We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa to your Saves list
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera a San Juan, Km 4 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Web Special 7 nights
Ranked #11 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
North Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Always Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was our 4th stay at the beautiful Playa Azul Hotel (June 9-16, 2013) and it was just as fabulous as in the past!
Rooms:
This is a small, intimate hotel with beautifully appointed rooms that all face the water and have large, private balconies. There are two chairs and a table on the balcony. The beds are very comfortable. The bathroom is divided into two areas with the sink separate from the toilet and shower area. Nice smelling soap, shampoo, cream rinse and body cream as well as a hairdryer is provided. There is an ample closet and a safe in the closet which is large enough to hold an iPad. Big, thirsty beach towels are provided and are conveniently in the room upon arrival.
Beach:
Although the beach is on the small side, there are plenty of lounge chairs and shade, and two sandy entries into the water. The snorkeling from the hotel beach heading north is very enjoyable with lots to see.
Dining:
We love that they play classical music during breakfast. For us it is a perfect way to start our day...delicious food and coffee, relaxing music playing, and the amazing view of the serene blue water! The open-air dining room is adjacent to the beach. Because not many people were staying at the hotel while we were there, there was no breakfast buffet and all food was cooked to order. Everything you could possible want was available. In past years the breakfast buffet was available and the food was plentiful with good variety and delicious with some things cooked to order. Lunch was ordered from a very extensive menu and was also delicious. All liquor is top shelf and there is no skimping on liquor in drinks.
Spa:
We took advantage again this year of the Thursday special at the spa for the couples message and enjoyed it very much and highly recommend the spa services.
Dive Shop
Unfortunately, we were not able to dive this year due to health reasons, but after talking to several folks who dove with Chris at the in-house dive shop, we have decided to dive with her next year as long as we are able. It will be nice to just walk over to the dive boat at the hotel pier instead of driving to Caleta marina south of town to catch the early morning boat.
Staff:
And what we love most about the Azul is the thoughtful, warm staff who make our vacations exceptional! We look forward to seeing them every year. They have become cherished friends! So thank you to the amazing dining staff not only for the service, but also for the wonderful conversations...Carlos (who so thoughtfully came out to greet us as we were checking in, asked about our family, and made sure we had everything we needed at lunch and dinner, especially the flan!), Juan (who was ready with our coffee, yogurt and fixings before we were even settled into our seats for breakfast, Go Red Sox!) and Luis (who greeted us each morning with a big smile made sure our food was to our liking). The gentlemen who take care of the bars and provide drinks on the beach (Felipe, Marcel, Kermit) are also terrific. Our drinks were made to perfection and we were never without cold water or delicious lemonade while we relaxed on the beach. The lovely women who made sure our room was immaculate every day, that we always had clean bath and beach towels, both morning and night, amazing towel art, and chocolates every evening. And the equally lovely women who provide the spa services. They are absolutely terrific at what they do. We are definitely looking forward to our messages next year!
The Playa Azul is everything that is special about Cozumel and keeps us returning year after year.

Room Tip: All rooms on floors 2-4 have beautiful ocean views. The rooms on the 4th floor have vaulted ceiling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hello from Cozumel!!!
We really appreciate a lot your comment!! Wow it is so detailed and so nice :) This review will help so many to know the hotel and the staff!! and that's what we want for all of our guests, a great experience at Playa Azul!! We all hope to see you in a future and pamper you as you deserve because you are part of Playa Azul family.
Thank you very much for your preference and hope to see you at your "home away from home".

Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    126
    19
    10
    8
See reviews for
89
199
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We just got back from a week @ The Playa Azul. This is a very relaxing hotel with a friendly staff and a great snorkeling beach. The room was quite comfortable and clean. The temperature stayed cool, considering we were there in July. Close proximity to the golf course and town. The dive shop, Blue Dreams is next door, and they provided a good experience for my daughter & I. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Greetings from Cozumel!
Thank you very much for posting your nice compliment, I will let know the staff and Chris from Blue Dream that you had a great time.
It will be a pleasure to host you again in a near future.
Best regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Playa Azul was perfect for my son and I who were on a mini vacation for diving and golf. The property shows a little aging, but it is well maintained and the service is really great and personal. Everyone from the beach bar staff to the beach restaurant staff to the front desk seem to be interested in your satisfaction. The fact that Blue Dream operates the dive center on the property was a definite bonus. The golf package was reasonable and the course located nearby. This is one of the few Cozumel hotels with little beach areas and is great for couples and families alike. Wi-fi is free and available throughout the property. Beach towels are provided fresh each day. Plenty of beach seating and shaded if you need it. I will stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Greetings from Playa Azul
Thank you very much for submitting your feedback on Trip Advisor.
We love to hear that you had a great time and wish to come back soon. You are part of Playa Azul family and we all look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.

Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed during the last week of June 2013

This was the first time we traveled to Cozumel and chose to stay at Playa Azul -- and we could not have made a better choice! All staff members were courteous, polite, and extremely helpful. The hotel is well maintained and is surrounded by beautiful views. We were looking for a quiet, private place to stay that had direct access to the beach and Playa Azul fulfilled each of those requests and then some.

The buffet breakfast was delicious, the pool and the beach are 2 minutes away from the rooms, all rooms have beautiful ocean views, and the food is great all day long.

Finally, the staff is THE BEST!!! Can't say enough about them.

Room Tip: Pack light clothing! It'll make the hot days bearable and will allow your clothes to dry faster...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
We really appreciate your comments about the hotel and the staff. We are so happy that for your first time at Playa Azul Cozumel your expectations were fulfilled.
We all look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.
Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

As I sit on my balcony, close enough to hear the waves lapping against the iron shore, I wish we were staying another week! Playa Azul is a hidden gem. The hotel is not the most modern, but it is well maintained, classic in its style and second to none in its warmth. The hotel is located on the northern shore not far from the airport. Known for years as a golf destination, Playa is changing its image with diving and water sports available.
The breakfast buffet was a welcome bonus, the post dive lunch and beers were excellent, the staff friendly and very accommodating and the towel animals the best I've seen! The double room was very nice with an excellent view and the suite, roomy and private.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hola from Playa Azul!!
It is a pleasure to know that you really enjoy your stay at Playa Azul for the first time and wishing stay one more week...
You become part of Playa Azul family and we all look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.
Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you want wild night life, plan to go into town.
This hotel features a quiet atmosphere on a lovely beach north of town, with efficient, friendly, and thoroughly delightful service. Most of the clientele are old friends--returning year after year for what is always a super vacation--on the golf course or just enjoying the hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Greetings from Playa Azul!!
We appreciate so much your review! To read that Playa Azul is your favorite spot and that you love the golf course is always a pleasure.
We hope to see you in a future and let us pamper you as you deserve.
Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We went to Playa Azul for the 5th time in mid-May. Because it is such a peaceful haven with a staff that cares so much, I literately get choked up and have to fight back the tears when we arrive at the entrance. We travel many places each year and Playa Azul is the one we have to keep repeating. Everything the excellent ratings on this site say is true. The golf course was again in perfect condition and we hardly saw any other golfers out there. Snorkeling is outstanding. Our room was clean and the bed comfortable. Lots of hot water and good pressure in shower. The free breakfast buffet was better than ever. Most of all, the staff has the ability to make every guest feel special. Yassir is outstanding and organized at front desk. Carlos and Juan are dear to our hearts. I don’t know how Juan knows when we are leaving for the airport but he always comes to walk us out with a big hug goodbye. We elect not do all inclusive as we have several favorite restaurants in town. The meals we ate at hotel were good and we even repeated a few things that we had liked. One thing no one mentions is tipping. The quoted hotel daily rate on your statement is broken down, itemized and shows a daily tip rate. (Note: There are no hidden charges). I have never, ever had a staff member here act like they expected a tip from us but we do leave a tip daily at breakfast, at the beach bar and for the maid. Believe me it is well deserved. I have never been into toweI sculptures but I had to post the mermaid greeting us one afternoon. I have never had a negative thing to say in all my visits, but I will definitely check with the hotel when booking my next stay to confirm that there would not be an all-inclusive wedding party there. Free booze and a hotel full of 30 year olds can be a bit much. We feel very safe here and on the whole island are counting the days until we come back to Playa Azul.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms have lofted ceilings. We have never had the same room twice and they have all been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Greetings from Playa Azul
Thank you very much for your comments, so nice and so sincere... be sure every person you mention will receive your nice words. Also we will be aware with the All inclusive weddings to avoid a negative experience to the rest of our guests.
We all look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.
Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa

Address: Carretera a San Juan, Km 4 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba Hotel Cozumel
Playa Azul Hotel Scuba
Playa Azul Resort Scuba
Playa Azul Cozumel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.