We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Budget Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suites Bahia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Suites Bahia to your Saves list
Suites Bahia
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Rafael E. Melgar x Calle 3 Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Richardson, Texas
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Great Budget Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This is a centrally located hotel in the downtown part of Cozumel. Close to the piers for being picked up for diving, close to the big supermarket to stock up on some consumables. The rooms were large, clean, and simple. A large refrigerator was provided, along with a microwave and some utensils, plates, bowls, cups and glasses. The closet safe came in handy. The cleaning staff cleaned the room from one end to the other every day. Large shower with plenty of hot water. I took a group of divers this past week and we had a great stay. Our only complaint was that the internet was not consistently up. It is easy enough to find free wi-fi in Cozumel, so this didn't really provide a hassle except for later at night.

Keep in mind this is not a fancy high end hotel. It is a basic, clean centrally located hotel perfect for divers or the budget minded traveler. Our continental breakfast was awesome, and was provided at the sister property about a block and a half away.

Room Tip: The non-ocean front rooms are quieter. But if you want a view, book a room with a balcony, they do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    46
    22
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
39
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights out of a 9 day stay in Cozumel. We were looking for a place to stay downtown within our budget and we were glad we found this place. Suites Bahia provides you with a nice room, we got the room that had ocean view and loved it! The breakfast was provided as well we only had to walk a block or so to Casa Mexicana. They had waffles a variety of options to eat from. We were very pleased with the service. Left our car at the Punta Langosta parking lot and had no problems. Wi-fi signal worked great. If you feel like having more of a local experience yet still be around to see traffic from the cruises this is the place to stay. We will be back here without a doubt:) Sunsets are just amazing from across the street.

Room Tip: Do get a Oceanview its the Best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeastern, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

This is a basic clean downtown hotel that is within minutes of many restaurants and shops. This hotel is not for everybody but it was perfect for me. Large room with an ocean view and a balcony. A king size bed and a queen are divided by a partition which was perfect to put things on.Plenty of lights and outlets to plug things in and the free wifi was great.A separate kitchen with a microwave and a full size refrigerator and sink gave added room to spread out.Plenty of hot water in a stand up shower. Air worked great and did not notice any street noise at least none the bothered me.Beds are hard but we like then that way and slept perfect for our week stay.Safety deposit box in closet came in handy.This place is super clean and a perfect place for divers if using the downtown pier to go diving with one of the local shops. We rented a car from Isis and parked the car over night at the Punta Langosta parking lot which was 2 blocks away.I have stayed a many downtown hotels over the years and liked this one very much.For the price it can't be beat.The free breakfast at Casa Mexicana was outstanding.

Room Tip: Get and ocean view room and don't forget to tip the waitstaff at the breakfast buffet at Casa Me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador, BA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012 via mobile

This is a very, very old hotel. I stayed in a standard room that barely had furniture - only the bed, a full fridge (?) and a TV. But the location is perfect, right in the middle of everything. If you're staying for a short time it's okay but only if so. The breakfasts served in the Casa Mexicana hotel, a block away, we're excellent!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

I booked a room at Suites Bahia for a week while on a dive vacation. The room was clean and comfortable. A breakfast buffet was provided at a partner hotel about two blocks down the street. The location of the hotel was perfect for walking around the town in the evening after a day of diving. There are a multitude of restaurants within a three minute walk from the hotel.

This is not a resort. It is a comfortable, reasonably priced hotel in a nice location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Good clean room
Great location - walking distance from Ferry Pier and downtown
Great breakfast at sister hotel Casa Mexicana 2 blocks away
Nice balcony
Fridge and microwave very practical but no stove
Great service
Only negative is noise in rooms located on the street side which was our case
Very fair price for what you are getting and super safe neighborhood close to everything

Room Tip: Choose room with balcony for a place to have your meals and relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We really wanted to stay at a Downtown hotel but were in for a dissapointment. The room was stuffy and we had no view. It had an ok downtown location, but not worth it. It was not a way to spend our vacation, we moved to another hotel and found it to be much better.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suites Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites Bahia

Address: Av. Rafael E. Melgar x Calle 3 Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Suites Bahia 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Suites Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites Bahia Hotel Cozumel
Bahia Hotel Cozumel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suites Bahia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.