We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel B Cozumel

Save Saved
You added Hotel B Cozumel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel B Cozumel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Playa San Juan Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #16 of 58 hotels in Cozumel
St. Paul, MN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We went to Cozumel on very short notice, for rest and relaxation. Hotel B was perfect for our needs. Great, friendly staff, delicious food, quiet surroundings, and great snorkeling. Christian
helped us with a nice morning smile, cabs, places to eat, and a rental car for one day. Every staff member works hard with pride in their tasks.
We loved the everchanging view of the ocean and its colors. We will stay there again... I hope soon!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    81
    24
    13
    14
See reviews for
36
160
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fulshear, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel quickly turned into one of our favorites. It is just the right size - you really feel like you've got the place all to yourself! The infinity pool and hot tub are outstanding! It is not in the southern hotel zone or in San Miguel's downtown, but instead it is located in the northern hotel zone, not far from the airport. This gives the hotel a unique feel on Cozumel - it is quiet in this area! You do not feel like you're staying at a popular cruise ship destination at all! The hotel has bikes available to borrow for quick trips or to rent by the half-day or day. Taxis are quickly summoned as well.

The food in the little restaurant by the pool is very good too. The service is a little slow, but VERY friendly. Breakfast here really hits the spot before a day of diving with Cozumel's best dive shop, Scuba Du! At lunch, I'd reccommend the fajitas or maybe one of the incredible ceviches. Make SURE you have dinner there once during your stay. For us, it was our best meal on the island for the whole trip. I had an amazing fresh fish tempura with a homemade hibiscus syrup.

The rooms here are quite nice. You're not at the Ritz Carlton, but you're also not at some motel. Each room has unique artwork decorating it. If you really like ANY piece of art in the hotel, it is available for purchase. Purified drinking water is provided each day in your room in a cute little handmade pitcher. The ONLY complaint we had was that the hot water for showers was VERY iffy. I finally figured it out - first thing in the morning, the water was often quite cold. If you wait until the sun is out for a while, it heats up quite nicely. They must have a solar water heater! Once we timed our showers accordingly we were good to go!

Room Tip: Almost every room has an ocean view (all but maybe 4 of them). Ask for a room one floor up from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel was wonderful for the type of holiday that we were having. Myself and a couple of friends were travelling around Mexico in June 2012 and decided to take a trip to Cozumel for 3 days. We reserved the hotel with only a 4 days notice and we were happy with the price. It was very clean and the staff were very helpful in recommending things that we could do in the short amount of time that we had. our room was excellent. I have no problems there. We didn't get to use the gym or spa facilities, so i just assume they match the same standard of the hotel. We were a bit hesitant about using the restaurant at first but we noticed they offered some great food for prices we could afford. Overall this was a great hotel.

Room Tip: We were travelling on a budget so we chose the cheapest option. Everything we needed was there and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed Dec 28!- Jan2 and absolutely loved the deck, patio, beach, lounging areas. We loved that we just jumped straight into the water and we were snorkeling right on the coral reef and after trying so many other snorkeling areas.... This reef was our absolute favorite. It was very easy to rent scooters from the hotel, they're brought right to the hotel around 11 and you return them there also. Front end Staff, Christian and Gabriella were very pleasant and helpful - Cesar also! But... The kitchen / restaurant needs some organization! The wait staffs roles aren't clearly defined which resulted in very, very slow breakfast service (although the food tasted good!). I would strongly encourage them to throw out the placemats and coasters as they are woven and appear to be quite grungy. It didn't inspire you to eat any other meals there. Also, although our room was nice and large with a great deck over looking the ocean I wasn't thrilled with house keeping. We always seemed to be missing a bath towel, or a bath mat, maybe the next day there wouldn't be a hand towel at all! A couple of last things... There isn't an elevator, clean water is always provided in the room and I liked he service T the beach area. I think overall this hotel is over priced for what it's currently offering.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBCozumel, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We would like to thank you very much for your feedback. It is the most important way to continue strengthening our qualities and working on our weaknesses.

I am glad your enjoyed the place, the atmosphere and the views, but especially the reef. For snorkeling lovers it is a great spot to snorkel at different times since you get to see different animals, colors and sea life along the day. And the best thing is that you can jump out of your bed and in 5 minutes enjoy the life underwater.

Regarding your feedback on the service, we are aware that there are some points that we need to strengthen, especially in the restaurant. Unfortunately, we lost two key staff members just before New Year and it had a negative impact on our operation. But we are strengthening, growing and training our team in order to reach the level of excellence we aim to have. No reason can serve as an excuse. Our responsibility is to offer you the personalized service that has characterized Hotel B and I hope you visit us again to live it. I hope we have the opportunity to offer you the perfect stay with no worries whatsoever.

Many thanks for your sincerity and it will be our pleasure to host you again in the future.

Have a great day.

Beatriz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is really a lovely hotel with a great little restaurant but needs a complete management overhaul. The staff were incredibly friendly, but they simply did not seem to have adequate training or supervision. We had to ask numerous times for basics like bottled water, towels and maid service.

We are divers and Hotel B is affiliated with an excellent dive shop, Scuba Du...but there were numerous important issues which were not communicated to us, one of which led us to nearly miss the last day of diving. There is far too great a distance between B and El Presidente, the hotel from which Scuba Du operates. Despite it not being a chic boutique hotel it would be far more advisable to stay at Presdiente if you're diving...come to think of it, I am very reluctant to recommend Hotel B even for non-divers, until they take their customer service more seriously.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBCozumel, Director General at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We really appreciate your feedback through trip advisor. Listening to our guests is our best way to continue improving, reinforcing what you like and working on your observations.

We are gland you like our the B`s atmosphere. We work hard every day to create a special place and to offer unique experiences.

As for the restaurant service, we are aware that it is an area of opportunity and we are working hard to improve it in order to reach the level of excellence we aim for our boutique property. We truly apologize for the inconveniences during your stay. Among other things, we lost two key members of our team just before the busiest week and being at a 100% of our occupancy this complicated the operation. However, a service of excellence has no excuses, and excellence is our goal. You can be sure that we are woking on our management at the highest and middle levels in order to be prepared in advance for any inconvenience and offer the personalized service that has characterized our brand.

We take the customer service really serious. In fact, our reviews and feedback throughout our first year of operation had been very positive and I will work hard to make sure your experience remains an exception. I am sure that on your next visit you will find an important difference; enjoying your stay, the service you deserve and that you will fall in love with the place. I would ask you for that opportunity.

Many thanks again for your comments. I hope you have a great day and I hope to receive you again in the future.

Beatriz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We snorkeled every morning just before 7am right in front of hotel. Take your own snorkel and fins.
We had awesome massages right next to the water.
The breakfast was not very good, but it was free. The service for breakfast was slow; one day several tables got up and left. So make sure you eat early(7am)
The room had great views
Missing some of the amenities of big hotels that we are use to in the US: no ice machine, no vending machine, bar at night.
We paid $200.00 a night
The hotel had an authentic feel to it
I recommend staying at hotel B, it was nice

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

I chose this hotel because of the beautiful photos online. Which to my surprise lived up to my expectations. The view from our room was wonderful. Pool and ocean; can't go wrong there!! We spent a lot of our mornings snorkeling as soon as we woke up. Take your own gear if you plan to do this. The waiter at the pool is slow. We ended up getting our own bottle and mixers. The breakfast was bland and even worse the waiters are terrible. Would I stay there again? Yes. The view and over experience there was pleasant. I enjoyed the details of the boutique hotel and it was great waking up and snorkeling.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBCozumel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We really appreciate your feedback through trip advisor. Listening to our guests is our best way to continue improving, reinforcing what you like and working on your observations.

We are glad that you enjoyed the view...it is breathtaking and hopefully you had the chance to take some nice pictures back home.

As for the restaurant service, we are aware that it is our area of opportunity. We apologize for the inconveniences and would like to let you know that we are working hard to improve the food and services. We are sure that on your next visit you will find an important difference that will make you enjoy your stay completely.

Many thanks again for your comments and it would be our pleasure to receive you again in the future.

We hope you have a great Day,

Hotel B Cozumel Team
Daniel Burgos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel B Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel B Cozumel

Address: Carretera Playa San Juan Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel B Cozumel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel B Cozumel has an original and avant-garde offer for travelers in search of new experiences,It combines the natural beauty of the Caribbean with a cool concept of space.The hotel is a fusion of contemporary design and Mexican treditions with a creative touch of young talents. Hotel B Cozumel invites you to ladge in the most privileged plce of Cozumel-5 mintutes away from downtown, the airportand the golf course, in a quiet and exclusive area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel B Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel B Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.