We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa

Save Saved
You added Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera a San Juan, Km 4 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Web Special 7 nights
Ranked #10 of 57 hotels in Cozumel
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Love this place -- location isn't close to town but just a short ride away by taxi-- rooms r gorgeous-- be sure to ask for Kermit at beach bar. Great staff all around too!! Rooms r also ocean view and some have jacuzzi's

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We really appreciate your comments about the hotel and the staff.
We all look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.
Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    225
    119
    16
    9
    8
See reviews for
74
183
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is a smaller inclusive resort, only 50 rooms all with ocean views. There are two sections - the main building has a beautiful wooden staircase but no elevator. Second section has an elevator and is probably newer(?) We stayed for 8 days in a suite in the main building and absolutely loved it. Full frontal ocean view that was so beautiful, it seemed surreal. Guests are mostly couples and families w/ older children. The one group of party-guys really stuck out - this is place to relax, snorkel/dive and spend time w/ loved ones. If you want to party, please go to one of the other, larger all-inclusive resorts on the island.

Other Pros: STAFF. Absolutely wonderful, accommodating, and friendly. SNORKELING. right off the beach. CLEAN. I'm a bit of a hygiene-freak and found the place pretty much spotless. Bathroom was also in good condition.
CONS: FOOD. Definitely average. Breakfast was solidly good, but we're glad we didn't buy the all-inclusive food package as it wasn't worth it. After the first night, we rented a scooter and went into town for dinner every night.

We loved this place and can't wait to go back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hola from Cozumel!!
I want to thank you for your nice comments! I am happy to know that you loved the Oceanfront Suite and its view. We will check the breakfast and meals with the food & beverage department to improve it.
Thank you very much for your preference and hope to see you in a future
Kind Regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

another great trip, this time we did the all inclusive and the food was vary good. spent the week swimming, reading, and drinking. july this time and the place was vary quiet, the service at this hotel is always great. we loved to feed the turtles out in front of the hotel. see you next year!!!!!!!

Room Tip: all rooms have ocean views we were in rm#305
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hola from Playa Azul
Thank you very much for such a beautiful comment!! We are so happy to read that you had a great time and you are coming next year. Thank you very much for your preference!! The turtles will miss you for sure ;) but will be waiting for you too.
Kindly
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

There were 8 1/2 people on this planned trip to Cozumel. The location was north of the airport and easy to get to by taxi. Our check-in was easy and efficient. Everyone greeted us with a smile and was eager to please. They provided a crib (pack and play) for the baby and the rooms were clean and comfortable. There were two maid services every day - one to clean the room and the later one to provide more beach towel and chocolates.

The restaurant on site provided a buffet breakfast including hot food and omelets and waffles to order, included in the price of the room. There were two bar restaurants that were open all day and you could be served food while lounging at the beach.

The rooms and grounds were kept immaculate and there were no bugs to be found (I kind of felt sorry for the geckos) anywhere. Two bars at the beach and when they closed the bar next to the restaurant served drinks. Food and drinks were always available and bottled water was provided in our rooms.

The dive operation, Blue Dreams, took extremely good care of us. They took us to sites to the north of the island, where few people tend to go as well as to the National Parks to the south, where most of the visitors go. We were never affected by the hoards of people that arrive on cruise ships as we were far enough away from the area at which they disembarked. Chris, our dive guide took us out for two morning dives and we added two afternoon dives as well after we requested the additional dives. The dive guides were great, both Chris and Alvaro took us our for some great dives. The boat captain took good care of our snorkelers.

Chris also arranged the most amazing whale shark excursion for us. We really lucked out and after a 6am ferry trip to the mainland, we were bussed and then boated to the north of Isles Mujeres where we were greeted to a plethora of whale sharks and manta rays feeding. We happened on this trip the day following a full moon which encouraged the plankton and other goodies to the surface for the animals to feed. It was estimated that there were 100-150 whale sharks swimming around us. We didn't even have to swim - they were ALL around us!!

We didn't take the all inclusive option as we mostly chose to taxi into town to try new restaurants. As the taxi drivers for recommendations - they know the best places to eat! But the restaurant on site also had good food on the few occasions any of us decided to stay at the hotel instead of venturing into town.

All in all it was a great holiday and I would go back to Playa Azul in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: They are all ocean view and our room on the third floor gave us a beautiful view of the ocean and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hola from Playa Azul!!
Thank you very much for your detailed and nice comments. I will let know all the hotel staff and Chris about your comments, this encourage us to keep doing our job with more enthusiasm.
The staff is very happy to pamper all our guests and hopefully see them again year after year.
You are part of Playa Azul family and we will be waiting to make you feel special again.
Have a good day
Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at this hotel for three nights. The tourist season is dying down a bit so it was nice that the hotel wasn't packed full of people. We had a room on the 4th floor (there IS an elevator - someone in another review said there wasn't) and a great view of the ocean. The employees were really nice and helpful, always had a smile for you. The beach out front isn't huge, but its nice and you can snorkel around. We went diving one morning and had a great time. They also arranged a whale shark tour for us and that was AMAZING. The dive shop gets big kudos for that. Everyone in the dive shop was awesome... five stars to them.

The room was nice (the shower head IS tiny), very clean and the bed was comfy. We really loved that the hotel wasn't in the center of town and didn't have 500 rooms. If you want to go downtown you can easily get a taxi ($8 each way). This was a really pretty, quite place and that we will definitely come back to stay at.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Greetings from Playa Azul Golf Scuba Spa Cozumel
Comments like yours, wishing come back to the hotel makes us very happy.
Regarding the shower head, we are changing all of them and are in the process of choosing and we are checking the eco-friendly ones. If you have any suggestion, we will appreciate it a lot, you can email me directly at playanet@playa-azul.com.
Have a great day and we hope to see you in a near future.
Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife surprised me with a trip to Cozumel for my 40th Bday. She chose the Playa Azul because of a recommendation from friends that come every year. I am so glad that she did. We don't really like big hotels. I don't want to go on vacation with a bunch of people. Just my wife. This was the perfect size. The room was great (401 is by far the best room in the hotel). Spacious, AC worked great and the balcony was terrific. The beach club was busy on Sunday but it looked like all the beaches were. There was a band and we sat at the other side of the beach and listened. Monday, it was like a ghost town. Perfect. There is great snorkeling right off the hotel beaches. These are better that most of the beaches in Coz. Sure some of the fixtures were dated etc. but I don't go on vacation looking forward to a showerhead or a TV. We never turned the TV on. It was terrific and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: 401 is the highest up with the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hola from Cozumel!!
I want to thank you for your very nice comments!! I am happy to know that you loved the Oceanfront Master Suite and its view. Thanks to your wife for her preference and the big surprise for you!!
We all look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.
Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

First Impressions:

Walked into hotel lobby at 12:00 PM after our flight. The lobby was hotter than the outdoors – Stifling – Africa hot.

Very friendly man at front desk explained all-inclusive plan we purchased and gave us keys. All food in restaurants and bar is included (except steak and lobster). Hmmmm do not remember reading that.

Another nice man grabbed our bags. We began the three floor trek to our room (no elevator). Each floor hotter than the next. Not just hot – sweltering hot - blast furnace hot.
Upon reaching the third floor landing I saw the hotel Wi-Fi hotspot (see pix)

Room:
Room was cool – thank goodness.
Room was dated. Not a few years, but decades. (see pix)

Beach:
Went to beach. Not really a beach. Trucked in sand over cement and rocks. Nicely presented but this is still trucked in sand over cement and rocks. After visiting another hotel found pretty much the same. This island is for divers or people who want to get away and do nothing. On each side of the beach, which could not be more than 30 yards wide, were a cement pier and a bar balcony area made from stone and cement. Water shoes are a must – the rocks are large and impossible to navigate without some foot protection.

Next door is the dive company that will rent snorkel gear (not free).

Pool:
Uh...lots of kids in the pool....pool water warmer than the humid air.....No thanks.

All Inclusive:
Rip-Off! Don’t even think about this option. Biggest mistake I made in booking this trip. The single restaurant food was only so so and there are so many options for food in Cozumel. (Try New Espresia – Excellent!) The Playa Azul restaurant was HOT – clammy – and had a sparse menu. I had sent an e-mail a week prior to our trip asking about dress code. The answer I received was that sandals and shorts were not allowed because they had air conditioning. We arrived…no one else was there…the next family that came in had shorts, sandals, and beach wear. There was an air conditioner – not very effective.
I ordered a mojito – sorry…we are out of mint.

Breakfast was OK – nothing special. Eggs/cereal/toast/fruit. Coffee was very good. Serve yourself. One guy ordered an omelet with Jalapenos. Sorry…we are out of Jalapeños. Mexico – no Jalapeños? Really?

Pool-Side Bar:
Very nice guys. Easy to talk to but got the impression my tips were lacking so they ignored us unless we spoke up.

Fitness center is made of one treadmill on the second floor. Pathetic.

Spa: My wife loved the little lady that beat the crap out of her in a one-hour massage. Good price - but no air conditioning in the spa.

WiFi:
We are here in August – so not all rooms are booked. WiFi coverage is very good for email. Don’t expect too much from Skyping back home – very low bandwidth. Good enough though to reach the beach.

Final Comments:
Playa Azul is a relaxing – dated – facility with limited amenities. Hotel sits between two abandoned structures, a beach that is not really a beach, and two cement piers. People at the Playa Azul make the hotel tolerable. The staff is very helpful with t-times, tours, rental cars, extra water etc.
If you are coming here for any other reason than to dive or unwind, you are making a mistake. Cozumel and the Playa Azul are nice places but not the places to go if you want lots of culture, beaches, golf (one so-so course does not make a golf vacation), or nightlife.

We are here in the off season so repairs on the building are occurring. Painting of the outside building is on-going but not a distraction.

Make your choices wisely!

Room Tip: Stay away from pool view because you will get all the noise. We had an oceanfront room on the third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Greetings from Playa Azul
Thank you very much for submitting your comments with all the details, based on it we will be able to improve the Hotel, rooms -and the departments you mentioned- to give you and the other users a better service.

Thank you very much
Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa

Also Known As:
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba Hotel
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba Hotel Cozumel
Playa Azul Hotel Scuba
Playa Azul Resort Scuba
Playa Azul Cozumel
Playa Azul
Address: Carretera a San Juan, Km 4 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cozumel
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.