We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel B Cozumel

Save Saved
You added Hotel B Cozumel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel B Cozumel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Playa San Juan Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #16 of 58 hotels in Cozumel
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The location is perfect, very close to downtown, and a short ride from the airport. The staff is incredibly friendly and accommodating. Food is good! The hotels grounds are breathtaking, the sun sets were marvelous! Every evening we sat in the hot tub and watched the sunset. We stayed in a room that opened to the pool area and that made our stay 100 times better! Choose a room directly in front of the pool (if available), it is the best way to go! Also, get a massage if you have time (I had Teresa, and she is very skilled at what she does).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBCozumel, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We want to thank you for taking the time to write such a great review and to share your experience with others. We appreciate your feedback as well; we' ll work on your suggestions to make sure you like the place even more on your next visit.

Reviews like yours really help us to keep doing our job with passion and give more relevance to the daily work of our staff members.

Many thanks again. it will be our pleasure to receive you again in the future.

We hope you have a great Day


General Manager
Beatriz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    81
    24
    13
    14
See reviews for
36
160
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We just returned from a 5 day stay at Hotel B in Cozumel and only have great things to say. The views are amazing and the staff is friendly. The restaurant is good. You can arrange dive trips where you are picked up from the hotel dock by the Scuba Du diving outfit and it is very convenient.

Room Tip: Ocean View is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed for one week with a dive package (2 dives / day).

HOTEL
We really enjoyed the hotel. The rooms are smart, modern and spacious. Good bathroom facilities and lot's of space for storage and cloth. Every room has ocean view, and we enjoyed sitting at our big balcony watching the sunset in the evenings. The hotel is a good size, not to big, and in a quiet part of the island.

The pool area is great, and the staff takes orders and serves you drinks and food while you're in the water which we thought is really fun and good service.

All staff was very friendly, helpful, and greets you with a smile every time. Our luggage was lost in transfer on the way to Mexico and the reception staff (Christian and Cesar) made an effort trying to help us get it back, which we appreciated.

A tip to the hotel restaurant would be to keep serving good and simple Mexican food in the evenings and not only for lunch. We didn't appreciated the evening food and thought the fancy style felt a bit fake.

DIVING
Was much better than what we had hoped for. Beautiful coral landscapes and good amount of fish. (We have dived Red Sea, Sippadan, Malaysia, Thailand, Philippines, Indonesia)

We where only annoyed about a few things concerning the diving logistics. There isn't enough time in the morning to eat the included hotel breakfast in the morning if you're diving. Breakfast starts at 7 and the diving pick up is at 7.20. Breakfast is a la carte, so we where usually served our meal at 7.15. There is a possibility to get a take away "lunch box", but this food isn't as good as the ordinary breakfast. We also thought it's a shame we had a new dive instructor everyday, even though we specifically asked to stay with the same guide (Michelle). Having this said all the guides we had (Michelle, Giovanni...) were really good, it just makes things easier if you stick with a guide who knows you.

CONCLUSION
Overall we enjoyed and would recommend it to anybody, I don't think there would be a better place for us in Cozumel to spend our holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBCozumel, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We want to thank you for taking the time to write such a great review and to share your experience with others. We appreciate your feedback as well; we' ll work on your suggestions to make sure you like the place even more on your next visit.

Reviews like yours really help us to keep doing our job with passion and give more relevance to the daily work of our staff members.

Many thanks again. it will be our pleasure to receive you again in the future.

We hope you have a great Day


General Manager
Beatriz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asbury Park, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We love this hotel, staff are amazingly friendly, it's clean, comfortable and serene. Excellent value for money, the amenities, view and pool is great. It's not a great big resort and feels local. We would stay here anytime we come. Pool area did get a bit busy on the weekend but not enough to make any difference. Love love love our time here

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Visited for 1 week and really enjoyed this hotell. The rooms are spacious with a fantastic view of the ocean and the pools, the balcony is a nice place to watch the sunset from.
In front of the hotell are several places to spend the day: Big sofa-beds, poolside chairs, the jacuzzi, hamocks and hanging chairs or the restaurant.
We bought a dive package and was picked up at the hotel pier every morning at 7:20 am, this was always a little tight because the breakfast started at 7 am, but the dives were very nice.
The staff was very friendly and took god care of us and gave us information/advice.
If you want to go into town for a meal its a 25 minutes walk or a 60 pesos taxi ride.
If I have to complain about anything it would be that I missed some of the nice "easy going" Mexican dishes like tacos/burritos/enchiladas on the dinner menu, they were on the lunch menu though.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The rooms and pool are great. Staff is friendly, eager to please at first, but quickly fell off in service after check-in. Asked for an iron to take the wrinkles out of a button-down shirt, they brought one that was inoperable after an hour and three calls to the desk. When I went down to complain, there were 4 staff idling chatting at the desk. They laughed at the situation and then explained that the two irons they have, both don't work. No sorry, no making it right. Went to our nice valentines day dinner with dress pants and t-shirt. Classy. WiFi is spotty at the very best - certainly lobby only. Pool service is slow and inattentive with usually only one person on staff for poolside service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBCozumel, Gerente at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We really appreciate your feedback through trip advisor. Listening to our guests is our best way to continue improving, reinforcing what you like and working on your observations.

We apologize for your negative experience. Thanks to your comment we will work on it in order to avoid having this scenario with other guest in the future. It would be our pleasure to receive you again soon and have the opportunity to change your perception of our service.

Many thanks again for your comments, they really make us improve as an Hotel Boutique,

We hope you have a great Day

Beatriz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Our January 2013 stay at Hotel B was exceptional. It is by far the most pleasant Mexican Boutique hotel we have stayed in. We love Mexico and have visited more than a dozen times over the years. This visit was the final leg of a 3 week visit to Playa Del Carmen and Cozumel.

When you visit Mexico, it seems you typically need to adjust to the relaxed pace and the idiosyncrasies of hotel service and building maintenance. As an example, our stay in Playa Del Carmen (another "excellent" rated trip-advisor hotel) required 4 room relocations before we found a room that had both a room safe (that worked) and a/c (that worked.) After that, we enjoyed warm-water showers 25% of the time. Hotel management always seemed lacking or missing altogether. So it goes, we are in Mexico, the staff are too charming to get too frustrated.

Hotel B was refreshingly different. We were warmly welcomed by Christian. If you enjoy eating directly off the floor, this is the place to do it- the hotel (and room) were spotless. All mechanicals worked perfectly, HVAC system was new and powerful. The ocean- view rooms have a spectacular view/proximity to the ocean with generous terraces. This is the first hotel we have ever stayed at where the property was actually nicer than the pictures would suggest. The decor is spot-on mid-century to the point where you wouldn't be surprised to see Frank Sinatra coming around the corner. Even so, there are colonial/island touches that make it inviting and somehow relevant, working seamlessly together. The designer who performed the renovation knew what they were doing...

The hotel itself is located just north of town near the airport (not enough airplane traffic to be an issue). So rather than a $15-20US taxi ride to town like the southern hotels, it's a $5 ride to town-center. Restaurant choices!

Every detail has been attended to, down to the luscious soaps and shampoos. The attentive manager Roberto was always near and accessible. The restaurant crew of Sugei and Wilberth were eager to please. The entire staff worked hard to accommodate our every need. The (included) made-to-order breakfast was a great way to start the day and deliciously different than the runny-egg buffets we had endured in Playa... The water, the reef, the idyllic placement of the Jacuzzi, Yoga in the mornings looking out at sea, the incredible sunsets, snorkeling, really, everything here is just wonderful. We wished our stay was longer than just 4 nights and it will be when we return with our daughters and their husbands.

Stop looking for the right place and book this one. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel B Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel B Cozumel

Address: Carretera Playa San Juan Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel B Cozumel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel B Cozumel has an original and avant-garde offer for travelers in search of new experiences,It combines the natural beauty of the Caribbean with a cool concept of space.The hotel is a fusion of contemporary design and Mexican treditions with a creative touch of young talents. Hotel B Cozumel invites you to ladge in the most privileged plce of Cozumel-5 mintutes away from downtown, the airportand the golf course, in a quiet and exclusive area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel B Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel B Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.