We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Cozumel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa to your Saves list
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera a San Juan, Km 4 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Web Special 7 Nights
Ranked #9 of 53 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Cozumel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have vacationed at Playa Azul for the last four years. We love-love-love this hotel. My husband enjoys golf, and was able to play everyday. The day we arrived all of the staff rushed to greet us. They even remembered our beverage of choice. You just feel like you are at home. I also gave Playa Azul a five star rating due to the staff. Each and everyone was truly
grateful that we were there. Will return next year. Thanks to all the staff at Playa Azul for making our vacation memorable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    141
    23
    11
    8
See reviews for
109
225
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, small, clean, super friendly staff! It is far away from the cruise ship people but still close enough if you want to eat in town.
They have the best beach on the Island, on the south part there are some sandy beaches but sometimes there is a bad smell coming from the water, also the hotel in that part are far away and taxi fares are very expensive.
The pool is small compare to other hotels but having that ocean who wants to be in a pool??
You can also play golf at the Country Club or have a massage.
I just love this place

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our family stayed there for week over New Years. The reason that I gave this an excellent was due to the staff. every one of them was sincerely friendly, helpful and very service oriented. The location was great being far away from the cruise ship docks! we found the restaurant to be consistently good for every meal: breakfast, lunch and dinner. The rooms were comfortable with a great little patio. The only thing I think they could improve upon is the pool. There was way too much chlorine but easy problem to solve. Like other reviews, this is a place for people who want to relax and it is a great family place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were here the first week of 2013, and though my review starts out fairly critical, I must say we had an absolutely great time and would definitely consider returning. We (wife and kids 19 and 22) were in room 304, a small, spartan yet comfortable room with a nice view of the beach and ocean. The room was about the size of a generic "Comfort Inn", so was not large. The TV is a very small flat screen (15-17"?), and most of the cable is in Spanish - but shame on you if you can't find something better to do than watch TV! The door has no deadbolt, and the knob of both the outside and bathroom door needed repair. There is also about a 1/4 " gap to the outside on the door frame, which let in alot of noise from the beach club next door and the birds in the palm trees in early morning. Although this gave us inital concern about safety, an in-room safe is provided, and we had no issues with safety throughout visit. The room was kept clean and the view from the balcony was nice. Daily replenishment of beach towels was a great touch. We could have used more than the standard 1 bottle of water given each day. On request, we occasionally were given a second bottle. The "beach" is made up of 4 small pocket beaches between piers and rocks, and in general was pretty quiet. On 3 of the 7 days we were there, tour buses pulled up to the beach club next door (which shares "our" beach (it is public)) and offloaded cruise ship groups, which could make the area rather crowded. On the other hand, it provided some entertainment watching the families play on the beach. We really enjoyed the snorkeling and would start about 2 blocks south and drift along the rocks 2-3 blocks to the North by the Hotel Cozumeleno, where the water started to get murkier. We saw tons of fish, barracuda, squid, rays, stars, as well as some coral. We always toured the island for 1/2 day, then returned to the hotel for afternoon sunning, swimming, and sunset. Jet ski rentals are just to the south of the hotel. Hurricane Wilma obviously did alot of damage to the north of here as the 1-2 blocks north of the hotel are just ruined shells of hotels (not sightly). For food, we did the all-inclusive, which was the buffet breakfast and menu lunch and dinner (not buffets). The food selection was extensive and good. Breakfast was not exactly gourmet, but it fit the bill. The wait staff was very courteous and we enjoyed them all. I agree with previous reviewers that it was rather slow, but that was usually only a problem at night as we would have them deliver lunch out to our beach chairs during the day, where we could tolerate the wait. We had several occasions of missed orders - but since it was all inclusive, we were usually OK with it. I would highly recommend the fishing charter (tunacozumel) which picks you up at the beach. The kitchen fixed our mahi mahi that we caught. The "free" golf is rather expensive. Everyone who plays, pays $30 for a cart ($90 for 3 players), and club rental is $35pp, no sharing of clubs (we are novices) so the whole thing was $195, but the course was nice and we enjoyed the crocs!
Overall, the hotel facade and structure are beautiful, the rooms could definitely use a bit of an upgrade. Nice beds and pillows.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is on the north end. We loved it. We stayed here over Christmas with the all inclusive option. It was way better than fiesta american where we stayed last Christmas. This place, like others on the north end, is much quieter than hotels on the south end. And it is closer to the airport. We were on the beach in about 30 minutes after landing. We had room 316 which is a top floor corner room and it was large and clean. The whole hotel was very clean. We loved the room because we had a king bed in a bedroom for my wife and I and the kids each had a couch in a completely separate room. Even the bathroom was big. We hung a hammock out across the corner of the balcony while we were there. The beach is good at this hotel. There is sand. We never had any trouble getting a chair. This place has the biggest nicest beach towels I have ever seen and there was no shortage of them. The snorkling is just ok here. But there was sea life to see, especially on the south side of the pier north of the bar. The food was very tasty. However, be prepared to wait on your food. It takes a little while for them to make it. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Market
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel in the North Hotel Zone of Cozumel, Mexico. The small beach is lovely to snorkel off of, and all hotel rooms have an ocean view and a balcony. Service is excellent, and the staff is very friendly. This is not a party hotel, so if you are looking for that atmosphere I would suggest one of the larger all-inclusives. This is a nice, quiet, relaxing place to enjoy family time, a honeymoon, or an anniversary. There is a free breakfast in the morning regardless of the plan you choose, and it is delicious with a variety of options. There is a beach bar for afternoon drinks, and lovely places to sit on the beach. You can arrange dive trips, snorkel trips, jet ski rentals, and boat trips from the pier. The pool is cold, but it isn't really used much. There is an all-inclusive package available, but quite frankly, one of the reasons we love this hotel is our ability to get out and explore Cozumel! We loved renting a scooter and traveling to the windward side of the island, and getting lunch and dinner at local places.

You can walk down the beach for dinner on Friday and Saturday nights to Buccano's on the Beach for a lovely, romantic dinner by the ocean. Also delicious is the lobster house across the street. It is a very simple menu of lobster, rice, potatoes, and bread, but the lobster is amazing. They also had conch bisque the last time we were there, which was tasty. This hotel has many return visitors, some of whom have been coming for 20+ years!

Room Tip: The Master Suites have the best views with privacy. They are on the far right of the hotel, and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at Playa Azul many times. We have just returned from a two week stay. Like many of the other reviewers, we enjoy the breakfast and small beach. We also enjoy the golf experience the hotel provides. What really sets the hotel apart, however, is the personnel. Most have worked at the hotel many years and all make you feel like family. The rooms are small and clean, the food and drinks are excellent.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 53 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 stars 2,910 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#17 of 53 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 stars 3,546 reviews
9.9 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#15 of 53 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,812 reviews
0.6 mi away
Melia Vacation Club Cozumel, All inclusive & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa

Address: Carretera a San Juan, Km 4 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba Hotel Cozumel
Playa Azul Hotel Scuba
Playa Azul Resort Scuba
Playa Azul Cozumel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.