We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic in-town budget hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suites Bahia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Suites Bahia to your Saves list
Suites Bahia
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Rafael E. Melgar x Calle 3 Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Black Lick, PA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Fantastic in-town budget hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

This hotel gets an A+ for cleanliness. The housekeeping staff was fantastic and so very pleasant. Roberto, at the front desk was very helpful and upgraded us to a fantastic room. We needed rooms close together as our young adult children were in the other room, and he made the switch for us with a smile.
Our room was a corner room with 2 balconies while the other room overlooked the block wall of the next building. No big deal as our children used our balcony whenever we were all in the rooms together. We actually did not spend much time in the room because there is so much to do other places. Our AC was great and unlike other reviews, it was not too loud. We also never heard any road noise. In the mornings, we sometimes heard the clink of tanks from the pier across the street but since we are all divers, it just reminded us that we should soon be getting up.
Our only complaint, was that the Wi-Fi is not very good. Our room on the 4th floor balcony may have been a bad location, but we had a stronger signal from the Disney Cruise ship that was in port ????? There is a computer in the lobby that you can use for free but no printer.
No problems with water pressure and our tub was a whirlpool, so it was huge. Our second room had a sewage smell when we checked in but after water was run in the shower the small went away so it must not have been used for awhile.
The beds are hard, but all beds in Mexico are hard. The room and bed layout was nice with a king bed in each room. The corner room only had one bed but the second room, had a king and a full with plenty of extra space. We also had a mini walk in closet for hanging up our cloths. We went to the Mega and bought more hangers and just left them. There were 10 in each room but since shelf space was limited and hanging was the best option we needed more.
Each room gets comp. toiletries each day.
The refrig was awesome to have cold drinks when you got back to the room. We visited the Mega and got lots of water and juice. You can even freeze the water bottles half full and keep your drink cold a long time when your out. There were ice cube trays, but we did not use them. Our room did not have a microwave or utensils but we really did not need them. Due to its corner location at the end of the hall, it seems to be part of a suite and I think the microwave was in the other part that we did not have access too. Next time we will reserve both rooms and have it all!!!!!
Be careful with the very small elevator. 4 person max. When the door decides to shut, it will close on anything in its way. You have to locate the sensor to stop it from hitting you.
The eateries are so plentiful that we decided to to an in-town hotel and eat out a lot. So happy we did this. We ate the awesome free breakfast at Casa Mexiana, (about 1.5 blocks away) and then dove most days. We were always back by around 2 and grabbed a quick lunch at a local restaurant. Some of the small places are the best. There is a pizza place about a block away that sells pizza by the slice and that is a great easy lunch if you need something different. We would then walk out and find a great new place for dinner. I had about 10 restaurants on my list of places to try and the were all great but one. I utilize Trip Advisor a lot to find places and so I feel the need to also write a review to help others.
The tips I get here are very welcomed. A tip I used this time was to take suction cup hooks for the sliding glass doors and they worked wonderful to hang up suits. That was the best $2 I spent. Thanks to whom ever put that on as a tip.
My tip for this hotel would be to use the small private parking lot about 3 buildings back on the side street. The offered to let us park for $7 / day. That was nicer than having to walk the 2+ blocks to the P.L. Mall. Although the parking is free, you have to walk. This lot was secure and had a guard and a gate. Parking on the side streets is free and also on the main street from 8pm to 8 am. Don't be late or they will put a lock on your tire. When we were done at 7pm, we would pay for 1 hr and then leave it there until 8 in the morning. That worked great too.
All in all this was a great place to stay and we will consider using it again. We come to Cozumel every year and try a new place each time, but if we can get the same rooms and the price is as good, we will be back. We were all very happy with the location, cleanliness and price. If we would have wanted too, we could have gone across the street and gotten in the water right there. On sunday, there were a bunch of local children having fun there and I was tempted to join them.
Give this place a try and you will be glad you did. Use the money that you saved to have some great dinners. Be sure to tip the housekeeping staff as they are great. Until next time.......

Room Tip: Parking - There is a private parking lot about 3 buildings back that allowed us to park our rental c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    45
    20
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
37
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This is an affordable place to stay, right in the heart of cozumel. The town square is a couple of blocks away and shopping and dining opportunties abound in every direction. You can even find a decent little beach hut with 15 peso beers, a sandy beach and snorkling. It's just a 15 minute walk down the main road in the direction of the airport.
We stayed for 3 weeks and the included breakfasts were always fantastic! There was always fresh juices and a constant variety of buffet specials, you could always get custom omelets or waffles and you could add a wide variety of fresh fruit or nut toppings to the latter......Yum! The breakfast would sustain us through to the mid-afternoon at which time we'd often enjoy a more traditional dinner in one of the enchanting little homes that are sprinkled in the area. They typically serve a great 3 course meal for less than 100 pesos.including a non-alcholic beverage.
The hotel staff are helpful and friendly, the rooms are spacious. Apartment sized fridges are in every room and there is lots of room in them for Water and so forth. All in all, this is a great place to call "adventure central" when staying on Cozumel.

Room Tip: We decided the best rooms were the balcony rooms on the side street side of the hotel. There you got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This is a centrally located hotel in the downtown part of Cozumel. Close to the piers for being picked up for diving, close to the big supermarket to stock up on some consumables. The rooms were large, clean, and simple. A large refrigerator was provided, along with a microwave and some utensils, plates, bowls, cups and glasses. The closet safe came in handy. The cleaning staff cleaned the room from one end to the other every day. Large shower with plenty of hot water. I took a group of divers this past week and we had a great stay. Our only complaint was that the internet was not consistently up. It is easy enough to find free wi-fi in Cozumel, so this didn't really provide a hassle except for later at night.

Keep in mind this is not a fancy high end hotel. It is a basic, clean centrally located hotel perfect for divers or the budget minded traveler. Our continental breakfast was awesome, and was provided at the sister property about a block and a half away.

Room Tip: The non-ocean front rooms are quieter. But if you want a view, book a room with a balcony, they do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights out of a 9 day stay in Cozumel. We were looking for a place to stay downtown within our budget and we were glad we found this place. Suites Bahia provides you with a nice room, we got the room that had ocean view and loved it! The breakfast was provided as well we only had to walk a block or so to Casa Mexicana. They had waffles a variety of options to eat from. We were very pleased with the service. Left our car at the Punta Langosta parking lot and had no problems. Wi-fi signal worked great. If you feel like having more of a local experience yet still be around to see traffic from the cruises this is the place to stay. We will be back here without a doubt:) Sunsets are just amazing from across the street.

Room Tip: Do get a Oceanview its the Best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeastern, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

This is a basic clean downtown hotel that is within minutes of many restaurants and shops. This hotel is not for everybody but it was perfect for me. Large room with an ocean view and a balcony. A king size bed and a queen are divided by a partition which was perfect to put things on.Plenty of lights and outlets to plug things in and the free wifi was great.A separate kitchen with a microwave and a full size refrigerator and sink gave added room to spread out.Plenty of hot water in a stand up shower. Air worked great and did not notice any street noise at least none the bothered me.Beds are hard but we like then that way and slept perfect for our week stay.Safety deposit box in closet came in handy.This place is super clean and a perfect place for divers if using the downtown pier to go diving with one of the local shops. We rented a car from Isis and parked the car over night at the Punta Langosta parking lot which was 2 blocks away.I have stayed a many downtown hotels over the years and liked this one very much.For the price it can't be beat.The free breakfast at Casa Mexicana was outstanding.

Room Tip: Get and ocean view room and don't forget to tip the waitstaff at the breakfast buffet at Casa Me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador, BA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012 via mobile

This is a very, very old hotel. I stayed in a standard room that barely had furniture - only the bed, a full fridge (?) and a TV. But the location is perfect, right in the middle of everything. If you're staying for a short time it's okay but only if so. The breakfasts served in the Casa Mexicana hotel, a block away, we're excellent!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

I booked a room at Suites Bahia for a week while on a dive vacation. The room was clean and comfortable. A breakfast buffet was provided at a partner hotel about two blocks down the street. The location of the hotel was perfect for walking around the town in the evening after a day of diving. There are a multitude of restaurants within a three minute walk from the hotel.

This is not a resort. It is a comfortable, reasonably priced hotel in a nice location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suites Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites Bahia

Address: Av. Rafael E. Melgar x Calle 3 Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Suites Bahia 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Suites Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites Bahia Hotel Cozumel
Bahia Hotel Cozumel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suites Bahia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.