Pros-
great pool /
beautiful views /
on north end of island away from all crazy downtown area


Cons:
-- Morning coffee luke warm every day
--Wifi was terrible, even after changing rooms
-- towels worn out & thin
--Tried to up charge us $40 per day for decorations in the room that were non existent
--A $45 miscellaneous charge was attempted on check out for soiling the bed which was false & after taking the manager to the room to prove the charge she saw it was made up & false

Have stayed in 8 different hotels in Cozumel Will NEVER stay at or recommend this hotel. To many other good & honest hotels close by.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBCozumel, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hello,
I would like to thank you very much for having let your opinion on Tripadvisor.
We are glad to have received you at B, and glad to know that you enjoyed the view and the relaxing time on our pool area .
On the other hand, we are very unhappy to know about the situations that affected your experience in a negative way. Taking care and generating good and unique experiences of every guest that comes into B is our most important goal. I apologize for not achieving it with you. I already identified what went wrong during your stay so that it does not repeat in the future, making sure that every guest receives a fantastic service and everything they need to enjoy their stay.
I would want to share a few words about your observations and our measures to confront them. Regarding the Internet service, we should have much better signal strength by next month. We changed the company looking for a better service that we have not received and by the end of this month, that our contract finishes, we are changing again with a company that other colleges have confirmed works very well.
In relation to the upgrade fee, the real reason is that your were changed to a better room category that includes decoration among other things (view and balcony, flat screen, amenities, etc..). We will make sure that we give the complete explanation for future upgrades.
In relation to the mattress, this is a very sensitive issue that I understand and apologize for not managing it immediately and the right way. We already had a meeting to make sure that all our staff knows and follows our procedures in case we have special events, looking always to take care of our customers.
We would like to give us the opportunity to enhance a futur stay. We do listen carefully to your recommendations and we are great in offering special moments. We would love to offer your one in the future.
All the best,
General Management
Hotel B Cozumel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel B Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel B Cozumel

Also Known As:
Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive
Address: Carretera Playa San Juan Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel B Cozumel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel B Cozumel has an original and avant-garde offer for travelers in search of new experiences,It combines the natural beauty of the Caribbean with a cool concept of space.The hotel is a fusion of contemporary design and Mexican treditions with a creative touch of young talents. Hotel B Cozumel invites you to ladge in the most privileged plce of Cozumel-5 mintutes away from downtown, the airportand the golf course, in a quiet and exclusive area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel B Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel B Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.