We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa to your Saves list
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera a San Juan, Km 4 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Barberton, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Just got back - went from November 24 to December 1, 2012. This resort is a smaller quaint resort which is what we like. It is very clean and well kept. The staff is so nice,helpful and fun! The food is very good. We had a little bit of everything on the menu and all meals were good and really fresh. Snorkeling at the resort is great - very up close and personal with much all around. My husband and son golfed and were very impressed with the course and the nature on and around the course. We plan to return next year.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view - 2nd or 3rd floor is better to see the ocean - no elevator but not man...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    143
    23
    11
    8
See reviews for
113
228
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Went to Cozumel for a birthday celebration in Nov. 2012. The Playa Azul resort was great, friendly, personable staff, adequate room, excellent food and drinks. The beach and the views were outstanding. The hotel was just minutes by cab from all the attractions and shopping.
What deal, the free golf (really $30, carts required--I would not want to walk that layout) on a well designed, fun course. Something for every level of player.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Spent a great 10 days at the Playa Azul in early November. A small quiet hotel with large rooms all with great views. We stayed in a ocean view room Excellent friendly staff. A small beach area well kept with comfortable loungers. Nice little beach bar close by. An excellent breakfast buffet is included with both North american and mexican dishes available. Great coffee.
Golf is nearby - about $5.00 by cab or a 30 minute walk. Rental clubs and a cart cost $60.00 per couple. A great deal for a magnificent course. Lots of wildlife on the course - crocs, iguanas, etc. If you get a ball into the water just leave it. Suggest you bring lots of extra balls.

We went into town most evenings and tried a variety or restaurants - favorites included the museum restaurant ( good inexpensive mexican food with a great view of the harbour) and Wet Wendy's ( excellent frozen drinks , mexican specialities, friendly service) Cab to town will cost about $7:00 or you could walk - about 50 minutes on a paved well lit pathway. A nice way to get a little exercise.

You could not go wrong spending a vacation at this hotel. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Playa Azul fully met our expectations for our one-week trip there. The hotel has a nice secluded beach front, a good restaurant (breakfast included), and a convenient dive shop to go scuba diving. I thought it was a good value for the price and relatively close to town (5-10 minute cab ride) if you want to go somewhere for dinner/shopping. The staff was also friendly and you can't go wrong with this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

While on a cruise stopping for a day in Cozumel, our family of 21 booked a day room at the Playa Azul to spend a relaxing day at the beach with a nearby room for changing and for a babies nap. All of us agreed that this day was the best day of the cruise. We greatly enjoyed the beach, the pool, the room, and great drinks, snacks and lunch at the hotel. The service and amenities were all great. The room, pool and surrounding area were very clean, and all the staff were friendly and welcoming. We highly recommend the Playa Azul.

Room Tip: We asked for a room near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We absolutely love this place. We can't believe every time we go it is better than the last time. We golf most mornings (1st class course), lie on beach or snorkel, then dinner. We eat a few nights at the hotel (recommend Baja style shrimp tacos or shrimp salad) and a few nights in town (highly recommend Condessa and Kinta). One morning we walked all the way to Mega Mart as they have constructed very nice paved pathways all the way. We took a cab back to hotel. Did not rent a car this trip and did not need one as cabs are very reasonable. Also, for first time we used the spa at the hotel. Got the daily special of a massage and facial. It was very, very good and a bargain compared to spa prices at resorts in our part of the U.S. The staff is so friendly and they go out of their way for the guests. They always remember your preferences (coffee with cream for one of us and tea for the other at breakfast). Owners are on the premises often and are very elegant and gracious hosts. I did not write a review right after the trip as it seems the hotel is getting so many good reviews we can’t always get the dates we want to book!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I have stayed here twice and both times were excellent! Wonderful rooms, views, private ocean front, great food and the service was out of this world! You can snorkel, play volley ball- and they have a lot to offer! We came to know some of the staff members and they were really wonderful!! They made our stay the best it could be. I would highly recommend staying here. I will come back soon!!

Room Tip: They are all very clean and nice.... One year we stayed in the suit and the next year we stayed in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 53 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 stars 2,957 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#19 of 53 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 stars 3,609 reviews
9.9 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#14 of 53 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,904 reviews
0.6 mi away
Melia Vacation Club Cozumel, All inclusive & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa

Address: Carretera a San Juan, Km 4 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba Hotel Cozumel
Playa Azul Hotel Scuba
Playa Azul Resort Scuba
Playa Azul Cozumel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.