We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel B Cozumel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel B Cozumel to your Saves list
Hotel B Cozumel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Playa San Juan Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Mahahual, Mexico
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The hotel has a sensuous Miami Zen feel. The front desk was very helpful and upgraded our rooms to an ocean view and early checkin for a small additional fee. Hotel was clean and well maintained. The decorations were well done. Downside - bathroom has sewer smell which is a problem with many renovated hotels in Mexico. A problem that is hard to correct, but has an effect on the overall experience. Hotel needs to provide free WiFi in the rooms! Only access was in the lobby! Also, the mattresses were NOTHING special. I could hardly wait for a comfy night's sleep after a long day at the beach - sat down on the mattress and it squeaks like it is really a box springs with a mattress pad. Not comfy. All-in-all I think this is a great new hotel that just needs to tweak some of the features to get a 5 "bubble" rating. Need fridge in rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view. The water is spectacular. It is a great place to hang out by the pool and rel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    96
    30
    15
    19
See reviews for
43
183
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I booked a vacation here because of a living social deal. We have been to Cozumel numerous times and love it there, but have never been to this hotel before. After staying here we will probably never stay anywhere else! (I should say unless they decide to jack up the prices, or let the maintainance go downhill, which happens down there sometimes). This is after all, a newly renovated hotel. Christian, who works at the front desk (and seems to always be there) is wonderful! He is very professional, helpful and patient, he made the experience there very pleasant. The hotel beds were very comfortable, the room was very clean. I have a very sensitive sense of smell, and afer reading one review that said "close the bathroom door to avoid sewer smell" I have to say, I think it might have been someone's spouse trying to cover up a "problem", because there was no smell what so ever. The resort is small, which we enjoyed because of the peace and quiet. The snorkeling right from the hotel was fantastic-we saw a giant puffer fish that was about 4 feet long, a large octopus right in the lagoon right in front of the hotel, and a beautiful eel hanging out of the coral wall along the resort. Lots of beautiful fish too of course. The food at the hotel was very good, but we did not eat there a lot, since we enjoy going in to town in the evenings.

Room Tip: not all of the rooms have a fridge, be sure to ask if you are expecting one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 8 nights and wouldn't hesitate to come back. The hotel reminds me of a boutique hotel in South Beach. I am more used to staying in large resorts but really enjoyed the more intimate feel of a smaller place. The view from all rooms is incredible. The whole staff was great, they were very helpful and friendly. They felt like family by the time we left! Snorkeling off the hotel was great. The water was clear and calm. We could jump right off the dock to snorkel. We didn't spend really any time in the pool, it was a small pool and quite warm, almost warmer then the hot tub. The american breakfast was good, eggs, toast, bacon or ham and fruit. We also ate lunch there a couple times and it was good. They also set up romantic dinners for us where they would put a table right next to the ocean, it was wonderful.

The only thing that I would change is to put fridges in the rooms with bottled water. They did have water in the hallways and gave us a pitcher for the room which we would have to get refilled. Other than that, everything was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My fiance and I just got back last night from Cozumel and stayed at Hotel B. We booked our vacation there for 8 nights because of a Living Social deal. We arrived on Saturday afternoon and our room wasn't ready so we had a couple beers poolside. We had 2 double beds and Christian gave us a King bed so we were happy. Christian is great (he's the reservation manager). We were in 407 and it was a great room. It was very clean and simple, we really liked it. The resort is simple, small, and exactly what we wanted. I am use to big resorts and this was a nice break from the mega resorts. We booked 3 days of diving and ended up renting a jeep which was "key" to this week. The American breakfast that comes with the room rate is good. It got old after 8 days but honestly, it was good so no complaints there. We got two romantic dinners with our deal and that was really nice. We had it on the deck both times and it was nice. A bottle of wine, salad, fish, and awesome crepes were the dinner, both times. The fish was over cooked both times which was not the best but honestly, everything else was so nice that we didn't care.
Things I liked: Nice simple room, Christian, Juan Carlos (waiter). Snorkeling off the resort was great. The hot tub and pool is nice.

Things I think need improvement: Bar and food service. The bar is almost for no reason...never got a drink from it and the first day when our room wasn't ready, no one was there and others who had ordered drinks came up to get them...very odd.
same thing with the food. We would have ordered more food and drinks if the waitress was ever around. i have to say, it was the female waitress, once the male came on, he was great.
Housekeeping. We dived 3 days and weren't back till 3 and our room was not made up. We wanted to take a nap after we got back but almost 10 minutes after we laid down they knocked on our door to do our room. Very frustrating. I'd rather they came earlier in the day and got our room done before 3:00.

OH, we had a massage...AWESOME. Hurt like crazy so let them know if the pressure is too muchl

Other than those minor things, we loved it. We had a great time at a great price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Great location. Great view from the rooms. Air conditioning works great. Even had a mini fridge in our room. Mattress is extremely hard. Water pressure in bathroom is hit and miss. Close bathroom door at night lest the sewer smell get into your room.
Restaurant was decent. Only had 1 dinner there, too many other places to dine in Cozumel. Complimentary "american breakfast" was so-so. Nothing great but at least something to put in your belly before you start the day.
Snorkeling is decent from the Coral Princess, next door all the way to the hotel.
Advertised daily yoga does not advertise that it is not complimentary with your room. It costs $10 per session per person.
Watch out on weekends. They open the place up to everyone. The pool and hottub are full of locals all weekend.
Didn't use the spa, too expensive.

Room Tip: For the best view, the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed in Cozumel for a week and the last night of our trip we stayed at Hotel B. We very much enjoyed it and will be coming back! The location is amazing! It is north of town and near the airport. After a week of staying in the southern part of the island we really loved how private Hotel B was. It was nice to get away from all of the cruise ship crowds (although we enjoyed seeing the ships come and go every day) The hotel has a very modern feel to it which I loved. I appreciated all of the attention to detail. The interior design was wonderful. Our room was clean and comfortable and had an amazing view of the ocean. The pool/ lounge/ ocean area was amazing and we spent the majority of our time there. We stayed at the hotel for dinner that night because there was a live band "Blackjack" playing. The live music set the perfect atmosphere. We enjoyed a few drinks (my favorite was the strawberry mojito- very fresh and only $5!) We each ate the fresh fish of the day. It was very good, but a little over cooked. That would be the only negative thing we would have to say about our entire stay was the overcooked fish and very slow service at dinner. However we really didn't seem to mind because we were enjoying the music and the views. Drinks during happy hour and service at breakfast on the other hand was very fast and helpful! We then spent some time in the hot tub after dinner. It feels like you are right in the ocean because it is built right into the natural rocks. LOVED IT! We enjoyed the free American breakfast and coffee in the morning and then snorkeled one last time before we had to leave. The two men at the front desk were extremely helpful and got us a great rate for a taxi back to the southern part of the island (we forgot something) and then to the airport. They also remembered us by name every time we got towels or needed anything. The attention and care they took was very nice. All in all we loved it and it is the place we will be coming back to!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Deluxe King room on the second floor. All rooms have balconies that overlook the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Great hotel and great location. All the staff members were so helpful and nice. Downfall about the yoga class is it does cost money(was not aware of that prior t going). My suggestion is a discounted rate for the people staying at the hotel and or a package rate. Included breakfast was OK. It would be nice to maybe include one more alternative for people who don't eat eggs. Your choice is OJ or Fruit plate, Toast, eggs 3 ways(?) and bacon or sausage and coffee. Although they did bring extra bacon for us since we don't eat eggs. Some people have complained about the music although that didn't seem to be an issue while we were there. There a several areas to relax by the pool and by the ocean. Hot tub wasn't very hot maybe mid 90's but then again we keep ours around 102. We ate dinner there once which was very good. Snorkeling was good but didn't seem as colorful as other years (obviously not something they can control). Rooms were always clean as were the rest of the grounds plus our view from the fourth floor was AMAZING. Locals and some cruise ship employees enjoyed the area during the day but were always polite and didn't take over the place. Overall the place was beautiful and I would come back here in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd floor or above, although as far as I'm concerned the resort did not have a bad view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel B Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel B Cozumel

Address: Carretera Playa San Juan Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive Resort)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel B Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel B Cozumel has an original and avant-garde offer for travelers in search of new experiences,It combines the natural beauty of the Caribbean with a cool concept of space.The hotel is a fusion of contemporary design and Mexican treditions with a creative touch of young talents. Hotel B Cozumel invites you to ladge in the most privileged plce of Cozumel-5 mintutes away from downtown, the airportand the golf course, in a quiet and exclusive area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel B Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel B Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.