We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and Relaxing Ocean View!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel B Cozumel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Hotels.com
and 11 more sites!
Hotel B Cozumel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Playa San Juan Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 57 hotels in Cozumel
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful and Relaxing Ocean View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I just came back from a one week stay at this awesome hotel. It was a great place to relax, enjoy great food and amazing view. The rooms are very comfortable and offer an amazing view. I was re-energized every morning by just looking at the ocean right from my bed! The staff are extremely friendly and always making sure you have everything you need... and they will even call you by your name, making you feel at home! :-) They have the best ceviche ever, you have to try them and do not miss out in trying their energetic drinks. I had tried a few different options of the energetic drinks that are made of fruit and vegetables... yummy and healthy. Now, the fun part... you can choose from relaxing by a great pool which is right down by the ocean, or go right into the warm ocean water. You can rent your goggles/mask right at the hotel and go out snorkeling in front of the hotel... you will be amazed with the life that exists under the water right in front of the hotel, great fish and I even saw a stingray twice. :-) I also had a little surprise and saw dolphins just passing in front of the hotel one day, what a treat. Anyways, if you are in Cozumel, go to Hotel B and you will be very pleased with it!!!! And finally do not miss out in checking out the work of local artisans in the hotel's reception area and doing the yoga they offer every morning.

Dayanne Leal

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    71
    21
    7
    14
See reviews for
30
144
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

The view was awesome. The snorkeling was good. The breakfast and the service was terrible. The rooms were small but the beautiful view of the sunrise every morning made up for it. Cozumel does not compare to Isla Mujeres

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBCozumel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor.
It is great to hear that you liked the breathtaking view and the snorkeling, which are among the trademarks of Cozumel (plus diving, and the nice beaches).
Your feedback is also relevant for us to learn about your observations and continue improving. After reviewing your reservation, we realized that you stayed at our smallest jungle view rooms. 41 or our 45 of our rooms are ocean view, very spacious, with nice private balconies and spacious bathrooms. And 2 of our jungle view rooms are a smaller. I invite you to stay with us again in an oceanview room to enjoy the experience at its 100%! You will miss the beautiful sunrise but will enjoy the amazing sunset which is just stunning.
We really hope to see you soon at Hotel B Cozumel.
Best regards,
Beatriz Tinajero.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This small (45 rooms) boutique hotel is on the west shore just north of San Miguel. It is tastefully restful with a beautiful pool area that includes a small cove filled with sea creatures. Jump off the dock and you can snorkel amongst a large variety of fish and coral. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast and lunches and snacks at the pool bar are delicious; however, dinners were not up to expectations.

Room Tip: definitely choose a room with ocean view--that's why you are here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBCozumel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Hello dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor, we are really glad to read that you enjoyed de tranquility of our areas, and that you explored our natural bay, which, as you say, is like a small aquarium ideal for snorkeling and watching beautiful fish and sea creatures. Just by the hotel is also interesting for diving, and later at night different creatures go out (such as octopus and calamari).
I am glad you liked the breakfast and lunch, and we will work on your recommendations for dinner. We are actually introducing a new menu next month for our 2 year anniversary with amazing dinner platters (and romantic dinner tastings)
Most importantly, it is great to hear that our staff was friendly and accommodating. Your satisfaction is the main payback of our daily work. I will share your comment with B´s team!
Thank you very much; you would be happy to receive you back soon.
Have a great day and..just B!
Beatriz
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We chose this as a bit of a bargain hotel as our main stay was going to be in Playa del Carmen. However we were very impressed still by everything this hotel had to offer. There are plenty of beautiful areas outside to sit facing the bright blue ocean. They have several sunbathing chairs laid out in different areas, some on a small pier, some near the jacuzzi, some under an awning, some around the pool. The property is not huge compared to others, but it had plenty to offer.

Food was decent, no complaints at all about it, but don't expect a 5 star meal. They have a spicy habanero sauce that is tasty and actually spicy though. Came with free American breakfast which was great: eggs, bacon, toast, fruit, etc.

We found the hotel staff to be very friendly and helpful with whatever we asked. They helped us arrange taxi's, scooters, and whatever else we liked.

Rooms were setup efficiently and a/c worked well despite us not being able to figure out some of the more advanced features. Bathrooms were clean and well maintained. Headboard on the bed (which doubles as a long desk/table on the back) had come loose a bit from the bed, but it wasn't a huge issue. We had a nice balcony with a couple of chairs overlooking the pool and the ocean beyond which was perfect to wake up to each morning.

There is an onsite scuba/snorkeling rental shop that you can get equipment and lessons from. They do not have a beach, but there is a ladder down to the water which you can use to go directly into the ocean.

Location-wise it is north of the city center and airport. With a scooter it was a very quick and convenient ride to get into the city. Recommend this as just a couple of taxi rides will more than pay for a rental on a scooter which you can take all over the island at your leisure. We were able to scooter around the entire island with stops in a single day easily.

I'm always most reactive to staff quality and that is what I remember the most. They were always friendly, smiling, and eager to help with whatever you need. Would definitely come here again next time at Cozumel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBCozumel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your rich comment. We are very glad you enjoyed your time at Hotel B and I am sure your details will be very helpful for future guests.
We work every day to give our guests a perfect and unique journey, through our services, and installations but first of all through the staff attention… At the end of the day, this is what makes a stay be remarkable and we work every day to listen to our guest comments and recommendations to suit their needs.
Great to hear that you enjoyed moving around the island in a scooter. The sun, the oceanviews of Cozumel roads and the climate make the trip very enjoyable and we always recommend to visit the virgin beaches on the other side of the island. We hope you also tried our bikes that we lend for a while or rent for the whole day (also a great deal!)
We are really happy to read that you enjoyed the cleanness and the installations of our areas.
Thank you for all, your feedback is really interesting for our hotel development and for future guests needing to know about us before coming! We will be happy to receive you back soon.
Have a great day and..just B!
Beatriz
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

It has taken a few months for me to write this review as I have been in the middle of negotiations with my bank because this hotel managed to over charge us by £110. The whole thing has been a devesating experience and I would strongly advise everyone not to use this hotel.

We stayed over new year, they told us they had staffing issues while we were there which lead to us waiting over 2 1/2 hours for breakfast. The organisation was extremely poor and people ended up shouting across the breakfast room at staff, it was a horrible experience. The rooms were clean and pleasant but I ended up getting very ill after only eating at the hotel. They were not interested when I told them this, in fact they were rude.

We complained to the management and they agreed that they would only charge us for 2 nights from the three we stayed. When we came to check out there was no record of this and the manager was not there.

They agreed that they would email us once the manager had come back and they could confirm the reduction. When we got home instead of the 2 nights they promised or the three nights we stayed they actually charged us for four nights. When we emailed to try to resolve the complaint they ignored our numerous emails.

We have finally got the "fake" 4th night refunded but by the bank not them. This has been a horrible experience.

The hotel itself was fine, with some nice touches but for what it was it was very overpriced. There are an abundence of nice hotels nearer to the centre and I would look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Nearly every room has a beautiful sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBCozumel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear guest,
Many thanks for your feedback. We are always open to listen to our guests comments to improve our service.
As a serious company focused on offering a unique experience, I want to apologize for not accomplishing our goal during your stay. Being transparent with you, we did have some service and efficiency problems with our past food and beverages leading staff. Fortunately, the source of the problem was identified and we have worked on it since. We have a new leading team since February and we have worked hard on capacity building. Our guests now enjoy Costeñito Bistro and it is, right now, one of the reasons that make people visit the hotel (without taking credits from the view, the atmosphere and the staff that are frequently quoted as the best of the hotel).
As for the incorrect charge, I will make sure that we identify your case. That is something extraordinary that I must say, has not happened before. But it is still important for us to review it and make sure it does not happen ever again.
I would ask you to give us an opportunity to visit us again. I am sure you would have a totally different experience: relaxing and unique. Please let me know if you decide to come in order to receive your personally,
Best regards,
Beatriz
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was our fifth time to Cozumel. We make a point of always staying someplace different, because we like experiencing new places. However, I would stay at Hotel B again. With one very minor exception that had to do with an employee, the staff was outstanding. Roberto was an excellent conversationalist, and we did the Tequila tasting with him. Very unique. Christian, at the front desk, made sure our room was to our liking. The view is absolutely stunning. We snorkeled right off the little lagoon and saw some fish (and even a gray spotted eel) that we have never seen offshore snorkeling. Very clean! Even if we don't stay there again, I would like to go back and spend the day just hanging out at the pool/hot tub/ lagoon/bar....and..well, the whole place. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBCozumel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your comment. We are very glad you enjoyed your time at Hotel B.
We work every day to give our guests a perfect and unique journey, through our services, staff attention, workshops and activities… It is great to see that Christian, Roberto and other staff members made your stay more enjoyable. And even more that you tried the Tequila tasting. Next time, hopefully you can try the ceviche or photography workshop!
Great to hear that you saw a spotted eagle ray. They actually come every year (from December to March aprox) in large groups and just some feet away from the hotel is the best spot to see them. It is one of the best dives in Cozumel! There is one good reason to come back next year an visit us. We would love to see you back.
Best regards,
Beatriz
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is a very pretty and clean hotel outside of the center. it's plain but in a good way. painted in white and turquoise color. we were there for a weekend and there were only few hotel guests. apparently you can pay as an outside guest and spend the day at the hotel, using the pool and all other amenities. the view is just fantastic and worth getting a room with a view. there are different spots to get a tan; hammocs, beds, beachchairs and chairs. breakfast wasn't included in the price and the quality was less than average. the nachos were soaked from the salsa, the eggs didn't have any flavor and there is much better fruit in Mexico.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBCozumel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hello,
I would like to thank you very much for having let your opinion on Tripadvisor.
We are glad to have received you in our hotel and it is good to know your enjoyed your days, the view and the different corners to enjoy the hotel and nature.
As for the outside guests, we welcome people to participate in our yoga classes, our ceviche, tequila and other workshops, to listen to our live music and if interested, they can spend part of the day. We have limited the number of people that can come in to guarantee the relaxing atmosphere we want for our guests, who are what matters the most for us.
As for the breakfast, I will check on the restaurant to consider your observations and make the adjustments. We generally get good reviews of the food and breakfast, so we will see what happened. Our chilaquiles should be made at the moment so that you the right crunchiness and flavor!
Our team is working hard every day to listen to your feedback and have the perfect spot for a great weekend or week escape.
Thank you again, your comment is really helpful and we hope to see you back with us.
All the best,
Beatriz Tinajero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel B Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel B Cozumel

Also Known As:
Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive
Address: Carretera Playa San Juan Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel B Cozumel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel B Cozumel has an original and avant-garde offer for travelers in search of new experiences,It combines the natural beauty of the Caribbean with a cool concept of space.The hotel is a fusion of contemporary design and Mexican treditions with a creative touch of young talents. Hotel B Cozumel invites you to ladge in the most privileged plce of Cozumel-5 mintutes away from downtown, the airportand the golf course, in a quiet and exclusive area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel B Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel B Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel B Cozumel to your Saves list