We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You could do worse...maybe” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Villablanca Garden Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Villablanca Garden Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Villablanca Garden Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Costera Sur, Km 3, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Fallon
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“You could do worse...maybe”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Get the superior room! We upgraded to superior which was supposed to have a ocean view - Right if you look sideways!
Also we got the continental Breakfast - only toast, coffee and juice. Never used it!

Pros: Price, Location, good beds

CONS:
1. Poor lighting, if you want to read in your room - all the lights are on the walls.
2. Employees let their friends and family use the facility (read pool) so it's extra noisy on those days.
3. Literature says free WIFI in room - NOT
4. Needs work (read refurbishing)
5. No comfortable chairs to sit on, also no desk.
6. TV is 13" cannot be seen from bed.
7. Free parking - for about 3 cars
8. We did purchase breakfast and they ruined the eggs.

Take what you want from this review, but the beds were good, it was quiet at night and we ended up getting this room for about $20/night even with the upgrade (in the package including air). And the staff are helpful though ineffective.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gerenciacozumel, General Manager at Villablanca Garden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear 1scubaDiver:

Thank you for your comments and feelings regarding your recent stay with us, I apologize for your disappointment and if is unfortunate you did not bring any of your concerns to our attention while you were here.
We always do our best to address any valid issues and we value your input.
Reading lights area good suggestion!!, employee family and friends are prohibited from using hotel facilities (pool) and only hotel guests are granted this privilege.
Free wi fi is available in all public areas like lobby, pool, gardens and restaurant.
Free parking is available both inside hotel property as well as street side parking.
If you should choose to visit us again, please remember that we always do our very best to accommodate your needs and request brought to our attention.

Best regards

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    87
    54
    21
    9
See reviews for
27
81
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Just returned from Cozumel, and again stayed at Villa Blanca. This is approx. the 7th or 8th time we have stayed at this hotel. We absolutely love our superior room which is more spacious than any hotel room in its comparison category and the grounds are very well kept. I just love opening the French doors in the morning, and just a couple of steps, and voila - I am being served breakfast by Arturo and his staff (Nemo Restaurant). Jorge, the hotel manager, and his staff will bend over backwards to ensure that your stay is extremely enjoyable. I am getting "home sick" just thinking about it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

If you're looking for a resort that has everything you could possibly want, this isn't it. It does however provide things the bigger resorts don't have. Like very few kids, if any, no teenagers, no loud music, Internet in our room and as far away as the beach bar across the street. Beds were EXTREMELY comfortable (compared to the rock hard beds at the big all-inclusive resort up the street solicited heavily everywhere in Cozumel). A/C worked great, PLENTY of hot water (although it did taste a tad salty) staff was friendly and helpful, grounds are gorgeous and well kept and rooms are clean. The pool is large and kept clean. Keep in mind this is a 50 room hotel that caters to divers (3 dive shops nearby). Papa Hogs Dive Shop is next door, Dive Paradise is downstairs from Papa Hogs. You can get a massage next to Papa Hogs. Hogtown Cafe has good food, reasonably priced. La Hach restaurant is across the street. Lapalapita is a beach bar across the street 2X1 Margaritas & Pina Coladas, etc., all day every day.
There is a restaurant Nemo's on-site at Villablanca. It doesn't seem to get much traffic, although Arturo is wonderful and very informative about the culture and island life. We had the chicken quesadillas and they were excellent. We had dinner there, my husband had the grouper and I had lobster, both of which were excellent. The crab salad appetizer was simple but out of this world. We were surprised when we weren't given salsa and chips when we were at the table since that seems to be a staple in every restaurant in Mexico. The restaurant doesn't take credit cards.
We certainly enjoyed our stay, it was quiet, non-stressful (not like some other resorts where there are too many people). Guests seemed to interact with each other and strangers more here than other resorts we've stayed at.
Only complaint I have is that the fouton/sofa bed mattress was about worn out and was very uncomfortable to sit on, much less try to lay on.
We'll definitely be back. One of the most enjoyable vacations we've had.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior room, upstairs and toward the back to avoid street noise. Fouton/sofa bed was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012 via mobile

This was my fourth visit to the Villa Blanca. Great improvement with the free fast Wifi throughout! The maids are wonderful and thorough. Nemos restaurant with Arturo and everyone is always a joy. Special shout out to Benjamin at the front desk at night and in the morning for his special help to all of our group of six, most first timers. Jorge, your the best
And see all as soon as I can. Muchas Gracious.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent Island, Maryland
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

caught a good on bookit and found a clean, comfortable hotel ably ran by Sr. Jorge and team. I enjoyed coffee each morning with Aurturo in the restaurant

Room Tip: s2 has wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

I have been a customer of Villa Blanca for more that 10 years, they are finally coming into the 20th Century. They now offer free Internet and have combined services with their neightbors - excellent change. The location is still the big draw with them being half way between the locations that attract hordes of cruise ship visitors - Villa Blanca is still a quiet little place to go and hide, enjoy some great diving with Dive Paradise and just relax.

Room Tip: Second floor superior rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

This was our second stay at the Villablanca, and again we had such an enjoyable time. The staff are very helpful, and work hard to make it a pleasurable place to stay. The maids are just incredible, making the rooms look so clean and pretty. It is not a four star hotel with the all inclusive vibe....it is quiet, clean and relaxing which is just what we love about it. The beach area across the street isn't the best but it has some chairs and umbrellas. At least you are lying next to the ocean with the breezes to cool you off. We always book the premium room near the pool and never have difficulties getting Internet from our sitting area. This year we upgraded out skype account, and for 7.99 we were able to make unlimited phone calls rough the internet connection. Something I really recommend doing if you are heading to Mexico cause your cell phone doesn't work downthere. There are several dive shops right next door, we prefer Papa Hogs but had a great time with dive paradise also.

Room Tip: Pay the extra price to upgrade to a premium room. Also I recommend booking directly with the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villablanca Garden Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villablanca Garden Beach Hotel

Address: Carretera Costera Sur, Km 3, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villablanca Garden Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villablanca Garden Beach is a beachfront hotel located approximately 5 miles from Cozumel Airport and two miles from town, right in front of Villablanca Reef and Wall (great for snorkeling and diving).Our exclusive property includes 50 rooms and suites, two villas and a Pent-House, all units are equipped with A/C, ceiling fan, refrigerator, satellite TV, telephone and sunken tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Villablanca Garden Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villablanca Garden Beach Cozumel
Hotel Villablanca Garden Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villablanca Garden Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.