We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa

Save Saved
You added Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera a San Juan, Km 4 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Web Special 7 nights
Ranked #10 of 56 hotels in Cozumel
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is on the north end. We loved it. We stayed here over Christmas with the all inclusive option. It was way better than fiesta american where we stayed last Christmas. This place, like others on the north end, is much quieter than hotels on the south end. And it is closer to the airport. We were on the beach in about 30 minutes after landing. We had room 316 which is a top floor corner room and it was large and clean. The whole hotel was very clean. We loved the room because we had a king bed in a bedroom for my wife and I and the kids each had a couch in a completely separate room. Even the bathroom was big. We hung a hammock out across the corner of the balcony while we were there. The beach is good at this hotel. There is sand. We never had any trouble getting a chair. This place has the biggest nicest beach towels I have ever seen and there was no shortage of them. The snorkling is just ok here. But there was sea life to see, especially on the south side of the pier north of the bar. The food was very tasty. However, be prepared to wait on your food. It takes a little while for them to make it. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    248
    123
    19
    10
    8
See reviews for
86
194
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Market
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel in the North Hotel Zone of Cozumel, Mexico. The small beach is lovely to snorkel off of, and all hotel rooms have an ocean view and a balcony. Service is excellent, and the staff is very friendly. This is not a party hotel, so if you are looking for that atmosphere I would suggest one of the larger all-inclusives. This is a nice, quiet, relaxing place to enjoy family time, a honeymoon, or an anniversary. There is a free breakfast in the morning regardless of the plan you choose, and it is delicious with a variety of options. There is a beach bar for afternoon drinks, and lovely places to sit on the beach. You can arrange dive trips, snorkel trips, jet ski rentals, and boat trips from the pier. The pool is cold, but it isn't really used much. There is an all-inclusive package available, but quite frankly, one of the reasons we love this hotel is our ability to get out and explore Cozumel! We loved renting a scooter and traveling to the windward side of the island, and getting lunch and dinner at local places.

You can walk down the beach for dinner on Friday and Saturday nights to Buccano's on the Beach for a lovely, romantic dinner by the ocean. Also delicious is the lobster house across the street. It is a very simple menu of lobster, rice, potatoes, and bread, but the lobster is amazing. They also had conch bisque the last time we were there, which was tasty. This hotel has many return visitors, some of whom have been coming for 20+ years!

Room Tip: The Master Suites have the best views with privacy. They are on the far right of the hotel, and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at Playa Azul many times. We have just returned from a two week stay. Like many of the other reviewers, we enjoy the breakfast and small beach. We also enjoy the golf experience the hotel provides. What really sets the hotel apart, however, is the personnel. Most have worked at the hotel many years and all make you feel like family. The rooms are small and clean, the food and drinks are excellent.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our room, the restaurant, the hotel service, the location, and the beach. We did not enjoy the spa service at Savia Spa (the on site spa for the hotel). What was to be a 50 minute swedish massage turned out to be an opportunity for the "masseuse" to catch up on her texting. She occasionally gave a squeeze to the head to give the appearance of working. Apologies from the supervisor but not from the "masseuse" when leaving.
As in prior reviews, the staff is wonderful - attentive when needed but not overbearing.

A definite recommendation to stay here when in Cozumel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just returned from eight days at Playa Azul. Thoroughly enjoyed out experience. The property is beautiful, well kept and clean. The service was five star, from top to bottom. Food is good, although we did not do all inclusive, menu prices were comparable to downtown eateries.
Spa was a nice touch, massage at 1/2 the price of the US.

Will return, already miss the waterfront view from the balcony each morning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

There are a lot of great places to stay in Cozumel. When we go, we like to stay at the Playa Azul. Why? First, the people that work at the Playa are so very kind and helpful. I have stayed their 3 times and have always been treated so kindly by the staff. Also, after talking with a few of the staff, I found that many of them have worked there for quite a long time. To me that says alot when the staff are happy where they work. Everyday our room was clean. Each more we were treated to a delicious breakfast that is included with the price of the room. Fresh omelets, various mexican dishes, juice, coffee, and fruit and yogurt every morning. It's free, but we always left a tip because the gentlemen that work there are so helpful and keep your coffee full. The beach at the hotel is half rocky and half sandy. Most of the beaches at the hotels are like that. It takes a little for the hot water to come out, so be patient, but I think a lot of the hotels on the island are like that. The Playa is a great place to stay, especially if you golf.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

LOVE LOVE LOVE this place. We usually stay up the road and decided to try Playa Azul this year and will plan to return to this hotel for every stay in Cozumel. Nice, small hotel. Love the layout, easy to get around. Clean, colorful, QUIET!!!! I have so much to stay about this place but will forget to include it all. We visited Nov 10-17 2012 and pretty much had the place to ourselves, or so it seemed. Never had to play the towel on the lounger game, never. Plenty of shade available on the beach via thatched roof umbrellas which is a HUGE plus. We stayed in 408, there is an elevator or stairs to use. Awesome view of the ocean but next time I am going to request one of the corner rooms closer to the beach, which may be an upgrade to a family suite. Beds are double, not queen, but they were sooooo comfy and pillows were awesome. The review about hard beds and bad pillows at other resorts on the north end of the island are correct, but not here.

Always had plenty of bottled water in the room and the in-room coffee was a nice touch and tasty.
We took our daughter and there was a welcome gift in the room for her upon arrival, as well as a third chair on the balcony, which she noticed right away. OH, there is a screened patio door which i have NEVER encountered anywhere else in the Caribbean. This allows you to keep the AC off at night on a cool night and the door open and the bugs out. Truely a plus!

Lighting in the room was decent. Lots of closet and shelf space, limited drawers in the main part of the room but more than enough for the three of us and our overabundance of unused clothing.
You will need water shoes on the beach and in the water. Be safe walking on the pier as it gets slippery when wet.
Take a right onto the beach out of the resort and enjoy the walk along the beach all the way to Wl Cozumeleno. Check out the tide pool on the other side of whats left of a large beach bar to the right. Good for snorkeling, expecially fior kids.
Appreciate the daily cleaning and set up of the beach club at the hotel. These people work so hard!!!!!
TIP TIP TIP the wait staff. They are all hands on and friendly, eager to speak with you, help, etc. My daughter still talks about Juan, and she is only 5.
Feed the iguanas next to the outside restaurant and feed the turtles in the front as well. Expect a few bug bites in the evening from eating at the outside restaurant or spray before heading down for dinner.
Food was outstanding. We opted for the all inclusive deal and plan to do that in the future as well. Menu items are not that inexpensive so the all inclusive worked out better for us. The fish for dinner was prefect every day. Best black bean and tortilla soups I have ever eaten. Can't wait to return and have more!!! All drinks were good and great selection of beverages.

The only negative I can remember is the music at the restaurant. I would rather enjoy some sort of Caribbean genre while on island, not American songs. And, music at the beach bar was nonexistent. If must have tunes on the beach, take your ipod.

Quick taxi ride to town, $7 each way for three of us. Or rent a car at ISIS for $35/day and park free at the hotel.

I felt like a celebrity here because it was so quiet and not many people. This would be the ideal place for a movie star to visit during the off season because it is so private and quiet. Even at dinner, 6:00 every evening, we were the only table being served. It was low season but I never expected the beach to be literally free of people on many occasions. It was perfect, just perfect. And I have stayed at all the major places like Sandals, Breezes, Couples, Ritz Carlton, etc. This place beats 'em all out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa

Address: Carretera a San Juan, Km 4 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba Hotel Cozumel
Playa Azul Hotel Scuba
Playa Azul Resort Scuba
Playa Azul Cozumel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.