We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WE WILL BE BACK!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa to your Saves list
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera a San Juan, Km 4 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Web Special 7 nights
Ranked #11 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“WE WILL BE BACK!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

LOVE LOVE LOVE this place. We usually stay up the road and decided to try Playa Azul this year and will plan to return to this hotel for every stay in Cozumel. Nice, small hotel. Love the layout, easy to get around. Clean, colorful, QUIET!!!! I have so much to stay about this place but will forget to include it all. We visited Nov 10-17 2012 and pretty much had the place to ourselves, or so it seemed. Never had to play the towel on the lounger game, never. Plenty of shade available on the beach via thatched roof umbrellas which is a HUGE plus. We stayed in 408, there is an elevator or stairs to use. Awesome view of the ocean but next time I am going to request one of the corner rooms closer to the beach, which may be an upgrade to a family suite. Beds are double, not queen, but they were sooooo comfy and pillows were awesome. The review about hard beds and bad pillows at other resorts on the north end of the island are correct, but not here.

Always had plenty of bottled water in the room and the in-room coffee was a nice touch and tasty.
We took our daughter and there was a welcome gift in the room for her upon arrival, as well as a third chair on the balcony, which she noticed right away. OH, there is a screened patio door which i have NEVER encountered anywhere else in the Caribbean. This allows you to keep the AC off at night on a cool night and the door open and the bugs out. Truely a plus!

Lighting in the room was decent. Lots of closet and shelf space, limited drawers in the main part of the room but more than enough for the three of us and our overabundance of unused clothing.
You will need water shoes on the beach and in the water. Be safe walking on the pier as it gets slippery when wet.
Take a right onto the beach out of the resort and enjoy the walk along the beach all the way to Wl Cozumeleno. Check out the tide pool on the other side of whats left of a large beach bar to the right. Good for snorkeling, expecially fior kids.
Appreciate the daily cleaning and set up of the beach club at the hotel. These people work so hard!!!!!
TIP TIP TIP the wait staff. They are all hands on and friendly, eager to speak with you, help, etc. My daughter still talks about Juan, and she is only 5.
Feed the iguanas next to the outside restaurant and feed the turtles in the front as well. Expect a few bug bites in the evening from eating at the outside restaurant or spray before heading down for dinner.
Food was outstanding. We opted for the all inclusive deal and plan to do that in the future as well. Menu items are not that inexpensive so the all inclusive worked out better for us. The fish for dinner was prefect every day. Best black bean and tortilla soups I have ever eaten. Can't wait to return and have more!!! All drinks were good and great selection of beverages.

The only negative I can remember is the music at the restaurant. I would rather enjoy some sort of Caribbean genre while on island, not American songs. And, music at the beach bar was nonexistent. If must have tunes on the beach, take your ipod.

Quick taxi ride to town, $7 each way for three of us. Or rent a car at ISIS for $35/day and park free at the hotel.

I felt like a celebrity here because it was so quiet and not many people. This would be the ideal place for a movie star to visit during the off season because it is so private and quiet. Even at dinner, 6:00 every evening, we were the only table being served. It was low season but I never expected the beach to be literally free of people on many occasions. It was perfect, just perfect. And I have stayed at all the major places like Sandals, Breezes, Couples, Ritz Carlton, etc. This place beats 'em all out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    126
    19
    10
    8
See reviews for
89
199
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barberton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Just got back - went from November 24 to December 1, 2012. This resort is a smaller quaint resort which is what we like. It is very clean and well kept. The staff is so nice,helpful and fun! The food is very good. We had a little bit of everything on the menu and all meals were good and really fresh. Snorkeling at the resort is great - very up close and personal with much all around. My husband and son golfed and were very impressed with the course and the nature on and around the course. We plan to return next year.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view - 2nd or 3rd floor is better to see the ocean - no elevator but not man...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Went to Cozumel for a birthday celebration in Nov. 2012. The Playa Azul resort was great, friendly, personable staff, adequate room, excellent food and drinks. The beach and the views were outstanding. The hotel was just minutes by cab from all the attractions and shopping.
What deal, the free golf (really $30, carts required--I would not want to walk that layout) on a well designed, fun course. Something for every level of player.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Spent a great 10 days at the Playa Azul in early November. A small quiet hotel with large rooms all with great views. We stayed in a ocean view room Excellent friendly staff. A small beach area well kept with comfortable loungers. Nice little beach bar close by. An excellent breakfast buffet is included with both North american and mexican dishes available. Great coffee.
Golf is nearby - about $5.00 by cab or a 30 minute walk. Rental clubs and a cart cost $60.00 per couple. A great deal for a magnificent course. Lots of wildlife on the course - crocs, iguanas, etc. If you get a ball into the water just leave it. Suggest you bring lots of extra balls.

We went into town most evenings and tried a variety or restaurants - favorites included the museum restaurant ( good inexpensive mexican food with a great view of the harbour) and Wet Wendy's ( excellent frozen drinks , mexican specialities, friendly service) Cab to town will cost about $7:00 or you could walk - about 50 minutes on a paved well lit pathway. A nice way to get a little exercise.

You could not go wrong spending a vacation at this hotel. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Playa Azul fully met our expectations for our one-week trip there. The hotel has a nice secluded beach front, a good restaurant (breakfast included), and a convenient dive shop to go scuba diving. I thought it was a good value for the price and relatively close to town (5-10 minute cab ride) if you want to go somewhere for dinner/shopping. The staff was also friendly and you can't go wrong with this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

While on a cruise stopping for a day in Cozumel, our family of 21 booked a day room at the Playa Azul to spend a relaxing day at the beach with a nearby room for changing and for a babies nap. All of us agreed that this day was the best day of the cruise. We greatly enjoyed the beach, the pool, the room, and great drinks, snacks and lunch at the hotel. The service and amenities were all great. The room, pool and surrounding area were very clean, and all the staff were friendly and welcoming. We highly recommend the Playa Azul.

Room Tip: We asked for a room near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We absolutely love this place. We can't believe every time we go it is better than the last time. We golf most mornings (1st class course), lie on beach or snorkel, then dinner. We eat a few nights at the hotel (recommend Baja style shrimp tacos or shrimp salad) and a few nights in town (highly recommend Condessa and Kinta). One morning we walked all the way to Mega Mart as they have constructed very nice paved pathways all the way. We took a cab back to hotel. Did not rent a car this trip and did not need one as cabs are very reasonable. Also, for first time we used the spa at the hotel. Got the daily special of a massage and facial. It was very, very good and a bargain compared to spa prices at resorts in our part of the U.S. The staff is so friendly and they go out of their way for the guests. They always remember your preferences (coffee with cream for one of us and tea for the other at breakfast). Owners are on the premises often and are very elegant and gracious hosts. I did not write a review right after the trip as it seems the hotel is getting so many good reviews we can’t always get the dates we want to book!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa

Address: Carretera a San Juan, Km 4 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba Hotel Cozumel
Playa Azul Hotel Scuba
Playa Azul Resort Scuba
Playa Azul Cozumel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.