We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel B Cozumel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel B Cozumel to your Saves list
Hotel B Cozumel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Playa San Juan Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed at the hotel with my boyfriend for 2 nights. We loved the view (specially sunsets), snorkeling is great (lots of sea life), the jacuzzi is perfect after the sun is down, the food was very good and the staff very friendly.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    89
    29
    14
    17
See reviews for
41
175
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porvoo
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Making the reservation directly through the hotel website a couple of months ago was not possible and we had to use a third party agent - I assume this is now fixed ?

Check-in was very smooth and although we arrived a couple of hours before 2.00 p.m. Christian arranged a room for us quickly. Our oceanview (I think they all are) deluxe room was great; a wide floor to ceiling window and sizeable balcony with a spectacular view straight from a very comfortable bed. The room featured modern minimalistic decorations and there are no shabby couches or dirt absorbing thick carpets. Flat screened well functioning TV is mounted to the wall. Plenty of channels with good reception available. Functional small bathroom with a walk-in shower. Our room was spotless on arrival and was well serviced on a daily basis. There is no minibar and no fridge which is a small minus.

There is a comfortable, airy lobby area with a good and free wifi connection (wifi did not work in the room very well).

There is a very stylish pool and waterfront area with good access to sea and a jacuzzi in a perfect spot. The whole area is quite spectacular making the hotel premises a pleasant environment to spend time. Even the beach chairs are very comfortable. Only the lounge music that apparently is played on Sunday 1-6 p.m was a bit annoying to our taste but this was not such a big issue - the weekly program was well announced anyway.

The Bistro restaurant under Roberto's management is well operated. We received good service all around from Wilberth, Sugci and others. Breakfast was delicious (particularly the huevos mexicanas) althought the scuba trip pick-up time from the deck at 7.20 a.m. created a bit of a challenge - I would recommend the hotel to coordinate the breakfast hours and the boat pick-up time with Scuba Du. Dinner at the Bistro was tastier than what we had in any of the restaurants we tried in San Miguel.

The location of the hotel is North of the town but it is very easy to get a taxi within minutes and it costs 60 pesos one way. Alternatively you can rent a bike from the reception. We liked the location a bit away from the occationally very busy San Miguel water front. The Cozumel airport close to the hotel does not bother at all.

There is a dive shop (Scuba Du) at the hotel. Scuba Du's main facilities are on the other side of the town (El Presidente hotel) but the boat pick-ups are arranged from the Hotel B deck very punctually. The boat trips did not take too long and never bothered us at all although most of the dive sites are in the South.

In summary, we very much enjoyed staying at Hotel B and would recommend this hotel to anyone who is not looking for an all-inclusive, big resort treatment. The price / quality ratio is in the right ballpark and the general atmosphere is comfortable.

Room Tip: Oceanview deluxe in the upper floors (3 or 4)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veracruz, Mexico
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel to relax and enjoy Cozumel.

Located on the north part of the island is quiet, away from the pier and downtown Cozumel.

The food is very good and the staff helpful and friendly.

They paid attention to detail all over to keep it simple yet very comfortable.

The pools and Jacuzzi have a great feel and viwe.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

In all of our travels this is probably my wife and my favorite hotel that we have stayed in. Everything about this hotel was excellent. We almost couldn't believe how nice it was for the price. Almost all of the rooms are ocean front with a balcony and have an amazing view! The pool/spa outdoor area is so beautiful that we almost didn't want to leave the hotel at all during our time in Cozumel. You can snorkel right off of their pier and see many fish, eels, rays, and we even saw dolphins twice. The restaurant has excellent food and a nice open layout with views of the ocean. We also loved the location, because it was away from the main touristy area of town where the cruise ships dock. Still it was only a reasonable walk or inexpensive cab ride away from town. The staff was helpful, friendly, and spoke excellent English. Cristian at the front desk was especially knowledgeable and helpful when making any sort of plans. If we ever return to Cozumel we will definitely return to Hotel B.

Room Tip: Do NOT choose a "jungle view" room. You will definitely want to have the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Charming eco-friendly boutique hotel located on the north side of the island. We had a comfortable room overlooking the ocean and the infinity pool. Spectacular view. Rooms are decorated with artwork done by local artists and every item is for sale. They have a nice little beach with outdoor couches, an excellent restaurant with indoor and outdoor eating areas, outdoor hot tub, spa services and yoga on the beach. The staff was very attentive and helpful. We had a lovely experience and would definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: It is worth the extra money to reserve a room overlooking the ocean. We just loved sitting on our te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We went to Cozumel on very short notice, for rest and relaxation. Hotel B was perfect for our needs. Great, friendly staff, delicious food, quiet surroundings, and great snorkeling. Christian
helped us with a nice morning smile, cabs, places to eat, and a rental car for one day. Every staff member works hard with pride in their tasks.
We loved the everchanging view of the ocean and its colors. We will stay there again... I hope soon!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulshear, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel quickly turned into one of our favorites. It is just the right size - you really feel like you've got the place all to yourself! The infinity pool and hot tub are outstanding! It is not in the southern hotel zone or in San Miguel's downtown, but instead it is located in the northern hotel zone, not far from the airport. This gives the hotel a unique feel on Cozumel - it is quiet in this area! You do not feel like you're staying at a popular cruise ship destination at all! The hotel has bikes available to borrow for quick trips or to rent by the half-day or day. Taxis are quickly summoned as well.

The food in the little restaurant by the pool is very good too. The service is a little slow, but VERY friendly. Breakfast here really hits the spot before a day of diving with Cozumel's best dive shop, Scuba Du! At lunch, I'd reccommend the fajitas or maybe one of the incredible ceviches. Make SURE you have dinner there once during your stay. For us, it was our best meal on the island for the whole trip. I had an amazing fresh fish tempura with a homemade hibiscus syrup.

The rooms here are quite nice. You're not at the Ritz Carlton, but you're also not at some motel. Each room has unique artwork decorating it. If you really like ANY piece of art in the hotel, it is available for purchase. Purified drinking water is provided each day in your room in a cute little handmade pitcher. The ONLY complaint we had was that the hot water for showers was VERY iffy. I finally figured it out - first thing in the morning, the water was often quite cold. If you wait until the sun is out for a while, it heats up quite nicely. They must have a solar water heater! Once we timed our showers accordingly we were good to go!

Room Tip: Almost every room has an ocean view (all but maybe 4 of them). Ask for a room one floor up from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel B Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel B Cozumel

Address: Carretera Playa San Juan Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive Resort)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel B Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel B Cozumel has an original and avant-garde offer for travelers in search of new experiences,It combines the natural beauty of the Caribbean with a cool concept of space.The hotel is a fusion of contemporary design and Mexican treditions with a creative touch of young talents. Hotel B Cozumel invites you to ladge in the most privileged plce of Cozumel-5 mintutes away from downtown, the airportand the golf course, in a quiet and exclusive area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel B Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel B Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.