We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SPECTACULAR EVERYTHING” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel B Cozumel

Save Saved
You added Hotel B Cozumel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel B Cozumel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Playa San Juan Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #16 of 58 hotels in Cozumel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“SPECTACULAR EVERYTHING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Our January 2013 stay at Hotel B was exceptional. It is by far the most pleasant Mexican Boutique hotel we have stayed in. We love Mexico and have visited more than a dozen times over the years. This visit was the final leg of a 3 week visit to Playa Del Carmen and Cozumel.

When you visit Mexico, it seems you typically need to adjust to the relaxed pace and the idiosyncrasies of hotel service and building maintenance. As an example, our stay in Playa Del Carmen (another "excellent" rated trip-advisor hotel) required 4 room relocations before we found a room that had both a room safe (that worked) and a/c (that worked.) After that, we enjoyed warm-water showers 25% of the time. Hotel management always seemed lacking or missing altogether. So it goes, we are in Mexico, the staff are too charming to get too frustrated.

Hotel B was refreshingly different. We were warmly welcomed by Christian. If you enjoy eating directly off the floor, this is the place to do it- the hotel (and room) were spotless. All mechanicals worked perfectly, HVAC system was new and powerful. The ocean- view rooms have a spectacular view/proximity to the ocean with generous terraces. This is the first hotel we have ever stayed at where the property was actually nicer than the pictures would suggest. The decor is spot-on mid-century to the point where you wouldn't be surprised to see Frank Sinatra coming around the corner. Even so, there are colonial/island touches that make it inviting and somehow relevant, working seamlessly together. The designer who performed the renovation knew what they were doing...

The hotel itself is located just north of town near the airport (not enough airplane traffic to be an issue). So rather than a $15-20US taxi ride to town like the southern hotels, it's a $5 ride to town-center. Restaurant choices!

Every detail has been attended to, down to the luscious soaps and shampoos. The attentive manager Roberto was always near and accessible. The restaurant crew of Sugei and Wilberth were eager to please. The entire staff worked hard to accommodate our every need. The (included) made-to-order breakfast was a great way to start the day and deliciously different than the runny-egg buffets we had endured in Playa... The water, the reef, the idyllic placement of the Jacuzzi, Yoga in the mornings looking out at sea, the incredible sunsets, snorkeling, really, everything here is just wonderful. We wished our stay was longer than just 4 nights and it will be when we return with our daughters and their husbands.

Stop looking for the right place and book this one. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    81
    24
    13
    14
See reviews for
36
160
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed at the hotel from January 23 – February 2, 2013. We arrived at about 2:30 in the afternoon and were greeted by name by Christian at the front desk and given a welcome drink. Nice! Check in was very easy because we had pre-paid through expedia. Christian gave us a quick tour of the property and then helped us to our room. We instantly loved the vibe of the hotel. Very chic. The grounds and the hotel itself are immaculately clean. As others have mentioned, it is a small property of like 45 or so rooms. There is a restaurant, pool, hot tub, spa and dive shop on site. They have yoga each day for $10 per person, per class. They also had a punch card if you wanted to do several classes. We didn’t do this, but there were quite a few that participated. Access to the ocean is very easy with a few different spots. There were primarily couples that stayed here. There were a few kids, but I honestly think they would be a little bored at this property. All of the staff we encountered were very nice. One night after we got back from dinner we were talking to Christian at the front desk. He had worked all day and said that he was going to have to work the night shift too because someone called in sick. He said his family was staying at the hotel that night because of that and he introduced us, which was very nice. He has a very beautiful daughter.

This trip was the most relaxing trip we have ever taken and we take a tropical vacation each year. I honestly think the hotel had something to do with that. There was no loud music or activities around the pool. The place just makes you want to relax. Makes sense, since their motto is “Just Be”

The things we loved about this hotel:

-There are the big lounge beds on the beach area. Very comfy for laying out and taking a nap.
-snorkeling out front is actually very good. We would typically snorkel further south past the Coral Princess and let the current bring us back to Hotel B. There were a lot of pretty corals, wide variety of fish. On the last day we saw 3 huge spotted eagle rays right out front.
-there is hardly anyone at the resort during the day. The beach area/pool never felt crowded in the least bit.
-the room was comfortable and housekeeping kept it immaculate the entire 10 days. We did leave a tip of at least $3 per day for her.
-The bed/pillows are very comfortable, which has not always been my experience in Mexico. The mattress was a pillow top. Slept great.
-The breakfast was impressive and much more than what we were expecting. Included is the American Breakfast. You have the choice of orange juice or a fruit plate. We always got the fruit plate, which was a large plate of fresh fruit. You get toast/jam. Also includes eggs and they will add in bacon or ham and it is served with beans and a Mexican breakfast dish. It was always very good. Robert the manager was consistently there and always checked in with us. Wilbert and Sugel typically helped us for breakfast and they were great. Their service was always very good. Be sure to leave a tip, even though breakfast is included with your room.
-there is happy hour each day and it is 2X1. Drinks are very good – margs, mojitos are typically what we had. Prices were roughly $7 per mixed drink.
-Great ocean view from the room. There are comfortable chairs on the patio and we spent a lot of time out there.
-They provide purified water in a pitcher in your room. Very nice.
-there is a small coffee maker in the room and you can get a coffee pack for $2 per day. It was wonderful to make your own coffee before breakfast to enjoy on the patio.
-Great location – about 2 miles to town. We walked it quite a few times and it was nice. Also within walking distance to Buccanos, a great beach club and restaurant for dinner about 1 mile north.

There was really only one negative during our stay. There was a wedding there one of the nights. We were warned in advance that it was going to be going on, but it was not good. Music blared until 2:00 in the morning. It was set up just outside our patio on the beach area. It was impossible to sleep through it and we were exhausted the next day.

-Not an issue for us, but could be for some. You cannot walk along the beach beyond the hotel grounds because of the rocky shoreline and fences along neighboring properties.
-Although breakfast was very good, it did get old because we were there for 10 days. We did ask to change it up a bit and they allowed that. It may be nice to have 2 or 3 options for breakfast instead of just one.

Overall, we loved this hotel and we will return here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBCozumel, Gerente at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We want to thank you for taking the time to write such a great review and to share your experience with others. We appreciate your feedback as well; we' ll work on your suggestions to make sure you like the place even more on your next visit.

Reviews like yours really help us to keep doing our job with passion and give more relevance to the daily work of our staff members.

Many thanks again. it will be our pleasure to receive you again in the future.

We hope you have a great Day


Beatriz Tinajero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vietnam
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed here for 5 days and it was great. Breakfast was included in our room rate and was very good with a good selection and large portions.

We had a room on the 4th floor and it had its own terrace overlooking the sea, we kept the terrace door open at night to get a sea breeze which was fantastic and there is also AC. The room is nicely furnished and bathroom and shower were very clean.

You can get beach towels from reception, but you need to sign for them. My wife did Yoga everyday on the deck area facing the sea and it was very good and also very cheap compared with Tulum. There is also a dive shop and i did 2 fantastic dives with Scuba Du - if you are a diver this is highly recommended.

There is no real beach here, but there is sand under the loungers and outdoor beds for getting a tan, there is a hot tub, pool and easy access into the sea, from the boat dock you can jump in - its about 20 feet deep and there is a fantastic coral reef right there, we even saw an eagle ray swimming to close to shore. There is also access by steps and a ladder next to the hot tub which is easier to get out at.

This is a fantastic hotel for people who want a quiet and relaxing stay, the restaurant has some great food - thai cevice was one my favourites and the staff are all very friendly and welcoming and take a genuine interest in the guests.

We would love to go back and stay there again.

Room Tip: Dont choose a jungle view room, there are only a few, and they overlook the road and dont have a ter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

One of the greatest experineces for me, my wife and friends. The place is just incredible, really private, great service, with a unique jacuzzi just in front of the caribbean where you can zip a margarita and listen to the waves.
It has a great boutique concept that just cathes the lifestyle of the island and gathers avant garde design.
The restaurant offers original dishes and many options.
If you are looking for a unique experincie you have to live Hotel B!
Also our diving experience was quite incredible.
If you are looking for a massive hotel, this is not for you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed at the hotel with my boyfriend for 2 nights. We loved the view (specially sunsets), snorkeling is great (lots of sea life), the jacuzzi is perfect after the sun is down, the food was very good and the staff very friendly.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porvoo
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Making the reservation directly through the hotel website a couple of months ago was not possible and we had to use a third party agent - I assume this is now fixed ?

Check-in was very smooth and although we arrived a couple of hours before 2.00 p.m. Christian arranged a room for us quickly. Our oceanview (I think they all are) deluxe room was great; a wide floor to ceiling window and sizeable balcony with a spectacular view straight from a very comfortable bed. The room featured modern minimalistic decorations and there are no shabby couches or dirt absorbing thick carpets. Flat screened well functioning TV is mounted to the wall. Plenty of channels with good reception available. Functional small bathroom with a walk-in shower. Our room was spotless on arrival and was well serviced on a daily basis. There is no minibar and no fridge which is a small minus.

There is a comfortable, airy lobby area with a good and free wifi connection (wifi did not work in the room very well).

There is a very stylish pool and waterfront area with good access to sea and a jacuzzi in a perfect spot. The whole area is quite spectacular making the hotel premises a pleasant environment to spend time. Even the beach chairs are very comfortable. Only the lounge music that apparently is played on Sunday 1-6 p.m was a bit annoying to our taste but this was not such a big issue - the weekly program was well announced anyway.

The Bistro restaurant under Roberto's management is well operated. We received good service all around from Wilberth, Sugci and others. Breakfast was delicious (particularly the huevos mexicanas) althought the scuba trip pick-up time from the deck at 7.20 a.m. created a bit of a challenge - I would recommend the hotel to coordinate the breakfast hours and the boat pick-up time with Scuba Du. Dinner at the Bistro was tastier than what we had in any of the restaurants we tried in San Miguel.

The location of the hotel is North of the town but it is very easy to get a taxi within minutes and it costs 60 pesos one way. Alternatively you can rent a bike from the reception. We liked the location a bit away from the occationally very busy San Miguel water front. The Cozumel airport close to the hotel does not bother at all.

There is a dive shop (Scuba Du) at the hotel. Scuba Du's main facilities are on the other side of the town (El Presidente hotel) but the boat pick-ups are arranged from the Hotel B deck very punctually. The boat trips did not take too long and never bothered us at all although most of the dive sites are in the South.

In summary, we very much enjoyed staying at Hotel B and would recommend this hotel to anyone who is not looking for an all-inclusive, big resort treatment. The price / quality ratio is in the right ballpark and the general atmosphere is comfortable.

Room Tip: Oceanview deluxe in the upper floors (3 or 4)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veracruz, Mexico
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel to relax and enjoy Cozumel.

Located on the north part of the island is quiet, away from the pier and downtown Cozumel.

The food is very good and the staff helpful and friendly.

They paid attention to detail all over to keep it simple yet very comfortable.

The pools and Jacuzzi have a great feel and viwe.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel B Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel B Cozumel

Address: Carretera Playa San Juan Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel B Cozumel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel B Cozumel has an original and avant-garde offer for travelers in search of new experiences,It combines the natural beauty of the Caribbean with a cool concept of space.The hotel is a fusion of contemporary design and Mexican treditions with a creative touch of young talents. Hotel B Cozumel invites you to ladge in the most privileged plce of Cozumel-5 mintutes away from downtown, the airportand the golf course, in a quiet and exclusive area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel B Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel B Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.