We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suites Bahia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Suites Bahia to your Saves list
Suites Bahia
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Rafael E. Melgar x Calle 3 Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This hotel was offered by our dive shop as a part of the package when we first came to Cozumel. From then on we stay in Suites Bahia every time when we come for diving. Reasonable rates, clean, large, quiet, and comfortable rooms with fridge, microwave, sink, included the best breakfast on the island. And downtown location that is difficult to beat if you do not stay in the resorts.

Room Tip: Rooms without a balcony are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    52
    25
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
45
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This was my second trip to Cozumel. The first time I stayed with the family at an All-Inclusive-Resort (Park Royal) and it was good (but definitely not worth the price).
My second trip to Cozumel was for diving only and stayed with a friend at Bahia Suites. It is a gem in Cozumel. It is very, very clean, very good A/C and the rooms have a full refrigerator, kitchen sink and microwave (I only used the refrigerator).
The breakfast is offered at another location (1 block) and it is a full breakfast buffet. Considering the price charged, it is a great bargain. The room we stayed had a queen and full bed, separated by a partition (giving some privacy). Rooms have also a safe-box inside the room.
On Friday/Saturday nights you might get some noise from the bar across the street but was not too loud.
Staff is polite and friendly (did not have any issues to be resolved).

In summary, very clean, comfortable beds and spacious rooms, nice ocean view (some rooms), good bkfst. and unbeatable cost-benefit.

Room Tip: Ask for one with ocean view. For those who like a quiet night, ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nacogdoches, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

My husband and I have stayed at the Bahia at least a dozen times in the past twenty five years. As scuba divers, we enjoy the proximity to our favorite dive shop. As tourists, we enjoy the lovely view from the balcony (or balconies if you get a corner room) and the easy walk to a multitude of fine restaurants. Breakfast at the Mexicana is included and is delicious. The staff at the Bahia is always pleasant and helpful. If you want a simple, comfortable room, wifi, television and simplicity, this is a fantastic place. You have pool privileges at the Mexicana. There is a bar (Thirsty Cougar) next door that has bands on weekend nights, so if you are a light or early sleeper, be aware. If you want resort amenities, go elsewhere, but for us, this is our favorite, classic Cozumel place to stay.

Room Tip: corner rooms are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I was very pleased for the price we paid and the service quality. Well located, very close to our Dive center (Três pelicanos), on the beachfront. A very good breakfast served at the Casa Mexicana hotel!
I recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I come down to Cozumel about every 2 months for diving and have been staying around place to place seeing what all is out there. This was my first time at Suites Bahia, wouldn't be my last I would give it another shot but I definitely would not want an interior room again. The room was clean and well maintained, the very horrible and there was no place to hang up diving gear which is a must for anyone diving. I did notice that it took at least 15 min for the hot water to heat up or come on. I did ask for a room upgrade when I saw my view and no place to hang my gear, they did try and find something for me but said I could only have it for 2 days and then would need to move again which I didn't want to hassle with so I stayed in the room I got. The place is located centrally to everything only about 2-3 blocks from the ferry station, and same distance to the market. They did have a full size fridge in the room which is great to save you some money on food and beverages. Staying here you also get the free breakfast buffet at the Casa Mexicana which is the place I normally stay at and its a very good breakfast before heading out diving for the day. Also very close to the Caleta to catch your dive boat out in the morning or afternoon. I did see in a couple of the other reviews the beds are extremely hard which did make it a little difficult to sleep and he AC did not work very well in room 31. All in all though I would def give this place another shot but would def upgrade to a ocean view room if possible.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Located in front of the ocean, close to everything in dowtown, Suites Bahia are a good option. Rooms are clean, staff is very helpful and with a buffet breakfast included the price is really good. Interior rooms have a little problem besides the lack of a good view and that is the windows to the hall that give the room a bit too much light at night, there are no drapes or other way to block the light at night so it could be uncomfortable. The fridge and microwave oven are a plus but there's no much space for luggage so travel light. The AC is a bit too noisy but as I said this is a place worth coming back.

Room Tip: Stay in exterior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Large comfortable room. I had a balcony room. Only drawback is that there is a bar right outside that has (bad) live music on weekdays. It is very loud and goes till a bout midnight. Other than that my stay was perfect for diving. The breakfast buffet at Casa Mexicana was the best breakfast buffet I've had that was included in a room stay. Its just a short 1.5 block walk to the other property for breakfast. They arranged a bicycle for me to rent, which was cool, they even brought the bike right to the lobby for me at no extra charge and it was a nice mountain bike and cheaper than other places I checked in town. I used it to bike to the southern beaches for some great snorkeling.

Room Tip: balcony rooms are HUGE, south side has a very loud night time bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suites Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites Bahia

Address: Av. Rafael E. Melgar x Calle 3 Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Suites Bahia 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Suites Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites Bahia Hotel Cozumel
Bahia Hotel Cozumel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suites Bahia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.