We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suites Bahia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Suites Bahia to your Saves list
Suites Bahia
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Rafael E. Melgar x Calle 3 Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Frisco
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Nice and Convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hotel was much better than I had expected for the money. fI you pay cash they will also give you a discount. I stayed in the top floor corner room which had two balconies, one facing the ocean/main drag and one facing south. The room was small but had a queen bed that was very comfortable. Also included is free WIFI and breakfast. The hotel is located right in the middle of everything downtown. I stayed here for 3 nights on a last minute basis before moving to an all inclusive on the south end of the island. This is a great way to break up a trip to Cozumel and experience downtown San Miguel.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    46
    23
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
39
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This was my 6th time staying at Bahia, but the first time since my kids were born, 15 years ago!
The place has hardly changed at all.

If you want to be near the Ferry Pier, 2 blocks from the Plaza and steps away from a dozen restaurants and dive shops, Bahia is a great place to start. Starting at $55 a night for a water view room that includes balcony, refridge, plates, forks, knives, Microwave, and AC.

Yes they don't have a pool, but you can walk across the street and snorkel (and we saw people doing just that).

The breakfast package is incredible! And the sister hotel, La Mexicana, (1 1/2 blocks way, on the water) is definitely the next step up, but also pay for that.

Now for the Negatives:
They are on the main street and motorcycles did wake me up at 1am. And the Wall Unit A/C also woke me up during the night, when it cycled on and off.

So if you are a light sleeper, you'll want to look at the sister hotels (even the Colonial looked nice, and is just off the plaza).

I also have to say the front desk was very nice and helpful, and the cleaning lady did our dishes for us.

Room Tip: 28/29 38/39 48/49 face directly on to the water. The elevator is slow and most people walk up an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahrump, Nevada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This Hotel is located 1 block away from the town square. The rooms were large and well furnished. Bed could have been a little softer. Staff members were pleasent and the cleaning people did a great job. This property allowed us the use of its sister hotel pool (one block away) which overlooked the ocean and the main street. Great for people watching. The room price also provides a great breakfast buffet. This is not a resort hotel but better than most stateside discount chains. If you are looking for a great location and the ability to enjoy the locals, this one is for you.

Room Tip: If you like ocean views the rooms are available, however you must be made aware there will be traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed one night at the Suites Bahia last week. Pluses - huge room, plenty of space, good shower (although the bathroom was strangely small), AC worked fine, plenty of electical outlets, kitchen in the room (although we did not use it), OK breakfast down the road at sister hotel. We got a great price through hotels.com and for what we paid, I would consider it excellent value for money. Minuses - internet signal was not very reliable, and when it rained hard on the morning of our departure, rain came in around the window and through the AC and caused a minor flood...

Overall a good stay for the price and I would stay again if I could get a similar price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Clean, safe and convenient - right downtown where all the action is. If you want to partake in the action though - you may not be able to get into the hotel. They lock the front door - will not give you a key - so if you are late you may not get in. Not sure if the desk clerk is sleeping or there is none. I have never heard of a hotel that has a curfew!!!!

Room Tip: Get a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Top Contributor
342 reviews 342 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I really can't say enough about this place. The price is fantastic. You can't stay at a dump in the US for this price, yet you get an awesome place in Cozumel. The rooms are very spacious. This time we stayed in a room with 2 very large beds. TV was decent, shower was hot and had plenty of water pressure and there was a full size refrigerator in the room. To make it even better, there was free wi-fi that was lightening fast! It was better than the wi-fi at resorts I stayed at on this same trip.

Then as an added bonus there is free breakfast. They give you a wristband that gets you in to Casa Mexican, which is a hotel that is literally right down the road. The breakfast here was fantastic. It was a full buffet with omelet station and pancakes and waffles made to order. There was no cost whatsoever.

The location is fantastic as it is across the street from the ocean and right next to the square and the ferry pier. I walked all of my baggage from the ferry to the hotel with no taxi and it was fine. You can do a cozumel trip on the cheap and stay in a nice place.

This place is unbelievable for the value! I can't wait to stay at Bahia again.

Room Tip: Room 25 was right beside the wi-fi router.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Tejas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Suites Bahia from the 9-11th of July. We have stayed down south of town at Casa Del Mar for years and decided to try a hotel downtown this time. We arrived at about 1pm, picked up our jeep and headed out to the hotel. The first objective was to find parking. There is a little lot on the right side of Calle 3 (same road as the hotel) which is about 50 yards away. The little guy that works there was awesome and we were able to work out a deal for 4 days of parking for 28$. There, we were greeted by about 15 iguanas! SO cool :) Ok, so we parked el jeepo and went down to the hotel. The lobby was nice and coooool and we were greeted with a smile. Check in was quick and we were on our way up to our room 28 in a few minutes.
The room is at the end of a nice hallway, tiled floor and beautiful old doors. Our room was ocean front with TWO! count 'em TWO balconies!! The floorplan was kind of interesting, a large half-wall separates the humongous room. Two double beds (kinda disappointed there was no king bed, but you can push 'em together ;) It is large enough for a family. The room has a large refrigerator that was very handy! There are utensils and dishes for 4 people. A small microwave was also a nice convenience. The breakfast is provided by Casa Mexicana, which is a short stroll down the waterfront. It was delicious! Eggs cooked to order & a large assortment of fruit & even salmon & creamcheese!
This place is great for someone who likes to people watch. The view just can not be beat. We took a few pics & I'll add them, too.
Over all, I'd say this hotel has everything you need but no frills. The only drawback is they don't have a pool.

Room Tip: Definately get the ocean front room! The balcony on both sides are fantastic for people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suites Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites Bahia

Address: Av. Rafael E. Melgar x Calle 3 Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Suites Bahia 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Suites Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites Bahia Hotel Cozumel
Bahia Hotel Cozumel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suites Bahia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.