We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks TripAdvisor community for the gift of Playa Azul!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa to your Saves list
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera a San Juan, Km 4 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Web Special 7 Nights
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Bend, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Thanks TripAdvisor community for the gift of Playa Azul!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Thanks to the TripAdvisor community for this one. Based on the great reviews and especially the great reviews from the multiple-repeat vistors to this resort/hotel, we decided to take a vacation at Playa Azul, Cozumel.

The statements that many made about the place being a bit aged were correct. However don't confuse aged with bad here. Our room was spotless and remained so due to the diligence of the cleaning crew. This was our first trip to Mexico that we didn't stumble across some bug lurking on the ceiling or scurrying away when the bathroom light came on.

The rooms were a bit small but we were easily able to sleep our family of 4 (10 & 13 y.o kids) on the 2 queen beds and the sofas that got made up into beds in the living room area.

We did the all-inclusive and the food was very good. Although we found ourselves wandering into town for dinners because we wanted to experience more of the local cuisine.

Our kids would take their left over bread and papaya out to the entrance area where there were turtles in an enclosed area. They had a great time tossing the food to them (and some iguanas).

The pool-bar-ocean proximity was fantastic. Each was about 30 yards from the other. So we could be at the beach or bar and keep track of the kids at the pool and vice versa. It's a small place and our kids are old enough to behave. I would not recommend leaving kids who are a bit rowdy unattended as it is a small place and people can be easily disturbed by excessive horseplay.

The service was great and friendly. Tipping was appreciated but not required. If I had some pesos or dollar bills on me, I'd tip. If I didn't I'd catch 'em later. Never got any of the typical "tude" when I was in my swim trunks at the bar without money to tip for my drink.

The beach/ocean was nice. We snorkeled right from the hotel everyday. We could swim in both directions from the hotel and see things although the reef to the right going towards an old ruined buidling was the best snorkeling area. I counted close to 30 different species of fish in any 30-40 minute adventure. The reef is a bit beat up (to my unsophisticated eyes) but there is a lot of aquatic life there.

In the area to the left of the hotel you can rent Jet-Skis. We saw boats taking scuba divers out from the dock at the hotel. The bigger hotel about 200 yards up the beach to the left had a nice restaurant (Buccanos) and offered rock climbing and zipline towers that our kids enjoyed.

Our vacation was purposefully in the low season and it was quiet and great. I don't know if I would like it as much if this small place was loaded with a bunch of little kids running around.

Anyhow, we were pleasantly surprised by Playa Azul and may be one of those Trip Advisor people who indeed return for more another day....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Greetings from Playa Azul!!
Thank you very much for your preference and your comments. We really are happy to know you had a great time and that TripAdvisor community helped you decide.
It will be a pleasure to host you and all your kids in a future.
See you very soon

Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    141
    23
    11
    8
See reviews for
109
225
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Love this place -- location isn't close to town but just a short ride away by taxi-- rooms r gorgeous-- be sure to ask for Kermit at beach bar. Great staff all around too!! Rooms r also ocean view and some have jacuzzi's

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We really appreciate your comments about the hotel and the staff.
We all look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.
Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is a smaller inclusive resort, only 50 rooms all with ocean views. There are two sections - the main building has a beautiful wooden staircase but no elevator. Second section has an elevator and is probably newer(?) We stayed for 8 days in a suite in the main building and absolutely loved it. Full frontal ocean view that was so beautiful, it seemed surreal. Guests are mostly couples and families w/ older children. The one group of party-guys really stuck out - this is place to relax, snorkel/dive and spend time w/ loved ones. If you want to party, please go to one of the other, larger all-inclusive resorts on the island.

Other Pros: STAFF. Absolutely wonderful, accommodating, and friendly. SNORKELING. right off the beach. CLEAN. I'm a bit of a hygiene-freak and found the place pretty much spotless. Bathroom was also in good condition.
CONS: FOOD. Definitely average. Breakfast was solidly good, but we're glad we didn't buy the all-inclusive food package as it wasn't worth it. After the first night, we rented a scooter and went into town for dinner every night.

We loved this place and can't wait to go back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hola from Cozumel!!
I want to thank you for your nice comments! I am happy to know that you loved the Oceanfront Suite and its view. We will check the breakfast and meals with the food & beverage department to improve it.
Thank you very much for your preference and hope to see you in a future
Kind Regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

another great trip, this time we did the all inclusive and the food was vary good. spent the week swimming, reading, and drinking. july this time and the place was vary quiet, the service at this hotel is always great. we loved to feed the turtles out in front of the hotel. see you next year!!!!!!!

Room Tip: all rooms have ocean views we were in rm#305
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hola from Playa Azul
Thank you very much for such a beautiful comment!! We are so happy to read that you had a great time and you are coming next year. Thank you very much for your preference!! The turtles will miss you for sure ;) but will be waiting for you too.
Kindly
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

There were 8 1/2 people on this planned trip to Cozumel. The location was north of the airport and easy to get to by taxi. Our check-in was easy and efficient. Everyone greeted us with a smile and was eager to please. They provided a crib (pack and play) for the baby and the rooms were clean and comfortable. There were two maid services every day - one to clean the room and the later one to provide more beach towel and chocolates.

The restaurant on site provided a buffet breakfast including hot food and omelets and waffles to order, included in the price of the room. There were two bar restaurants that were open all day and you could be served food while lounging at the beach.

The rooms and grounds were kept immaculate and there were no bugs to be found (I kind of felt sorry for the geckos) anywhere. Two bars at the beach and when they closed the bar next to the restaurant served drinks. Food and drinks were always available and bottled water was provided in our rooms.

The dive operation, Blue Dreams, took extremely good care of us. They took us to sites to the north of the island, where few people tend to go as well as to the National Parks to the south, where most of the visitors go. We were never affected by the hoards of people that arrive on cruise ships as we were far enough away from the area at which they disembarked. Chris, our dive guide took us out for two morning dives and we added two afternoon dives as well after we requested the additional dives. The dive guides were great, both Chris and Alvaro took us our for some great dives. The boat captain took good care of our snorkelers.

Chris also arranged the most amazing whale shark excursion for us. We really lucked out and after a 6am ferry trip to the mainland, we were bussed and then boated to the north of Isles Mujeres where we were greeted to a plethora of whale sharks and manta rays feeding. We happened on this trip the day following a full moon which encouraged the plankton and other goodies to the surface for the animals to feed. It was estimated that there were 100-150 whale sharks swimming around us. We didn't even have to swim - they were ALL around us!!

We didn't take the all inclusive option as we mostly chose to taxi into town to try new restaurants. As the taxi drivers for recommendations - they know the best places to eat! But the restaurant on site also had good food on the few occasions any of us decided to stay at the hotel instead of venturing into town.

All in all it was a great holiday and I would go back to Playa Azul in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: They are all ocean view and our room on the third floor gave us a beautiful view of the ocean and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hola from Playa Azul!!
Thank you very much for your detailed and nice comments. I will let know all the hotel staff and Chris about your comments, this encourage us to keep doing our job with more enthusiasm.
The staff is very happy to pamper all our guests and hopefully see them again year after year.
You are part of Playa Azul family and we will be waiting to make you feel special again.
Have a good day
Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at this hotel for three nights. The tourist season is dying down a bit so it was nice that the hotel wasn't packed full of people. We had a room on the 4th floor (there IS an elevator - someone in another review said there wasn't) and a great view of the ocean. The employees were really nice and helpful, always had a smile for you. The beach out front isn't huge, but its nice and you can snorkel around. We went diving one morning and had a great time. They also arranged a whale shark tour for us and that was AMAZING. The dive shop gets big kudos for that. Everyone in the dive shop was awesome... five stars to them.

The room was nice (the shower head IS tiny), very clean and the bed was comfy. We really loved that the hotel wasn't in the center of town and didn't have 500 rooms. If you want to go downtown you can easily get a taxi ($8 each way). This was a really pretty, quite place and that we will definitely come back to stay at.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Greetings from Playa Azul Golf Scuba Spa Cozumel
Comments like yours, wishing come back to the hotel makes us very happy.
Regarding the shower head, we are changing all of them and are in the process of choosing and we are checking the eco-friendly ones. If you have any suggestion, we will appreciate it a lot, you can email me directly at playanet@playa-azul.com.
Have a great day and we hope to see you in a near future.
Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife surprised me with a trip to Cozumel for my 40th Bday. She chose the Playa Azul because of a recommendation from friends that come every year. I am so glad that she did. We don't really like big hotels. I don't want to go on vacation with a bunch of people. Just my wife. This was the perfect size. The room was great (401 is by far the best room in the hotel). Spacious, AC worked great and the balcony was terrific. The beach club was busy on Sunday but it looked like all the beaches were. There was a band and we sat at the other side of the beach and listened. Monday, it was like a ghost town. Perfect. There is great snorkeling right off the hotel beaches. These are better that most of the beaches in Coz. Sure some of the fixtures were dated etc. but I don't go on vacation looking forward to a showerhead or a TV. We never turned the TV on. It was terrific and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: 401 is the highest up with the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hola from Cozumel!!
I want to thank you for your very nice comments!! I am happy to know that you loved the Oceanfront Master Suite and its view. Thanks to your wife for her preference and the big surprise for you!!
We all look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.
Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 53 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 stars 2,918 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#17 of 53 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 stars 3,554 reviews
9.9 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#14 of 53 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,815 reviews
0.6 mi away
Melia Vacation Club Cozumel, All inclusive & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa

Address: Carretera a San Juan, Km 4 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba Hotel Cozumel
Playa Azul Hotel Scuba
Playa Azul Resort Scuba
Playa Azul Cozumel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.